2-Ingredient Dough Homemade Bagels

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)

20200621_115120.jpg

I love bagels, but haven't been thrilled with the high calorie count of most store bought bagels. As a diabetic I have to watch my carbs as well and a regular bagel just takes up too many for my normal day.

So, 2 Ingredient Dough to the rescue! You can make many standard things out of this simple and healthy dough - bagels, dinner rolls, pizza crust, calzones - the sky is the limit. But back to these great bagels:

Two ingredient dough is simply equal parts of self-rising flour and nonfat plain GREEK yogurt. To make these four bagels I used 1 cup of the flour and 1 cup of the yogurt. I have a ninja blender with a dough hook attachment so it was a very simple matter to put those ingredients in the blender and with a few minutes of blending I had a nice round ball of dough.

I turned the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and it took very little kneading, the consistency was almost perfect right out of the blender. I divided the dough into 4 sections and rolled each one into a rope that I attached in a circle.

Next, I beat an egg and brushed each of the bagels with it until well coated. A sprinkling of Everything Bagel Seasoning completed the work. Less than 10 minutes to make fresh bagels. After that, I popped them into my air fryer and baked at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes. Of course, you can use your oven as well but I love using my air fryer and not having to heat up the kitchen with the oven.

Since I already had the ingredients and the blender out I decided to use the same dough recipe and make some breadsticks. Same exact recipe except I divided the dough into 8 portions and rolled them out into sticks. I also used the egg wash and added garlic powder as well as the Everything Bagel Seasoning. I left them a little undercooked because I like to pop them back into the air fryer right before serving and put the final browning on at the last minute before serving. This ensures that they are crusty on the outside and soft on the inside!

20200621_120521.jpg

Let me know if you try this amazing dough out and if you like it as well as I do!

Bon Appetit!

text15.png

2gsjgna1uruv8X2R8t7XDv5HGXyHWCCu4rKmbB5pmEzjYSizzfjNdte3WjDpJwa9mk6TFQtnVQ1y9b9KfhHWUQzbnDePQPwDzSpLPH9Ny2NPEuJDfL.png

KNoz79cGRt59F26ze6eP2tUxiihBmkfXYo9w7DDKsQPNkNhkUqF9FjD9GHUyFiYcXWdH2ADpn47sAEk15XwKttojSHKQ6x4gvtZJ18Bd9YWcK1euPdX447jKfDNcNU9sBi6SPiU7NEn1xdUbh6N7XFEeD4r3cHsGvfVcXPH5J4ZGFeUd2spU9vgBMKiqSV2uQaxTaqeQBHG3V.png

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blueeyes.jpg

inner.gif

image.png

Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account at Sign up for Hive.

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

@ctime - really? a 14.5 cent downvote? Why? You don't like bagels???