Cooking with CrypticTruth - Greek Chicken

I fancy myself a good cook. My wife and I share cooking duties so when my wife has class it's up to me to figure out dinner. Yesterday’sdinner was like an episode of Chopped. If you are not familiar with the food network show I recommend checking it out. The premise is you create a meal out of mystery ingredients. Since we have been up north at the cabin there is not much food in the refrigerator.

I'm made a meal around chicken thighs. I went with a greek theme. First, I cut up some sweet peppers, red onion and white onion.

171D20D1-95DE-413A-9C52-B0CFD07E0977.jpeg

I'm usually the one that does most of the cutting during meal prep. My wife and I use the time to talk about out day, listen to music and enjoy a glass of wine or beer.

7AF0E596-DDEC-4E9B-AC5C-737F6DFDB435.jpeg

I then went into the spice drawer and pulled out some greek staples. Garlic, onion, thyme, dill, oregano, parsley, salt, pepper and basil make up the bulk of the blend. I tossed all of the cut up vegetables with this mixture. My wife made custom spice bottles so that our spice drawer would be more organized and efficient.

6B8BEBB9-7567-402E-9482-B808354A9E1B.jpeg

20EBEFD5-8CB3-4348-AB43-3E4A9ECCC5FB.jpeg

Next up was the chicken thighs, I used the same mixture, but went a bit heavier on the the salt and pepper. I let the chicken come up closer to room temperature ans tossed the bowl to throughly combine the spices with the chicken.

BA7D6AB5-26FD-445C-AF27-F356D451ED60.jpeg

I started some rice in the trusty Instapot and turned the oven to 425F. I cooked the chicken for 40 mins, the vegetables for 30 mins and the rice takes about 20 mins in the Instapot.

8285178A-C3C4-4AD2-8C1B-70E0B58609AB.jpeg

I cut up some cucumber and green olive to top. My wife came home and made some greek dressing to drizzle over the top as well.

537EF25B-6390-4E7F-8AC1-E8EDF1ABDDD9.jpeg

We whipped up a simple greek dressing for topping too. Here's a picture of the final product, Bon appetite!

1A19FDA2-5928-40CE-8963-9C517B8A1872.jpeg

Sort:  

Very good food looks healthy. Glad to know you can cook well. It is very good to help the wife in this way

We like to share the house duties it has worked for us! I really have started to enjoy cooking more in my old age.

Very nice! Do you guys have a Ya Ya's over there by you? That's one of my favorite places, but we don't go there often. In fact, I probably haven't been in close to five years now. Their Greek style chicken is so good. This looks delicious!

I have not been to a Ya Yas in about the same time. Last time I was there I was a bit drunk and the food delicious! I have not seen one in forever.

We have a couple on this side of the state. My wife isn't a fan so we don't ever go.

Looks good.👍

Um... dinner at your house sounds delightful and if that is what you can do with only a few ingredients then I don't even know. :D

Inspired, my friend!

What a great way to end a day and stay connected to each other. Love this. 👍