🍗Leftover Chicken? Not a Problem😉

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

20211109_180411~2.jpg

What in the world is that Witty? Chicken Fried Rice - Witty Style. I had some leftover chicken I grilled a few days ago and been brainstorming with my stomach how to best put it to use. This is what happened. Oh man, was sooo good. How'd I make it? Well...

20211109_172217.jpg

First you gotta cook the rice. I believe traditional methods of fried rice use cold precooked rice, but I'm not traditional. I do me. While the rice was cooking, I fetched some things to add to it.

Fried rice really is just another form of shepherd's pie, because you can add pretty much anything to it. I opted for some other leftovers - carrots and celery - from an old veggie tray. Tomatoes I put in a different container and have some cucumber I'll make some kind of a salad out of in a few days.

20211109_172603.jpg

I chopped up the celery and carrots and fetched an onion. Didn't need much of that, only half that I divided between my mushrooms and the rest of the veggies. You'll notice I like butter. I'm not a huge fan of oils like you're supposed to use, as done correctly, you can smoke the butter while actually working a sauté with the veggies instead of frying them.

20211109_173211.jpg

I proceeded to mince the onion and chop up some mushrooms and threw them in their respective frying pans. Then comes the chicken. It was a slight salted grill I made Sunday. I guess I could have shredded it, but I like chopping things up so went with continuing to wield the bigass chef's knife.

20211109_174621.jpg

During that time, the rice got done. I stopped being Michael Myers for a minute and added a few spices while I transitioned the rice to a larger wok. To the veggies, was some parsley, sage and ginger. To the mushrooms and onions, a little parsley and some salt. Then it was time to finish the main additive for the rice and start actually 'frying' it.

20211109_174959.jpg

One thing you may have noticed, is I prefer wooden spoons. Something about the wood, maybe it's because I can leave them in a pan and they won't melt, lay them across the top and they'll not get too hot to use or maybe because they are less abrasive to my pots, pans and ingredients.

Anyways, it was almost ready to mix and start stirring and I almost forgot to add more butter. Then, I almost forgot to add more butter. Then, I totally had to add some more butter. Maybe I just like the word. It does have a nice ass. Ha!

20211109_175417~2.jpg

Once the rice starts changing to a darker shade, you know it's almost done. But man, that was delicious! What do you do with leftover chicken? I'll slap 4 HBI on some good recipes in the comments. While you're trying to think of how this tastes, REMEMBER TO BE YOU! I always am, even when my inner warlock gets hungry.

image.pngimage.pngyoutubesub.pngimage.pngteleg.pngtumblr.png


thealliance new pagebreak 2.png

because I can
So Can WE
Vote Witty

Is Voting #WITNESSES difficult?
Let me do it for you!
Set Witty as your --->PROXY VOTER!<---

enginewitty hive witness.png

Sort:  

That looks awesome! Yup, with cold precooked rice, the fried rice won't be too sticky.
!beer

True true sweets, it came out pretty fluffy though!

That looks like a hearty meal and repurposing extra protein is legit! Colourful and zesty enough to taste it through the blockchain.

I made an alfredo sauce from scratch tonight but not worthy of a post like this!

beerologistapproved.png

Look at you go in the kitchen, whipping up a Master Chef meal from your Chopped basket!👨‍🍳

Noticed there was one burner not being used. What's that about?! Just kidding! @enginewitty

I'd devour a bowl of your delicious Chicken Fried Rice - Witty Style!🍜

HA! That's Guess I could've used it to scramble some eggs and throw em in there or something 😁

This is an entirely different method of cooking rice I have ever seen. Wow

Pretty yummy too😉

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Rice and chicken. Beautiful couple! :)

Indeed they are! Many combos.

What a wonderful looking and tasty meal that is! You got me drooling now! 🤤

Ya know, I almost made some chicken and rice soup, but the veggie kept saying 'fry me'. 😁

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Esto me abrió el apetito, definitivamente se ve delicioso. Yo disfruté de pollo ayer, pero lo acompañé con arvejas guisadas... toda una delicia, pero no tengo fotos, solo recuerdos jajajaja.