Zeus Street Greek: Sydney (AUSTRALIA)

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Zeus Street Greek: Sydney (AUSTRALIA).jpg

Now that I'm heading down to Sydney much more regularly for work, it means that I'm able to start exploring around more when looking for food. I've found that I'm tending to stay in the area near Central Station on the Surry Hills side and I'm starting to walk a little bit further to try out new places to see if I can find some places that can be a regular and inexpensive place to eat. Of course, there are a few favourites that are also a little bit more expensive to eat at, but I save those for some nights when I want a treat... after all, I want to preserve as much of my per-diem for buying things like comics!

Zeus Street Greek was a really nice find just recently... and it was a tiny walk from my hotel... I had just never thought about trying it as it just looked like another fast food place. But... I was pleasantly surprised!

The Space

Zeus Street Greek: Sydney (AUSTRALIA).jpg

There isn't anything crazily special about the interior... everything is clean and the striped concept does give me a sort of Aegean Coast feeling for some reason... There were outdoor tables as well, but the eating right next to a busy road doesn't really strike me as a very enticing way to spend the lunch hour.

Indoors, it is well lit from the large windows at the front of the restaurant, so it is like you get all the benefit of the outdoor seating... without the cars!

The Menu

Zeus Street Greek: Sydney (AUSTRALIA).jpg

Well... everything here is pretty standard fare for what you might expect from a Greek place. Interestingly enough, I seemed to think that there were Greek places in the Netherlands than I have noticed here. Obviously, there are more Asian types of restaurant here... but I hadn't really noticed I hadn't yet found a decent Greek restaurant!

The Food

Zeus Street Greek: Sydney (AUSTRALIA).jpg

Well... the serves aren't crazily large, this was the Spartan bowl (see the menu). But for a light lunch, this was perfect... and where you were lacking in quantity... well, it was definitely made up in quality! I had forgotten how much I missed decent Greek food... there were a couple of places in the Netherlands that I would regularly visit... and there is nothing better than a really decent grill with pilaf (rice) or pita bread. Ahhhh... I think I have found a new favourite place to eat at in the centre!

The Experience

Well... the staff were really friendly, and the restaurant is not too loud or busy. Thankfully, no deafening music booming from speakers... which is definitely one of my least favourite aspects of some restaurants in Sydney.

The food servings aren't that big... but I'm a light eater anyway, but I could see that other people might find that troublesome. However, the quality of the food... and it is fast street food... was some of the best fast food that I have had. plus, with the decent salads or pilaf, you aren't getting really terrible fast food like MacDonalds or something horrific like that... but actually something that is quite alright, well, at least it feels like that!

As I had mentioned before, I'm definitely going to be revisiting Zeus Street Greek more often... it also helps that it is near the hotel that I tend to stay at... and it does a fast takeaway as well!

Opening Times

Monday 11:30am–9pm
Tuesday 11:30am–9pm
Wednesday 11:30am–9pm
Thursday 11:30am–9pm
Friday 11:30am–9pm
Saturday 11:30am–9pm
Sunday 11:30am–9pm

Contact Details

Address: 69-81 Foveaux St, Surry Hills NSW 2010
Phone: (02) 8018 4559
Website: https://zeusstreetgreek.com.au


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Those fries look particularly tasty.

Oh they were... and there was an option to have "Feta" fries... I'm not sure what that was, but I was pretty certain that my stomach would definitely not agree with it!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @bengy! Your post made the TravelFeed team happy so we have sent you our big smile. Keep up the good job. 😃

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@jpphotography (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you for the big smile and support!