Simple Recipe for a Delicious Traditional and Spiced Hot Wine

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year

This is really the time of year for this type of recipe, warm and sweet, and with the spices effectively fighting against the cold !

For me, it's a delicious reminder of childhood memories, of those moments when we gather around beautiful news to celebrate a year that is coming to an end and rekindle joy and warmth in the home.

As the wine is heated, it contains much less alcohol and I think that even children can drink a small glass, in moderation ! I am also convinced that spices play a particular role for health, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and star anise, it is quite recommended for flu and colds...

I'll leave it to you to look at the properties of these plants and spices on a case by case basis :)

IMG_0553.jpg

I give you my recipe for 12 people, of course, you can always adapt it according to your taste and preferences !

You will need :

  • 1.5 litres of red wine ... not the best, but not the worst either !
  • 150 to 200 grams of brown sugar
  • the zest of one lemon, untreated
  • the zest of one orange, untreated, and the flesh of the fruit
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 3 cloves
  • 3 star anise
  • 20 to 30 grams of minced fresh ginger
  • a pinch of ground nutmeg.

IMG_0547.JPG

IMG_0560.JPG

So, we had dried orange peel, but we ended up using the skin of the fresh one, which is much tastier !

IMG_0574.JPG

IMG_0561.JPG

It's all pretty simple: just pour and mix in a large pot ! Depending on the quantity you are making, adapt your container. Here, we made almost 6 litres, which is a pretty good amount :)

IMG_0564.JPG

Raise the temperature gradually until it boils and keep it at a medium simmer for about fifteen minutes. That's it, it's ready, but you can continue to simmer it on a very low heat, the hot wine will be even better ! This is also a good way to keep it at the right temperature if, like us, you want to enjoy it for an afternoon !

IMG_0568.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and the short report! Don't hesitate to share here your experiences with mulled wine and why not, your personal recipes and tips? And also if you try this version !

I also hope you have a nice weekend, I wish you a very pleasant evening :)

<3

@anttn

Below, a small view of the canal not far from the house....

IMG_0575.JPG





C'est vraiment la période dédiée pour ce type de recettes, chaudes et douces, et dont les épices permettent de lutter efficacement contre les coups de froid !

Pour moi, c'est un délicieux rappel de ces souvenirs d'enfance, de ces moments où l'on se rassemble autour de belles nouvelles pour fêter une année qui s'achève et raviver la joie et la chaleur dans les foyers.

Comme on fait chauffer le vin, celui-ci contient beaucoup moins d'alcool et je pense que même les enfants peuvent en boire un petit verre, avec modération tout de même ! Je suis aussi convaincu que les épices jouent un rôle particulier pour la santé, cannelle, clous de girofle, muscade et badiane, c'est tout à fait recommandé pour les grippes et les rhumes...

Je vous laisse allez voir au cas par cas pour les propriétés de ces plantes et épices :)

IMG_0553.jpg

Je vous donne ma recette pour 12 personnes, bien-sûr, on peu toujours adapter selon les goûts et les préférences de chacun !

Vous aurez besoin :

  • 1,5 litre de vin rouge ... pas le meilleur, mais pas le pire non plus !
  • 150 à 200 grammes de sucre roux
  • le zeste d'un citron, non traité
  • le zeste d'une orange, non traitée et la chair du fruit
  • 2 bâtons de cannelle
  • 3 clous de girofle
  • 3 étoiles de badiane
  • 20 à 30 grammes de gingembre frais émincé
  • une pointe de noix de muscade moulue.

IMG_0547.JPG

IMG_0560.JPG

Alors, nous avions des zestes d'oranges séchés, mais nous sommes finalement partis avec la peau de la fraîche, c'est disons plus goûteux !

IMG_0574.JPG

IMG_0561.JPG

Tout est plutôt simple : il faut tous verser et mélanger dans une grande casserole ! Suivant la quantité que vous faites, adaptez votre contenant. Là, nous avons préparé presque 6 litres, une assez bonne quantité en l'occurence :)

IMG_0564.JPG

Faites monter la température progressivement jusqu'à ébullition et maintenez un frémissement moyen pendant une quinzaine de minutes. Voilà, c'est déjà prêt, mais vous pouvez continuer à le laisser mijoter à feu très doux, le vin chaud n'en sera que meilleur ! C'est aussi un bon moyen de le garder à la bonne température si comme nous, vous souhaitez en profiter durant un après-midi !

IMG_0568.JPG

J'espère que cette recette vous aura plût, ainsi que court reportage ! N'hésitez pas à partager ici vos expériences de vin chaud et pourquoi pas, vos recettes et astuces personnelles ? Et aussi si vous essayez cette version !

En espérant aussi que vous passez un bon weekend, je vous souhaite une très agréable soirée :)

<3

@anttn

Ci-dessous, une petite vue du canal non loin de la maison...

IMG_0575.JPG

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I haven't had hot wine like that in a very long time! And I dont think I ever had it with ginger.
Hot beer with ginger (and honey) is good too. Have you ever tried that?

God, never heard about it ! I feel I will love this... Need to try asap :) Do you have The recipe ^^ ?

The fast and simple recipe (which is what I do) is to pour half of your beer into a pot, add spoon of honey and some chopped ginger (like a teaspoon or so) and heat up until honey dissolves. You can add some cinnamon too.
Then pour into a cup, add the remaining beer - this wait it will still have some gas, and drink.

I went looking online though and I found this fancy version: https://polishhousewife.com/mulled-beer-hot-spiced-beer/
It looks really good too!

Let me know if you have tried it :)

Mmmh, just by reading and imagine this, I started to salivate :p

I’ll try it for sure, even before Christmas to test and maybe prepare some for the gathering 😉

Thanks you for the share, I hope you had a nice weekend !

My husband makes this type of wine for most festive days or thanksgiving. I never taste wine in my life never alcohol except in medicinal (cough syrup). So this is not for me. but anyway thanks for sharing greetings 😊🙏

Alcohol evaporates at 78°C, so if your husband follows this recipe - boiling the wine for 15 minutes - there will be no alcohol left. If he doesn't... well, you can always take some of his mulled wine and simmer it for a few minutes yourself. It has such a warm and cozy flavour, it's worth trying at least once in your life, I think.

Ah, apparently there isn't much alcohol left... maybe you'll try a glass this year :)

You're welcome ! I hope you're doing fine ☀️

This sounds absolutely delicious. I'm not a wine drinker but if it's less alcoholic, I might take a sip just to taste it. The mix of spices must make it really scrumptious. Is this what they call mulled wine?

Oh, it's really delicious indeed ! Yeah, exactly, it's the same, but apparently, "mulled" is a better terminology than just "hot" :D

Don't hesitate to tell me if you try it !

Ah ok now I know. I definitely would want to taste it. I've never made it but would love to and now I have an awesome recipe so thank you for that 😁

Always welcome 👍 😘

I’ve only made hot wine just with dried spices but I must try your recipe with fresh ingredients this winter 😊
Thank you for the great inspiration @anttn!

You're welcome :)
You were using dried agrume skin too ?

Have a nice week dear !

It's in my mix ... yes, I was lazily using the mix and add some of my favorite spices. But I try from scratch this year with fresh ingredients recommended in your post 🍊 Have a nice week too from Germany to neighbor France?? 🎄😊

I indeed think it's better :D

Thanks you, have a good one as well ! Where do you live in Germany ?
Don't hesitate to let me know if you come by Paris 🍀 !

I'm in Leipzig, a middle size former East German city. I envy that you are in Paris! Eating oysters in winter in Paris .... mmmm ... even I'm a vegetarian though 😁

Hahaha, but I imagine you already tried, no ?

Welcome to have some if you come :D

I love mulled wine in the winter, and here you can even buy it ready made, with or without alcohol, but homemade always taste better! Thank you for the recipe - the star anise will be a new addition for me this year.

This is really the perfect beverage :) ... also with the end of bottles ^^

May ask you where you live ? just to know where there is ready mulled wine to shop :)

Thanks you for passing by and sorry to answer so lately ! Take care

Sweden. And since the shift in political power last autumn, the availability of bottled mulled wine is about all the good there is to us.

I can imagine that... How is the situation on the rest ?

Pure madness. The new government are scrapping climate goals, whipping up hatred against immigrants, lowering health and education budgets, lowering taxes for the 1% while doing nothing, or making things worse, for the 99% and so on, and on, and on.

This is from a recent article in one of our daily newspapers:

Att vara svensk har under hösten 2022 börjat kännas allt mer som en farsartad mardröm. Den nya högerregeringens politik verkar springa ur en verklighet så långt från den gängse att man som tänkande människa står handfallen. På klimatkrisen svarar de med fler fossila bränslen. På den växande ojämlikheten med sänkt skatt för de rikaste. Och på hotet mot demokratin med att skriva om grundlagen till nackdel för visselblåsare.

Google translation:

Being Swedish has in the fall of 2022 started to feel more and more like a farcical nightmare. The new right-wing government's policy seems to run out of a reality so far from the usual one that as a thinking person you stand in awe. They respond to the climate crisis with more fossil fuels. On the growing inequality with reduced taxes for the richest. And on the threat to democracy by rewriting the constitution to the disadvantage of whistleblowers.

Source: https://www.dn.se/kultur/rebecka-karde-samtiden-borjar-likna-en-farsartad-mardrom/

Sorry, it took me a while to retrieve your comment... and to answer it! Yes, it's quite worrying the rise of extremes all over the world, that's why I generally preach for a middle way, not soft and full of consensus without any actions, but whatever they are, extremes seem to me bad in principle... as in fact !

Hi Anttn, how are you doing today? It's been a while now, are you still with the family? I think I might have missed the update on that from your recent blogs 🥺.


This looks very easy to prepare, the only thing that will be hard is getting the right ingredients for preparing the hot wine.

I'm wondering, how does it taste, sweet right? 😃

Yeah ! I’m indeed back in town :D Sorry also for taking so much time to answer!!

The taste, mmh.. how to say ? It sweet, but there is still the tanic flavor of the red wine with the addition of the spices... for me, more than the delicious aspect, it’s equally the time travel opportunity haha !

How are you those days? I wish you a nice week, greetings to you and family ✌🏼

Oh that's good to know, you are welcome back. Hope everyone is doing well over there?

Hmm, I think it is sweet then but I'm not a fan of alcohol if it's not sweet, lolz. I see time travel!! 🤣🤓.

I'm doing well just getting tired easily now but it's fine though. I will send your greetings across, thank you 🤗.

Hope you are doing well yourself? Have a great week too 😘

Everything is fine, and the family too, thanks you :)

Oh, it's a rather sweet beverage, but apparently you need more rest than hot wine 😉 !
Do take care dear 🌟 😘

That's good to know Anttn, you're always welcome 😌
Oh yes, I totally agree with you on that, hehehe, I do need to rest more than take red wine.
I will, you too 😘.


By the way, it's been a while since you last organized a contest on the UTF community, hope all is well?

Haha !

You're absolutely right, I took a bit (a lot) of delay, but I'm planning to organize one soon :)

Have a good weekend dear 😘

Okay Anttn, it's understandable though because time seems to be going really fast these period, hehe.

I look forward to that soon.

You too friend, make sure to enjoy yourself ❤️

I have enjoyed the odd glass of mulled wine in the past, I am not a wine drinker, but I do enjoy the taste of it when it has all these wonderful spics added to it xxxxx

I don’t a lot and not very often too, but mulled wine? in winter or cold season? I don’t really see myself saying no :)

Ewkaw also shared a recipe of hot beer and honey recipe in the comments, looking forward to try it !

Hi there, @anttn. 😃 This is the first time I get to read about heating wine with spices. I can't do without herbs and spices in meal so I know the nutritional benefits. I may just try this soon.

Thanks for sharing. 😊😊

Oh, if you already use a lot of spices, I pretty sure you’ll enjoy that beverage, plus there’s not so much alcohol left... just as I like it 😉

Don’t hesitate to tell if you try ! Have a good week ahead ✌🏼

Love it, I make it myself too in the winter when it’s cold.
My recipe changes, depending on my mood 😉😁
Thanks for sharing yours. My recipe is very similar… and than I add rum to it 😎

Haha :) I too had som rum depending on my mood ^^ ! It’s really a time travel for me, so much memories related to this beverage..!

I hope you had a great weekend, may the coming week be good too 🤞🏼🍀

Hahaha cool you add sometimes some rum too.
It is one of those things that easily can bring you back to memories 😉😎
The weekend was great, got a lot done.
Today also… finished some paperwork for leaving Spain. It’s all going according to plan 😉🤩 so the week will be magical ✨
Have the most fantastic week too @anttn 👋🏻😁 enjoy it all!

So you're ready to go ?
That's great :)) So which is the next country ?

I can imagine you're happy and so the week is going fine !
Thanks you for your wishes dear @littlebee4 :) take care ✌️

Yep… almost.
16th pick up belongings and the 19th we fly out of Spain 🇪🇸 🛫✈️
Where we land you have to wait and see 😉 it will take a while longer as we will visit family first for the holidays.
Country number 6 will be 4 seasons and probably snowy very soon ☃️☃️❄️❄️☃️☃️❄️❄️☃️☃️

Thank you so much, it’s getting exciting! I am…
You are welcome my friend. Take care too 🤗😘

That's awesome ! I'm happy for you :)
Looking forward for further development !!

And btw, congratulations for your first year here 😉 🌟 !

Thank you sooooo much @anttn 🙏🏻😎😁🎉🎉🥳🥳 for all!
This year went sooo fast… love it here.

Cat GIF by itsrach

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Good recipe.