My Jollof Weekend!

Hello everyone, hope y'all had a great weekend? Because I know I did.

This is going to be my first post in this community, and I'm glad to do it at such a time especially when I'm having an interest in improving my cooking skills.

Earlier today, I decided to cook what was otherwise an ordinary meal for an ordinary student like me. Jollof Rice and boiled egg.

Jollof rice is a favorite food in Nigeria! It's so important that the majority of the parties held in the party share it. What's a party without Jollof? Lol.

As a student, I had to make do with the little ingredients I could lay my hands on. They include:
Rice (3 cups)

IMG_6335.jpeg

Groundnut oil

Onions (1 ball)

IMG_20210619_082303_1.jpg

Seasoning cubes (2 cubes)

IMG_20210619_082407_9.jpg

Tomato paste (1 sachet)

IMG_20210619_082432_4.jpg

Curry (1 teaspoon)

Eggs (as many as desired)

IMG_20210619_082334_3.jpg

Salt to taste

Fresh pepper

IMG_20210619_085117_4.jpg


First off, before I start cooking, I wash and parboil my rice. I slice my onions and pepper. And I prepare the other ingredients. Preparing everything beforehand makes the cooking flow easier. Now to the main thing.

IMG_20210619_082313_5.jpg

IMG_6336.jpeg


So with my fire already going, I put the clean pot on. Then when I was sure there was no water left in the empty pot, I poured in a little oil. I waited for about thirty seconds for the oil to heat up. Next, I poured in my sliced onions. The moment the onions touched the hot oil, it let out a loud hiss as the water boiled up and evaporated. This was a sure sign the oil was properly heated.

IMG_6338.jpeg

Before my onions got burnt, I poured out the tomato paste from the sachet and used my ladle to stir it, mixing it with the onions. And as the sauce began to pop, I added a little water. This was just to prevent it from getting burnt.

IMG_6341.jpeg

So while the sauce was boiling, I added salt, pepper, the seasoning, and the curry. Stirring it over and over so it would mix well. Then I added more water. Just a little bit more so it wouldn't be too much when I put in the rice.

As the sauce boiled, I took the rice that had been washed and poured it into the sauce. Stirring it continuously so it could mix well. Now, if I feel there's still not enough water, I add it. This is also where I taste to make sure no ingredient is in excess.

IMG_6343.jpeg

The rice boiled for over ten minutes until all the water was gone. I tasted it to check for softness. It was ready for eating.

Note that it's not advisable to stir the food once it starts boiling. This causes it to get burnt even while there's still water in it.

So once the food was ready, I took it down and put a pot of water on fire. As it boiled, I placed the eggs into the boiling water. I made sure the water covered the eggs totally to make shelling it easier. The water kept boiling for over five minutes before I took it down. Then I shelled the eggs and placed them in the pot.

IMG_6361.jpeg

And the food was ready to be served.

IMG_6364.jpeg


As I said, it's just normal food for a student due to numerous financial demands and little resources. But I try to make it work. And there's nothing sweeter than eating food cooked by your hand. At least not to me.

So, this is it. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing and eating the food. Lol.


All pictures used here were taken by me on my smartphone.

Thank you for reading. And a happy Father's Day to you all.

See you all in the next post.

Any questions would be highly welcome.
And you can feel free to contact me via my Discord handle below:
bruno-kema#1355

Sort:  

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP