A Modest Dinner

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

IMG_20210416_223523.jpg

By the looks of it, this looks like a pretty normal meal and a pretty modest one and the reason behind that is pretty simple and kinda lazy. The main reason I am having this meal for the night is that my Mom made extra rice for lunch and since it's quite hot today the chances of the rice getting bad was pretty high. So she decided to go for the simple way of making this.

We call this Jhol e Bhat which literally means Water on Rice and even though it is pretty simple I love to have this in Summer. So for making this all you have to do is take your cooked rice in a pot and pour water over it and just let it rest till you eat dinner.

Yeah, it's that simple.

Just for the side, I made some mashed potatoes with onion, salt, and chilies mixed with them. You also see some Onions on the side which we call Chachi Piyaz/Onion. All I gotta say about that Onion is that it's pretty unique in taste and it goes well with this dish for the night. But sadly it grows only in the southern part of our state so it's not readily available for everyone. But since I visited home recently I bought a couple of kilos of the Onion to savor.

image.png