New Years Eve and Vegan NO CRAB cakes

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

Yesterday we worked at the vegan restaurant for New Years Eve. We only do take out because of the restrictions. I was surprised at how many orders we had lined up. Marc and I were the only ones in the kitchen and the manager was handling the bagging and orders. It was quite the stormy ride that I didn't think would end.

One employee didn't show up because he thought we were closed so we were running non stop. We ran out of things and had to make more as fast as possible. Thank goodness we only open from four to nine p.m. but we did so many orders in four hours. For a pace like this in the past restaurants there would have been at least three other staff. Plus most of our items would have been prepped for us but here we do it ourselves as well as wash dishes.

I am proud of myself that I didn't swear or slam anything like past New Years in other kitchens. We were pretty cool and collected even though I had to quickly cut open avocados as fast as I could to make guacamole in the middle of the evening. I have to say though I am exhausted.

Fortunately we live across the street so we cleaned up as fast as we could and got home in time to relax before midnight.

Last year we sat in our Bangkok Arbnb and did nothing. What a switch.

Despite my exhaustion, when we got home, I made vegan crab cakes which obviously do not have crab in them. It would be our New Year's treat for an appetizer while waiting for the year to end.

DSC_1432.jpg

I used to love crab cakes when I was still eating seafood. It's been over five years. I knew that many vegans are using hearts of palm to replicate them. I used hearts of palm as well as oyster mushrooms.

DSC_1320.jpg

Vegan Crab Cakes

1 can hearts of palm flaked or chopped (I found some that were thinly sliced)
2 cups shredded oyster mushrooms
1/2 finely diced red pepper
1/2 finely diced green pepper
1/2 finely diced red onion
1 stalk celery finely diced after taking the strings off the back
1 tablespoon old bay seasoning (I made my own)
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon chili flakes
1/4 cup vegan mayo
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
salt to taste
Enough Panko bread crumbs to hold the mix together to form a ball
Some people cook the peppers and onion first then add them but I didn't bother and I thought it was fine this way.

DSC_1323.jpg

I tried to put as little bread crumbs as possible to not take away from the flavors. I would say it may have been around a cup. I also put the hearts of palm in a cheese cloth first to take out the moisture by wringing it as dry as possible.

DSC_1328.jpg

I had some flax goo that I had already in my fridge. This was for an egg substitute and it works really well. Just boil 1 cup of water and add a third cup of flaxseeds. Leave them in the hot water simmering for around 15 minutes and put in the fridge. I like to have it on hand. I strain it when it's cool and thick. It is very much like egg white.

DSC_1348.jpg

After the cakes are formed and refrigerated for around half an hour or more, put each one in flour then the flax goo then the Panko bread crumbs. You can use regular bread crumbs as well. I like the flakiness of Panko which are like a Japanese bread crumb.

DSC_1389.jpg

After they were coated I put them back in the fridge while I made a caper mayo sauce.

Caper mayo sauce
1 cup vegan mayo
1 cup cashews soaked
3 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon capers
Chopped parsley
salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon agave nectar

I blended this but you could just mix it in a bowl.

DSC_1385.jpg
When the sauce is ready, take the cakes out and brown them in a shallow pan.
DSC_1405.jpg

When they are all browned put them in the oven to get thoroughly cooked. I left them in for around twenty minutes on 350f but you can just take them out when they are nice and hot inside.

DSC_1441.jpg

I honestly think that some people I know could be fooled by these. Well probably not the people from the east coast, that I know, but I am sure they would like them.

DSC_1422.jpg

This is such a good substitute for someone who now consumes a plant based diet that used to love seafood.

DSC_1438.jpg

There are many ways you can vary this. You could put some exotic spice, or some different herbs like dill. You could omit the hearts of palm or omit the mushrooms. I really prefer the mushrooms along with it. You could make any kind of sauce as well.

DSC_1427.jpg

It is really simple to make if you have the similar ingredients. It didn't take long. I know many people in the tropics don't have an oven so if you make these you just keep them longer in a pan with more oil. I just try to avoid deep frying when I can. Plus I have an oven at this time in my life after not having one for a while.

DSC_1434.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and I wish for you all to have a promising new year!

Sort:  

An interesting recipe, Dear, as always.

I still trying make vegan recipe. In here still raw people know about vegan thing.

Since my childhood, I don't like meat or chicken, or even fish.

But I still eat eggs and sometimes milk. I can't found flaxseed for replacing the egg.

Be a vegan is awesome I think but still confused if I go to restaurants then the menu fulfill of animal-based food

Thank you @anggreklestari! I know you are really good at making meat free meals and have a good knowledge of healthy foods so at least there is someone (you) that can influence others around you. It is a start.

When I was in Bali there was a very good vegan options there. I was impressed. No problem at all in Ubud center. Outside of there was not good for that at all.

By the way if you can get chia seeds they also work as an egg replacement really well.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

So yummy, Carolyn!😋
I need a plate with 7, i'm OneTripleSeven 😉
..and eat them with fresh made bread..maybe garlic bread 😀
Happy New Year!

Haha thanks @luca1777 yes indeed. Hmm you just made me want garlic bread.

Happy New Year

Garlic bread is sooo good, it doesn't even matter from what cultural background...italian,indian,jamaican....

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2021. I really love the way you made them.

Thank you @kidsisters I appreciate that. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU TOO!!!!

Another awesome recipe, your food always looks so good and has such a wonderful variety of ingredients in it, which is what we all need. Thanks for this gem of a recipe and happy new year to you xxx
Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family .

Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

I love crabcakes myself, made with seafood. I'm not vegan, but they certainly good tasty. A few of the ingredients you use I have never tasted. May be time for a start in 2021.

Thanks for sharing.

Yes crab cakes are delicious but no crab cakes can be delicious too. Please consider joining in on veganuary. Thanks for stopping by.

https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@lotusshares/join-the-vevolution-go-vegan-for-january-and-win-100-hive

Happy new year to you @carolynstahl, hope this year ends on a much better note than it's starting! It sounds like you have a much happier working environment. Your crab cakes look and sound soooo good!