B.I.S.S. Sandwich Contest - Smokey Seitan Deli Slices On Home Made Buns

DSC_6124.jpg

This is my post for @mondoshawan's sandwich contest. I think I missed the last one but I see that more people should join in on this one before the month is up.

Today I present yet another plant based sandwich to the show. I know traditionally the contest is full of meaty stacked up sandwiches. It's just that I eat a plant based diet.

I have, made a faux meaty representation of a meaty sandwich using wheat gluten. This was used as far back as the 6th century by Buddhists who ate a vegetarian diet. This was a meaty substitute.

Although I don't believe it is something that should be consumed regularly, I do enjoy it's texture and the ability to absorb flavors.

DSC_6051.jpg

I kind of experiment every time I make this, using a different variation of ingredients. This time I flavored it more before I cooked it.

Deli wheat meat from seitan (My ingredients are approximate)

3 cups vital wheat gluten
1 cup chickpea flour
1 cup water
2 tablespoons veggie soup powder
1 teaspoon liquid smoke
1 teaspoon sage
1 teaspoon thyme
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1tablespoon onion powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons salt
1 tablespoon maple syrup or agave (optional)
1 teaspoon liquid smoke

Mix the ingredients together. I used a small food processor to mix it but I had to do it in small amounts. You can mix by hand as well.

DSC_6055.jpg

I ended up adding a little more water to make it dough like so I could knead it. I spent a bit of time kneading and stretching.

DSC_6067.jpg

I got it into a loaf shape eventually and boiled it in vegetable broth. This time I made a vegetable broth which I try to have on hand at all times. It really is easy to do and it's good to have on hand.

DSC_6048.jpg

The very basic vegetable soup broth is made using celery, carrots, onion, garlic, parsley, peppercorns and bay leaves. Put some oil in a pot, heat it, add the ingredients roughly chopped, some salt, cover well with water and bring to a boil. You don't have to fuss. Turn it to a simmer and walk away. After 45 minutes to an hour strain it and you have a basic vegetable broth. You could add other veggies that are in your fridge as well. Don't throw away your wilted veggies.

I put the seitan in a pot covered it with the broth, brought it to a boil, then simmered for around 45 mutes to an hour. I didn't time it because I am a hacker. I have hacked my way through life. It's worked out so far.

DSC_6068.jpg

After it was cooked, I took the seitan loaf out of the broth, let it cool a bit then sliced it.

DSC_6080.jpg

The slices would now be cooked in more broth and extra items, such as onion and garlic.

DSC_6087.jpg

After the onion and garlic were cooked in a shallow pan, I added the sliced seitan, added bay leaves, peppercorns, salt and a few tablespoons of soy sauce.

DSC_6097.jpg
Meanwhile I had already prepared a dough for the buns that would house the seitan.

DSC_6017.jpg

I don't consider myself a baker but I have to say, if you have the time to bake your own bread, it can be satisfying. I have much to discover in this area.

DSC_6021.jpg

Buns
3 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons instant yeast
1 1/ 4 cups warm water
2 tablespoons vegan butter or shortening
4 teaspoons sugar

I first put the yeast, sugar and warm water together in a bowl then put it in the oven that was off. I put a pot of steaming hot water in the oven to make a makeshift proofer. If you live in a hot climate you don't need to do this.

I checked it after twenty minutes or so and it was bubbly so I took it out and added the flour and the rest of the ingredients. After mixing it I kneaded it by hand as long as I could stand it.

DSC_6028.jpg

After proofing the dough in my makeshift proofer oven, I let it rise then cut it into pieces. I rolled each piece then put it back to proof once more.

DSC_6034.jpg

It was forgotten for quite a while like over an hour. I finally took it out and turned the oven to 400F. I brushed the buns with water then sprinkled sesame seeds on them. I bake the buns for around fifteen minutes changing them from the top rack to the bottom then turning the oven down to 300 for five minutes or so. I didn't really know what I was doing but it worked out.

DSC_6036.jpg

It was finally time to assemble the sandwich. I started with vegan mayo which I had made a while back.

DSC_6109.jpg

Than the classic grainy dijon mustard.

DSC_6112.jpg

I love red onion on a sandwich so in it went. Cucumbers also begged me to add them in so in they went.

DSC_6115.jpg

I had some chipotle mayo that I had made, I added that for some kick. And of course the sliced seitan.

DSC_6120.jpg

After all that it was not enough. I needed to pile on some lettuce and arugula because I need my greens.

DSC_6142.jpg

DSC_6161.jpg

DSC_6172.jpg

DSC_6166.jpg

Will you guys be joining in for some sandwich fun. You still have time for the month of March.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Wow! This looks very good! You made your own buns too!

Thanks the bread making is getting easier all the time and really therapeutic. I need that haha.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your sandwich looks delicious with beautiful and you work so much. I love eat sandwiches and hamburgers but I don’t like to make eat because I am not having an expert to make delicious.

@srepov, you are an expert at making everything delicious. I am begging you to please join the contest. Please. You made pizza in a pan and you can make a sandwich with any kind of flour so please enter with us. Please please. Your husband too!

We don't dabble in bread too much here because they don't have affordable whole wheat flour here in Suriname, and I try not to consume white flour. Can't even make a proper roti in this country, such a shame. I did used to make a mini vada slider in Cambodia, using a Jamaican style dumpling cut in half as the bun.....it was delicious!!

I think I'd make an exception for white flour to taste this sandwich though. It looks delicious, thanks for sharing chef.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you @justinparke. I know the crime I'm committing when I have white flour haha. I grew up with a health nut father who never let me have white flour, white rice, white sugar. I had to eat carob instead of chocolate. I had to have vitamins and flax seeds. I guess I rebel a little now that I'm old, but my father was definitely right to do all that and help me become a more conscious eater. I go through phases of bad eating within the plantbased category of foods.

I love that you are such a good example to the girls. They probably are not so exposed to the average North American crap diet like I was with my friends. I wanted what they had.

WOW, now that's some sandwich.
Nice job!

Why thank you @farm-mom! I appreciate that compliment.

Well deserved my friend.

Nice, home made seitan... this is an awesome sandwich! Funny i just had seitan yesterday and thought about a "schnitzel-bread"... hehehe

You had seitan? Wow I'm impressed haha!

Hehehe, yep... quite often acutally. I love it.

You always have recipes that are out of the box! I was amazed by the ingredients you find there and they are really healthy. I'm having a hard time getting to most of them.

Thank you so much. I wish that I had ingredients that you had over there too. Here we have imported things mostly from the U.S but when summer hits, I like to get the local stuff.

This is so nice, love how you detailed all steps my friend.
Never made seitan, thanks for making me discover it.
Good luck in the contest, potential winner indeed.
👏👏👏

Thanks that means a lot!!!

It looks so tasty. I want to have some. 😅😅

An exquisite and delicious option to enjoy at any time of the day... I loved it!
Thank you very much for sharing the step by step to prepare this wonderful and succulent sandwich

Thank you @kristal24 for your kind compliment. All the best to you!

So I voted but forgot to come back here and comment, that's what happens when the hair turns silver!!!
What an amazing BISS, I'll turn vegan at the dropbof a hat if I could eat your food every day.
Everything looks and sounds absolutely yum, scrumptious entry!

Aww that is mighty kind of you. I really appreciate that. Trust me you can make vegan food to please any vegan!

Thank you @lizelle!