Pan seared tofu with barbecue sauce , black bean chili and garden salad.

DSC_2246.jpg

We have started working a couple of days a week now that the restaurants are open.

When one of us is at work downtown the other of us roams around and waits for six or seven hours then we meet up after and walk home together. It takes two hours and fifteen minutes.

The bus ride is way too boring and long.

While Marc was at work the other day, I went to a store that I used to go to when we lived downtown. It has tons of deals and vegan products.

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw organic tofu that was two for a dollar. I wondered if there was a catch. I bought it anyway. After all it was worth losing a dollar to find out.

It turned out to be perfectly fine and fresh. This store often has deals like this and the store is always packed.

For the tofu I sliced it and marinated it the day before.

Tofu Marinate

1/4 cup soy sauce, 1 tablespoon veggie soup broth powder, 1 teaspoon garlic powder or fresh garlic, 1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon pepper, 1 teaspoon thyme, 1 teaspoon paprika, juice of a lime and enough water to cover the tofu in a container.

DSC_2211.jpg

DSC_2210.jpg

When I cooked it in the hot pan with a little oil I first coated it with cornstarch then while cooking I brush on barbecue sauce.

Barbecue sauce 1/4 cup tomato paste, 4 cloves garlic minced, juice of one lime, 1 teaspoon smoked paprika, 1 tablespoon cane sugar (substitute for date puree or maple syrup), 2 teaspoons salt, 1 teaspoon pepper, 1 teaspoon chili powder, few drops of liquid smoke (optional), 1/2 teaspoon thyme, 1/2 teaspoon oregano.

DSC_2226.jpg

Black bean chilli Chop 2 roma tomatoes, 1 zucchini, 1 onion, 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 green pepper, 1/2 red pepper, juice of lime, 1 can of black beans, 1 cup frozen corn, 2 cups of strained tomatoes, salt to taste, pepper,
1 teaspoon chili powder 1 teaspoon smoked paprika.

DSC_2213.jpg

I added the onion and garlic to a hot pan first then the other vegetables than the beans, corn and strained tomato.

DSC_2219.jpg

DSC_2221.jpg

DSC_2253.jpg

I had to have a salad on the side, made from leaf lettuce and kale from the garden. I am thankful for those items.

DSC_2248.jpg

By now you may have guessed that I was going for a southwest / Mexican kind of theme. It would have been perfect on the barbecue but we didn't have time to take everything outside.

DSC_2249.jpg

Have a good week everyone and thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Christ!!! That plate is where they got the word ''Health'' form! :D

Looks very yum too! <3

Haha thank you!

No no! Thank you! :D

Wow looks delicious and beautiful.

Thank you so much my friend!

You are most welcome 😊.

Two for a $1?! Wow, I would have bought as many as I could. What a deal! Though here I'm just glad the tofu is consistently back on the shelves as it seemed to be a hot item during the initial lockdown period here. Seems a lot of the vegan items were in demand. A good thing and a bad thing when I was in need of something, haha. Looks like a delicious meal as always. Glad you both are working again, though that commute is definitely a tough one!

Girl aftee my own heart. I've been doing very similiar tofu steaks with a dash of liquid smoke too. So tasty.

Haha, I could eat tofu everyday but I try not too.

What a perfect and spectacular-looking meal! Kudos! 😋

BBQ sauce with tofu? Love it! I'm a huge fan of tofu. Your creation has inspired me and I'll try something similar soon... Thanks!

Awesome thanks Cris!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening