You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting My Herbs On: Three Tasty Plant Based Kitchen Garden Dishes That Feature Medicinal Herbs

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

You know, I have been UMMing & AAAHHHing about one of those spiralizer gadgets (cos i have to buy online from another country) but this post has basically SEALED the DEAL!!! Zucchinis are abundant here 9like most places and I suddenly have cravings for the spiralized zuchs with stir fried garlicky mushrooms. And a home made Thai basil pesto.

Cooking with herbs from your own garden is such an amazing thing to do. Me?? after the last garden debacle, I am keeping my herbs in pots.

Sort:  

Oh yeah the spiralisers are fantastic!!!! That sounds like a delicious recipe! I love them, even if they are just doused in a vinegareitte aka oxymel! I don't know why - once I discovered how good zucc were raw I've been so into them! I used to plant 2 plants and couldn't get rid of them, now I plant 4 and never have enough!! Even just sliced paper thin, they're like cucumbers!

Oh yes I'd highly recommend putting your plants in pots haha!!!

I think I have planted herbs in every single house I have ever lived in. I used to raid them from Mum's garden and transplant them - and I lived in a lot of share houses! I could never understand those floral English gardens - pretty, but what can you use out of them, really? All the goodness was growing wild in the woods! And I guess they give up on kitchen herbs when they die off in the winter? Idk. Here, they grow all year around, and in your climate - wow. What's your favourite asian culinary herb? I planted lots of thai basil this year - yum - and tulsi too.