Vegan sausage, spinach and mushroom soup

DSC_1681.jpg

This started out as a plant based version of Zuppa Toscana which is a soup made from Italian sausages and potatoes with either spinach, kale or a leafy green.

As I gathered my vegan store bought sausage, my spinach and other veggies, I realized I did not have potatoes which would be an important ingredient in this dish. This is when I decided rather than going back outside into the cruel world to get a sac of taters, I would just make a different soup using rice. You could say it is based on Zuppa Toscana but an Italian cook would not agree at all.

It begins with my favorite vegan sausage brand made in our city Montreal called Gusta. I try not to make a habit of eating mock meats but I used to love sausages especially late nights from the sausage cart, when I was younger after bar hopping with my friends. It's all about the memories of good times. So every now and then I purchase these products which are tasty compared to some brands of mock deli meats.

DSC_1519.jpg

Since I was going off course of the original plan, I decided to throw in mushrooms. I love mushrooms.

DSC_1526.jpg

I had some red peppers that I got from the markdown bin which I roasted. Then removed the skin and sliced them up to put in the soup.

DSC_1546.jpg

I used frozen spinach for convenience. I usually always have some in the freezer.

DSC_1534.jpg
After cooking onions then garlic and crushed red peppers, then the rest of the items in olive oil, I added a bunch of chopped parsley,1 teaspoon oregano, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 teaspoon onion powder. I left the spinach for last. There was around 4 cups frozen spinach. I only put half after the soup was cooked then the other half shortly before serving to keep some green.

DSC_1568.jpg

I topped the pot with my handy dandy jar of homemade vegetable soup broth with added vegetable broth powder.

DSC_1577.jpg

I added a cup of soy cooking cream at the end. I decided to go creamy instead of clear.

DSC_1587.jpg
I precooked rice and added around 2 cups.

DSC_1594.jpg

I added a squirt of lemon and extra chili flakes.

DSC_1655.jpg

With all of the chili flakes you would think it was super spicy, but it wasn't. It had some kick but that's all.

DSC_1670.jpg

I added some toasted whole grain croutons for an extra filler.

DSC_1675.jpg

DSC_1679.jpg

Thanks for stopping by folks!

Sort:  

Looks tasty dish my friend😋. !wine


Cheers, @sreypov You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @carolynstahl.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE

Thanks my friend!!!

What is vegan hot dogs? I never heard of it but it is sure look tasty.

I hope you can try one day. Thanks @kidsisters!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png