Incredible Vegan Food Tour In Thailand #1

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

vegan-tn.jpg

Not so long ago being a vegan in Thailand was not much fun! Trying to explain what Vegan meant to a culture who live on meat, fish and a great variety of meat based cuisine meant ending up eating a plate of chips or some fruit and maybe a fairly boring salad! Oh how times have changed! I am in Thailand for a few weeks and have decided to try out as many of the vegan restaurants that are now dotted around the country as i can.

This restaurant is called The Vegan Table and is located on the Island of Phuket. The entire meal costed me $20 which included a cancer killer juice of Turmeric, Apple and lime, Avocado rings, and the main dish of Tacos as featured in the thumbnail and below. That is quite costly for Thailand, but on par with any of the good restaurants that are here.

vegan1.jpg

Let me just start by saying that i am SO excited to be eating this kind of food. I have spent the last four months in India, which despite being very easy to eat vegetarian food, is also a bit much with their great love for masala and chilli!. Don't get me wrong, i love Indian food, but after so long i was barely able to eat another mouthful of any kind of curry.

Prior to being in India I was 'stuck' in Portugal for a year and a half. Let me just say that the options there were sorely lacking, and highly uninspiring. The one vegetarian restaurant i went to served me probably the worst plate of food i have eaten in a long time.

One thing i want to do on this journey is to INSPIRE myself, and others, with the amazing possibilities for vegan cooking. Many people think that a vegan diet has to be bland, boring, or just consist of salads. With a bit of imagination and inspiration nothing could be further from the truth, and i think you will agree this this dish alone looks damn fine! Let me assure you it tasted just a good as it looks and i was left fully satisfied without even wanting to look at the dessert menu.

The dish that you can see here is Vegan Taco. It is described as a selection of 3 vegan soft taco shells, beetroot, spinach, and carrot with a Mexican spicy filling with fresh avocado and vegan cheese with salsa and sour cream. I had this dish accompanied with a side of avocado rings and a delicious vegan dip.

vegan19.jpg

It felt SO good to be eating this, and hidden under those tacos were a great number of fresh and super nutritious sprouted greens. It will come as no surprise that I ate every scrap on that plate!

I hope you enjoy looking at this meal, and maybe you are inspired to try some Vegan dish out either at home or at your local Vegan restaurant. If you are in Thailand then you really must try out one of the many Vegan restaurants at least once instead of the normal Pad Thai or other super meaty dishes.

It was good to see that the chefs and staff were all Thai,but had somehow managed to master the art of amazing gourmet Vegan cooking. i popped into the kitchen on my way out to have a peek and the chefs were all there smiling and have a good time cooking amazing food.

kitchen.jpg

vegan12.jpg

vegan13.jpg

I would like to leave you with the MENU! .. and What a menu this is. In fact this is not the entire menu at all, but i think this is already enough to feast your eyes on. I will be back as there are many other dishes that i really want to try out, not least the Beyond Meat Burger which looks amazing and im sure tastes as good as it looks..

ENJOY and look out for my next delectable vegan food post! My next stop in my rehabilitation was of course another dreamy relaxing massage.. I woke up barely able to stand with my lower back very stiff and sore.. and already i feel lighter and flexible than i have in quite some time..

Thank you Thailand! <3

vegan2.jpg

vegan3.jpg

vegan5.jpg

vegan6.jpg

vegan8.jpg

vegan7.jpg

vegan9.jpg

veganfinal1.jpeg

Sort:  

Well, let's just say that it was hard to not get hungry and curious about how this tasted!
Mouth-watering to say the least! We are exploring how to eat more healthily than we currently are, without the daily hassle of our hard to please 6 year old!

I will pin this one for future inspiration. I mean, avocado rings, they seem divine only by looking at them.

And by the way, glad to see you on board of Listnerds finally! Welcome to the Dream Team :) haha

Oh wow those avacado rings were too good!
And yes i made it to the list nerds xxx looks v interesting!

I promise you, you won't regret it ..
I tried to get @misslasvegas on board from the first day I joined, she didn't have time to check it out and was probably skeptical as well, which I get, I was too.
But well, you know her opinion now :) So worth it!

PS I saw your second mail looking a bit weird due to non-scaling. Here's a simple guide on how to avoid that.

It's great to see places like Thailand taking the vegan route even if a little expensive, they should work on that, I'm surprised to hear Portugal had uninspiring vegan meals, I when with a friend and a few times I regretted getting the fish dish as the vegan option was much nicer.

yes.. well.. i did visit another place yesterday and it was much cheaper.. only around %6 for a really nice dish.. so the options are here thankfully.. it just depends where you go i guess. also to be fair i did order two main courses :)

DANG! This is awesome and great to see that in Thailand of all places times have changed. As a vegetarian I even have to admit that in my little village in the Netherlands there are no VEGAN restaurants. Unless we drive at least half an hour to get to one. So, quite impressed to see this in Thailand.

And oh, how amazing it looks. I'm sure the taste was just as good as the looks. And can I say that I loved the way the beautiful dishes are being served?

hey! oh yes, my X wife was dutch and i lived there part time for a few years..
yeah, ,i realised quickly that food is not really that big a priority for the dutch.. they eat tiny portions and are happy with a Broodje only.. vegetarian options very lacking yes! :(

That looks fantastic. My wife is vegan and I'm sure she would fall in love with this place.

Now we just need to get to Thailand LOL

Thanks for sharing this on ListNerds!

cool, thank you !!! im sure she would.. and im sure you would too if you tried a few dishes.. next time i will have the beyond meat burger.. and compare.. i do also eat mat but i keep it to a minimum.. and burgers are one of my soft spots..

My next stop in my rehabilitation was of course another dreamy relaxing massage.

Hope you will come back rejuvenated from Thailand. Enjoy all the good food and time. I will share a very simple recipe that is healthy and delicious too, we have been eating that now at home, after eating a lot of non-veg in our two day short trip.

These wraps look amazingly delicious.
It is quite expensive but so healthy for you.
Enjoy your stay in Thailand. Can't wait to hear more about it.

thanks! yes more to come for sure!!!

It's quite surprising that a place as Thailand where meat, be it seafood or other type of meat is having very good vegan food, it probably shows that there are also a large population of people that probably still eat vegan and stay true to it. I must say, I wish I can travel like you. Irrespective of the bad vegan food in Portugal, I'm sure there are better things there too. Hahah. This food looks great

yes times have changed.. i think its mostly because the tourist now are more commonly vegan.. but who knows maybe the thai folks are warming up to it!

Exactly, who knows maybe we have vendors trying to adopt to the type of food eaten by the tourists hence having restaurants for vegan tourists.

The vegan food looks delicious. I haven't really been to any vegan stores and I really need to eat healthier. Sitting on my desk all day and walking at night is basically all I have done. I have been eating quite a bit of meat lately so a change of pace would be nice.

thank you.. it was really really good! i will be back soon...

\hey.. walking all night.. that sounds pretty healthy to me.. unless u meant working ;)

Great post, mate!

I am traveling to Portugal. When will you come back?
Maybe we can meet to get to know each other in person?

!PIZZA !BEER and a huge hug!

thanks!

oh well... i kind of left Portugal permanently.. so not sure if / when i ill be back!.. now im a long way from europe also :_)

Lucky you! 😉

It worked. I am hungry now. I am going to an early lunch after reading about all the good food. Thanks for sharing.

he he ! nice im glad you got inspired! thanks <x

You were on time to get the shot of those staff working in the kitchen, and the fact that they are smiling makes it beautiful

I woke up barely able to stand with my lower back very stiff and sore.

You should go for a massage, I hope you are doing great 😃

thanks!~ yes happy people in thailand..
and yES! ive had three massages now.. already getting back into shape :) <3

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow, what a nice food,it really look good and nice.

😃👍🏼
🍽️🍴🍴🤤🤤

It is a good option to eat, the menu and that food looks good, it made me hungry haha

Enjoyment is necessary, I see you having fun which to get there and enjoy the same too.
I can't wait for my headache work to be done so I can see the world.
In where am now there are only four types of food I eat, so you see am not so happy about it but it's for the time being. I love food and I can express how much it love to see others enjoy what I dream to see enjoy one day. pls keep me posted

oh im sorry to hear you have such problems with your headaches.. i also had it for a month all day every day..

im curious what four types of food can you eat?

This looks very delicious!!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@amico.sports(2/10) tipped @eco-alex (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

It all looks so delicious!

Didn't know that vegan food is available in Thailand. Super delicious it looks. Bon Appetit.