Claire's Crazy Cakes, Bakes and Kitchen Hacks: Chapter 14 - Double Decker Milk tart, Caramel and Chocolate Cheesecake

It's the cake you've all been waiting for! Drenched in chocolate ganache and with its milk tart liqueur twist, this cheesecake is sure to tickle your tastebuds!

I started plotting this cake MONTHS before @ZakLudick's birthday, and it took a lot of scheming as well as some team work to pull it off.

I have already made 2 cheesecakes using this base recipe, and let me tell you, once you've got the basics nailed, your imagination can run wild and you can create any flavour your heart desires.

My goal was to make a double-decker chocolate, caramel, oreo-based, chocolate ganache-covered cheesecake, laced with milk tart liqueur, and this is how I pulled it off.

Ingredients:
1 layer prebaked chocolate cake sponge (I used half the batter from my regular chocolate cake recipe, and used the rest to make cupcakes Claire's Crazy Cakes, Bakes and Kitchen Hacks: Chapter 3 - Ultimate Chocolate Cake This is a high sugar and oil content sponge and it stores extemely well (up to a week without drying out , so I recommend you make this part in advance.

you will also need to make the cheesecake at least a day in advance so that it has time to set before you start building layers and smothering with ganache.

The Cheesecake:
250g original chocolate Oreo's
1/2 cup melted butter
1 1/2 cups Milk Tart Liqueur
2 tbsp gelatine
500g cream cheese
1/2 cup castor sugar
3 of cups cream
1 tin of Caramel treat
300 top- deck chocolate
300g dark chocolate
Chocolate whispers 1 bag
spray & cook/ cook
baking paper
25cm springform cake tin
2 x Large mixing bowl
1 soup or desert bowl - microwave safe
2 x wooden spoons
Wooden Chopping board
large sharp chopping knife

Method:

  1. Trace and cut baking paper to line the inside of both the base and the spring form casing of the baking tin

Generously spray the inside of the tin and then place your traced and cut baking paper. Spray again and ensure there are no areas where the cake can adhere.

In a seperate bowl, Crush the oreos. Add the melted butter to the biscuits and mix to combine. Spread the biscuit mixture evenly at the bottom of the cake tin: pressing the biscuits flat with a spoon. Freeze until later.

In another separate microwave safe bowl, combine 1 cup of Milk Tart Liqueur with 2 tbsp gelatine and microwave on high at 30-second bursts, mixing in-between, until the gelatin is completely melted. I used more gelatine than usual this time around because I wanted the cake to set as firmly as possible to be able to support the layers.


In a large mixing bowl, combine the cream cheese with the sugar and mix using a hand mixer until light and fluffy.

Add the Milk tart liqueur and gelatin mixture to the cream cheese and beat with the hand mixer until combined.

​Crush about half the bag of chocolate whispers and add to the mixture.

whip 1 cup of cream with 30ml of Milk Tart Liqueur until stiff and add to the cream cheese and crushed chocolate whisper mixture

Remove the base from the freezer and spread the mixture over the biscuit base and refrigerate for 24 hours.

The Ganache
On a wooden chopping board, dice the chocolates into In two separate pots, one for the dark chocolate, one for the top deck. Dicing with a good sharp knife leads to easier and smoother melting. Place your dark and top-deck chocolate pieces into their separate pots.

Have your clean separate wooden spoons ready

Add 1 cup of cream to each pot and melt the chocolate gently, stirring constantly. Don't abandon your chocolate or put the stove on to high. Burnt chocolate is sad chocolate. Once well combined, smooth and melted, set aside to cool.

When you are ready to assemble, remove the cheesecake from fridge.

now the fun starts.

Get your chocolate cake out and get a friend to help you because this is some gravity defying, nervewrecking stuff!

The idea is you want the caramel treat between the cheese cake and the chocolate cake. The chocolate cake may not want to stay in one solid piece, so this must be done with care.

Spread the entire tin of caramel treat on one side of the chocolate cake.

Remove the sides of the springform tin and the baking paper from around the sides of the cheesecake. Remember, there is still baking paper at the bottom of your cheesecake that you'll need to remove!

This means, that yes, we are planning to flip that whole cake upside down. Thank heavens for the extended setting time and the extra gelatine!

Place the chocolate cake, caramel side down, on top of the cheesecake. Place a baking tray lined with baking paper on top of the double-decker cake and Flip the whole thing over. You will now be able to remove the bottom of the spring form tin and the baking paper from the oreo biscuit base of your cake.

Take another baking tray lined with baking paper and flip the cake the right way up.

Now that you've almost had an aneurysm, you are ready to drench the cake with ganache and decorate with the remaining whispers and edible glitter!

Remember to work quickly, especially if it's a hot day. You don't want your cheesecake to lose its stiff consistency or melt. Refrigerate immediately after decorating.

Manage your expectations: I thought we'd be eating this cake for DAYS, but it was demolished in less than 30 minutes. So Glad I secretly pinched a piece for myself and hid it away!!

Sort:  

That looks delicious, so much chocolate. I didn't understand if it was for a birthday, but I suppose it was, so Happy Birthday! :)

Definitely! It was. I made 3 cakes for @zakludick's birthday! I'll post the recipes for the other two soon, but you can check them out here. Phew! It was a lot if baking!

Oh my greatness... That first picture made me think of Bruce Bogtrotter... Do you remember the Matilda book/movie?

Yes of course! The boy who had to eat all the cake?

@jasperdick I just reread your comment and almost snorted my coffee 🤣🤣🤣 It could be interpreted that I remind you of Bruce Bogtrotter. and not that my cake reminds you of the ridiculous chocolate cake in the movie (which looked freaking amaizing, actually)

hahahahaahahaah

"Do these jeans make me look fat?"

Yum... oh my!
What a cake!

It was crazy! I got horrible flu just after though so I couldn't even taste my slice 😭😭😭 I'll just have to make another one 😱😉😋❤️

Hahaha! Yes, you have just got to make another one!
!LOL
!LUV

You can tune a piano
But you can't piano a tuna.

Credit: reddit
@clairemobey, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @silversaver888

Have you tried the !gif !lolz !meme combo? It is a wall of fun!
(5/6)


Credit: arthursiq5
Earn Crypto for your Memes @ hiveme.me!

ohno 🤣🤣🤣

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@zakludick(2/5) tipped @clairemobey (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I'm a chocolate lover, great that cake looks delicious @clariemobey _

Thank you so much! It was deadly!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @zakludick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

My mother loves cheesecake and this has all the ingredients she loves from the caramel treat and the whispers on top of all the other amazing ingredients. May I ask where you buy this milk tart liquer. A friend of ours makes it here in Cyprus where we are living now - but all your ingredients remind us of good old South Africa - and the braai's. I am also a song writer and vocalist - enjoyed your music!!

Oooooh thank you! I'm so glad you are enjoying my baking and my music! That's so cool! Milk tart liqueur is relatively easy to find here in SA. It's in most liquor stores and is cheaper than Amarula. You could really use any cream based liqueur. Even Baileys is fine.

you can check out basically everything of posted on Youtube. I'm also most streaming platforms. It's bloody hard work to push through. You should be very proud. I just went to go check you out. Well done lady! And another fellow hiver? You got a fan in me 😍
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5rrAtInNeX48lQhqx5pIhw