Chilly weather means homemade chili

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

IMG_20211024_081553.jpg


One of the things I love so much about Michigan is the fact that we get to experience all four seasons. @ericvancewalton recently shared an article with me that said:

I have a theory: I think that when someone is talking about living somewhere warm— Phoenix or Los Angeles or something—and says “but I would miss the seasons,” what they’re actually saying is that they would miss the fall.

While I do love the fall, I actually appreciate all of the seasons as well. About the time you are done and over the cold weather, spring greets you with with renewal and growth. Likewise, when the hot weather really starts to become oppressive, that is when fall swings around brining a crisp chill to the air.

It's this time of year that I like to throw together a great big pot of chili. I freeze it and then I enjoy it through the long cold winter.

I'd love to tell you that I have a recipe and you can follow it to make your very own pot of chili, but that would be a lie. The fact is, I just kind of throw stuff together and hope it turns out well in the end.

In the case of this chili, I started off with some ground beef that you see above. I was browning it in a pan out in the garage so it wouldn't smell up the house. My wife is not a fan of beef, greasy fried beef even less so. The bright side of that is the fact that I get to enjoy all the chili myself!

IMG_20211024_081613.jpg


This beef came from my brother in law who purchased half a cow earlier in the year. It is a little fattier than most ground beef that I would normally purchase, but you can't really argue with free, plus the extra fat just gives it more flavor.

No matter how fresh meat is that you purchase in a grocery store, there is nothing better than meat that came right from the packing company to your freezer. It seriously just tastes better.

I added some of this Kinder's rub while I was cooking it up to start the layers of flavor that I was going for in my chili. We picked this rub and a couple other flavors up at our local Sam's Club or Costco a while ago. I enjoy trying them out on different things.

IMG_20211024_082256.jpg


In addition to that, I started to gather some of the accompaniments I planned on adding to my chili. For a good base you need some tomatoes of course (unless it is white chicken chili or something like that). I used to use diced tomatoes in the past, but this time I wanted to try crushed tomatoes. I don't like big chunks of tomatoes in stuff unless it is a BLT or something like that.

I also added some tomato paste to layer more of that tomato flavor. In addition to that I added chili beans in a mild chili sauce, a little bit of Oktoberfest beer, and finally some premade baked beans.

My wife questioned me about the Bush's Baked Beans and I explained to her that I wanted to add a little sweetness to the chili to cut the heat I might add and to also cut the flavor of the beer.

Many recipes call for you to add sugar to counterbalance the acidity, I used the beans instead and added no sugar.

IMG_20211024_083058.jpg


I then added a large onion and two jalapeno peppers (seeded and veined).

IMG_20211024_083645.jpg


Some green pepper.

IMG_20211024_083941.jpg


And finally some garlic.

IMG_20211024_090723.jpg


Then, in true midwestern fashion, it all goes into the crock-pot and slow cooks for a good six to eight hours.

I set it up on a table outside (once again so it wouldn't stink up the house), and let it go for about six hours to ensure the metallic taste that canned tomatoes can have would go away. I also wanted to ensure the beer had plenty of time to cook down. I probably would have let it go another two hours, but it was starting to get dark and I needed to bring the crock-pot in and get it cleaned.

IMG_20211024_090639.jpg


Here you can see a very sloppy picture of the somewhat finished product. I am pretty sure that I took this picture about halfway through. The end result was cooked down a bit more and had a bit darker hue.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I also added some garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper, and other spices to the mix before I stared cooking it. That is kind of important and I apologize for neglecting to mention that earlier.

Right now all of the chili is frozen in individual containers in our freezer, but I am already itching for the day I can bust one out and enjoy it for a weekend lunch or dinner.

Are you a chili fan? What is your favorite recipe? Secret ingredient?

I look forward to hearing from you in the comments!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures taken by myself or @mrsbozz

Sort:  

I'm a huge fan of chili, just made our first pot of the season a few days ago as well. And it just gets better with every day you re-warm it. Funny, I use that exact same Kinder's Buttery Garlic Rub (on almost everything, lol). We really like it on seasoned steak fries made in the air fryer. But for chili I make mine very similar to yours except I use diced tomatoes instead of crushed and I add tomato juice and some beef broth but no tomato paste. So are you an "add oyster crackers" person or no crackers?

I was going to add some tomato sauce, but I figured the consistency of the crushed tomatoes was thin enough that I didn't need it. I do enjoy crackers in my chili, but I usually use saltines. I wanted to add some beef stock too, but I didn't want to buy a whole thing when that is all we would use it for.

Looks delicious man! The best meat by far is one that you buy locally, freshness aside. Gotta keep the farmers employed for sure! We have been really focusing on these past 3 or 4 years on buying directly from places like farms. That’s the best way to keep economic destruction at bay in my opinion, keeping the local economy vibrant.

Away from that tangent though, the chili looks delicious! My wife hates the smell as well and we sadly don’t have a garage to cook it in but I’m hoping to make a chili or something while she’s out for a few hours and keep the windows open lol. Do you have a portable cooktop to bring out there? That’s awesome lol

Yeah, I hear you! We have a local farmers market that is pumping every Wednesday and Saturday in the summer. We try to source as much stuff from there as possible. We have an old propane camp stove that I use in the garage. Good luck with your chili, I bet it will turn out great!

Chili is so good!

That looks real good, and I think I am one of those people your friend was referring to, when I lived in places around the world without seasonal changes like here I did say I miss the seasons, but in reality it was Fall I missed or Autumn as I called it then before moving here, and as I get older Winter i could easily live without LOL

I thought the worst of the storm had passed this morning and went to go for a walk, after a few steps I realized the wind was still gusting ( after checking online when I got home up to 35 mph gusts) and it just was not comfortable with the wind chill close to freezing point so back home I came

Looking up the weather I found out why yesterdays storm did so much damage when they had been predicting gusts of wind up to 50 mph, well seems the forecasters got it wrong again, apparently in our area the gusts were up to hurricane force 90 mph which was more what it sounded and looked like

but here i go wondering off at a tangent, but i nice warm chilly would go down well today

Have a great day

I heard it was a bomb cyclone that crossed the country and turned into a noreaster. Nasty stuff for sure! I am glad you came out of it unharmed.

Ohh yeah we were lucky, driving around this morning I saw so much damage, some powerlines still down, one just one block from our place

One of the extended family has a powerline down at the end of there driveway still, he said it looked kind of cool last night sparks flying as it hits the road

Looks delicious
Have a nice time


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you!