Colourful and healthy raw salad

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I love making salads because I can use any combination of vegetables and fruits I can think of. Yes, I have made chicken and tuna salads, but I usually pack them with vegetables. To me, making salads is a great way to feed the imagination. It's all about being creative.

Today, close to lunchtime, my mother asked me to get a cucumber out of the fridge, probably to make a simple two-ingredient salad. But then I saw a turnip and thought I would look for a carrot, and then I grabbed a beetroot. "But there are also red onions and some red cabbage. And I could use some coriander," I thought. I shredded all the roots and the cucumber and finely chopped the onion and coriander. And just as I was about to finish preparing the salad, I thought... Well, I'll tell you about it in a bit.


The recipe

The ingredients of my original idea:

  • Cucumber, one large
  • Turnip, one regular-sized
  • Carrot, one regular-sized
  • Beetroot, one regular-sized, peeled
  • Red onion, a wedge
  • Red cabbage, a chunk the same size as the turnip
  • Coriander, a couple of sprigs
  • Vinegar (cider or white wine, I used white wine)
  • Olive oil

The finishing ingredients I had not thought of until the very last minute:

  • Ginger root, a little piece (about 1 centimeter)
  • Mustard seeds, about a quarter teaspoon, coarsely ground

What I did

  • First, I shredded the cucumber with the coarse side of the grater. I let it sit in a strainer over a bowl, squeezing to get the juice out.

  • Second, I grated, separately, the carrot, the beetroot, and the turnip and let them all sit in strainers on bowls as I did with the cucumber. For these roots, I used the fine grater. I expressed the juices every time.

  • Third, I finely chopped the onion and the coriander.

IMG_20210407_143302_1-01.jpeg
Here you can see some of the ingredients in their respective strainers and some in the salad bowl

  • When I was ready to serve the food, I mixed all of the vegetables in a bowl and added two and a half tablespoons of vinegar, three tablespoons of olive oil, and salt to taste.

  • And then I heard a little voice in my head saying "there is fresh ginger in the fridge." Ginger goes great with beets and carrots, so it seemed a natural choice. The same goes for the mustard seeds and turnip. That is how the ingredients I had not thought of came into play.

IMG_20210407_150636_1-01.jpeg
Carrot, onion, coriander, and turnip

IMG_20210407_152500_1-01-01.jpeg

Ready to mix everything

IMG_20210407_154705_1-01-01.jpeg
The salad

IMG_20210407_155113_1-01.jpeg
This salad was part of a meal that included oil-less fried chicken and boiled cassava


Are you wondering what I did with all the juices drained? Well, I drank them, of course.



I took all of the photographs with my Redmi Note 8 and edited them with Snapseed.

Sort:  

I like that you added mustard seeds in your salad, I often do the same

They are great on salads. And coriander seeds are great in salads too. Have you tried them?

Never tried, I think this would be a great suggestion as I like to try new stuff