Crispy Potatoes Wedges

By Mrs. Canadian Renegade

I'm a sucker for roasted root vegetables. I'm also a sucker for a good French fry. One day, I had a serious craving for potato wedges which, I think, fits snuggly between roasted vegetables and french fries. Since I try to cook everything from scratch, I found myself frantically searching for a quick and easy recipe to satisfy my craving. I managed to find a video but it was missing a pile of information like quantities, oven temperature, and baking time. Time to improvise.

Wedges_Parboil.png

I took about seven red potatoes and sliced them into, you guessed it wedges. Then, I parboiled them by adding them to boiling water for about 3 - 4 minutes. Once done, I transferred them into a colander to cool. When they're (mostly) done steaming I tossed them in a bowl with some light olive oil and spices then laid them in a single layer on a baking tray covered in parchment. I cracked some coarse sea salt on top and sprinkled on some parmesan cheese and threw those bad boys in the oven. Half way through baking, I flipped them and sprinkled more parmesan on the other side.

Potatoes_Spices.png

I decided my temperature and cook time by what was already in the oven. Lucky for me, it worked out perfectly. I think the key to making them soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside is parboiling. These wedges were so delicious there were none left over. I ended up making a second batch for lunch the following day and I am fairly certain that my daughter ate her weight in wedges. Long after everyone left the table she was still picking away at the serving bowl.

Potatoes_Tray.png

Crispy Potato Wedges

Ingredients:

7 Medium red potatoes, diced with skin on

2 tsp Paprika

1 tsp Garlic powder

1 tsp Onion powder

1/2 tsp Thyme

1/8 Cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp Ground black pepper

Coarse sea salt to taste

Parmesan Cheese

Method:

Preheat oven to 400°F

Slice potatoes into wedges while bringing a pot of water to boil. Use a ladle to transfer the potatoes into the boiling water and then them cook for roughly three to four minutes. Drain the potatoes into a colander. While the potatoes are cooling mix your spices. Transfer cooled potatoes into a large mixing bowl and drizzle with roughly one tablespoon of light olive oil. Sprinkle half your spice mix onto the wedges and stir lightly. Add the second half of the spices and stir again. This will help spread the seasoning more evenly. Place the wedges in a single layer on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper and sprinkle with cracked sea salt and parmesan cheese. Bake for 12 minutes then flip and top with another dash of parmesan. Return to the oven for another 12 - 15 minutes until they've turned slightly brown.

Serve. Devour.

Baked_Wedges.jpg


Sort:  

Damn this looks so good, I've gotta try this recipe out!!

Thank you! It turned out really well and I will surely make this one again. Let me know if you try it out -Aimee

I love this one for sure. I often order in fast food restaurant :)

Thank you! I would definitely say they were as good as restaurant quality. I will definitely be working these into my regular rotation. -Aimee

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you! -Aimee

Looks really good! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I have now followed you over here on hive. Just don't really have much to post and keep up with Steemit. I will upvote you posts here! Blessings!

Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 66000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I can almost smell it here half way across the globe.. sounds delicious.

seem Delicious.