Cheese Cake - Fake It Till You Make It Category

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

I'm back with another recipe. Yes, two days in a row now and today I'm going to show you a recipe I put together, meaning it's from my "Fake It Till You Make It" category. The last one was a Pizza Hut fake, which did not turn out so well. This recipe was a bit of a stress as there were many things I was worried about but let's take it step by step.

20220925_145101a.jpg

There's this sweet very popular not only in my country, but in Europe as well, maybe under different name. In Transylvania we call it Darázsfészek, which in English means wasp nest or vespiary. In Hungary they call it Csiga, which means snail, because it looks like the shell of the snail. In Romanian it's called Melc, which mean snail.

Kakaós_csiga_1.JPG
source

It should look like this, with any possible filling you like.

But as I always love to experiment (this is a nice word to say fake it) and try to create something new, I thought why not make a cake, since I have a cake pan.

As I had no recipe, I thought I can put together one. It is a risky business as you need to take into consideration quite a lot, but if you are not experimenting, you're never going to discover anything new.

For the dough I thought it would be good to look for a recipe, so I took the first one from the search result.

20220925_112941a.jpg

Ingredients:

For the dough:

  • 500g all purpose flour,
  • 1 pack vanilla sugar,
  • 1 egg,
  • 1 pack dry yeast (7g),
  • 2 tbs sugar,
  • 300ml lukewarm milk,
  • 50g butter
  • pinch of salt.
    source

Ingredients for the fulling:

  • 500g cheese,
  • 200g raisins,
  • 2 egg whites,
  • 150g sugar.

Method

To make the dough, put the flour in a mixing bowl, add salt, vanilla sugar, dry yeast, 1 beaten egg, 2 tsp sugar, 50g butter and then knead the dough adding gradually 300m lukewarm milk. Knead till the dough is non sticky and soft.

20220925_114836a.jpg

Cover and let rest one hour, till it doubles in size, in a warm place.

20220925_130159a.jpg

This is my dough after one hour rest.

20220925_130236a.jpg

20220925_130411a.jpg

Flour the working surface, knead the dough a little, to eliminate the air bubbles, then divide the dough into two equal part. obviously mine is not equal as I'm not good at that, but here this counts less and soon you'll see why.

20220925_130813a.jpg

And this is where the real challenge began for me. I needed to decide how thick to be the roll and how big the pieces, in order to fill the cake pan. I'm not a visionary and it was the first time I did this. I was thinking to make a rectangle, rather long than large, so this what the dough looked like after rolling it out. The other one was smaller, because I did not divide the dough properly, but that doesn't matter anyway.

The filling was another stress factor as that one was put together by me entirely, but let's start with the cheese.

I'm having difficulty defining the cheese as some of you may not know what kind of cheese I'm talking about. We have a cheese called Tehéntúró In Hungarian, Branza de vaci in Romanian, which means cow cheese. It's fresh cheese, something similar to the Italian ricotta.

I thought 500g would be perfect for the recipe, but this was pure gambling, lucky guess I believe. Next I thought 200g raisins would do.

20220925_111351a.jpg

These raisins are dry, so you will need a good liquid to soak them in for an hour or two. The best is a good quality rum, so I used this James Cook genuine overseas dark rum.

20220925_112935a.jpg

Make sure to mix the raisins, steer them to absorb the rum, after which drain them as there's no need for liquid in the filling.

20220925_131014a.jpg

Mix the cheese with sugar, egg whites and spread on the dough.

20220925_131111a.jpg

20220925_131137a.jpg

Sprinkle with raisins and roll it up.

20220925_131307a.jpg

At this point I thought I need to brush the roll with either melted butter, or olive oil, in order fr the pieces to not stick together. Olive oil was a quicker method, so without exaggerating, I brushed the roll quickly.

20220925_131417a.jpg

After some thinking, I took a deep breath and cut the roll in 4cm pieces, which is 2inches. I see my working mat is helping me here as the width of the pieces is measurable.

20220925_131422a.jpg

20220925_132441a.jpg

This was the moment of truth. After lining the cake pan with baking paper, I tried to place the pieces in it in a way to form a real cake after it's done.

20220925_132455a.jpg

20220925_144404a.jpg

Baking time I also had to figure it out, but in the end it was 50min at 150C.

20220925_144410a.jpg

20220925_145054a.jpg

20220925_145350a.jpg

And this is why I needed to brush the rolls with olive oil, to be able to separate them after baking. I know this trick from another recipe, which is also very good.

20220925_144940a.jpg

All in all I'm satisfied with the outcome, fake it till you make it this time ended in making it. The only thing I would change is the amount of sugar in the filling. I would reduce that to 100g as raisins are sweet as well.

Soooo, cheese cake anyone? 😂

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

Wow! I´m getting more and more impressed by your cooking (baking) skills with every new food post of yours :) Looks fantastic.

😍 Thank you! I'm not an expert but I know a thing or two and like to experiment 😏

This looks really good! But I hate raisins, so I'd have to adapt this recipe. And I may just do that because I like those swirls in a form. I do that for a similar cake but with almond, butter or marzipan filling - yum!

You can use nuts, almonds or any dry fruit you like, or just not use any.

Hmm, how about dark cherries or blueberries - I do like cheesecake with those. Might even color the cheese a little - so many possibilities...

Yes, those might color the cheese. It's a good idea, just make sure not to be very wet as it's going to make the cheese more liquid. Otherwise it's a good idea.

Aren't these snails looking like cinnamon rolls? I had a different image of cheese cake in mind. Never tried something like this. I usually make a No-Bake-CheeseCake and it turns out extremely delicious plus it is so easy to make. By the way, yours look good too and it's weird but I can almost smell the delicious picture. 🤣

I love to try new recipes so I think following yours would be a treat. 😀

Cheese cakes are of a million types, so ... yeah, I bet you had another image in your mind 😃

By the way, yours look good too and it's weird but I can almost smell the delicious picture.

The human mind is marvelous. You read the ingredients, see the photo and your mind creates a smell you can almost feel. Isn't that fantastic?

Yummm, this is my kind of treat - light & flaky dough, rum-soaked raisins, cream cheese, all sounds like a recipe for success. Very inventive cheesecake!
No guessing who's going to try and make this :)

Yummm, this is my kind of treat - light & flaky dough, rum-soaked raisins, cream cheese, all sounds like a recipe for success.

Maybe we were sisters in another life? 😁 I like it too and prefer this type any day, rather that full of cream and soaked in syrup.

I hope you're going to like it and please tag me if you decide to make a post. By the way, do you have some kind of cheese or ricotta over there to make it?

How delicious this cheesecake looks, I loved it. Thank you very much for sharing this amazing recipe.

My pleasure, I'm glad you like it :)

I always find myself anywhere I see food😂😂😂and all that happens because I love food😂. That’s looks yummy by the way😋.

As long as you don't overeat, it's fine 😂
I wish I could send you some to taste it :)

This looks yummy.. Have tried making cinnamon with raisins bread similar to the photo but not with cheese..gonna consider this next time..

I used to make cinnamon rolls and raisins separately, so the combination available, when it comes to filling, is endless.

Ohh so yummy! It looks like a croissant but I love this. Your version is cheesy. I bet I couldn't get enough of it.

The dough is a bit different from the croissant as the croissant dough has to be leafy, but yeah, it resembles.

As what you said recreate. Fake it. Hehe

Exactly :)

Yummy! It's so mouthwatering, really delicious looking.😋😁

This food looks so delicious. Nice cooking method.

Thank you!

Goodness gosh!!! That looks soooo goood and its 1am here.... T.T You killin me Erikah..... hungry. :)

😂😂😂 You should be sleeping at that hour, nt looking at posts as there are traps like this 😂

I wish i could send you some 😇

By the way, can you meet me on Discord?
erikah#8879
I would need your help.

yummy, how does cheese look wow @erikah _

It was yummy indeed, till it was all gone :)

This looks really delicious!!!!.... Excellent recipe publication, very high quality!!!!.... Thank you very much for sharing!....

It's made me hungry to see some of these wonderful photos, holy heavens!!!! :))

!PIZZA

Lol, thank you for the nice words. Looks like you're not the only hungry here. 😃

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jlinaresp(5/5) tipped @erikah (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 56000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 58000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Wow they look delicious, the taste should be too good :) @tipu curate

Thanks for showing the steps which will help me if I try to make this.

I hope you're going to try it out one day :)

I'm also hoping that thanks.

Delicious

It is indeed.

The final outcome looks so tasty! I like bread so much but I haven't tried making one at home. This one has all the flavors that I like in a cinnamon roll! OMG! <3
If only I have a big space here in my house to make bread, I will really try to make one.. For now, I'll just enjoy your recipe!

I can feel your pain as I love baking too and there's nothing better than a homemade bread or something sweet. I hope you can have your dream come true soon 😘

I really hope so!

Dear @erikah,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

It's done! Thanks for bringing this to my attention as life can get busy sometimes :)

Thank you for your support @erikah, really appreciate it! ❤️

wooooww I see you are very good at making this delicious cake I am very happy to see the cake you make and I seem to want to eat the cake you make. thanks for the information mate🥞👍

I would not say I'm very good, but I try to do my best.

Finally, u made it. Wish I could have a taste😋🤤. This looks really good😍

I wish I could send some to those who commented here, but that's not possible yet :)

🥹😩😩😩😩 alright dear

Thank you for sharing this! It very looks so yummy and tasty! I want to try some :)

My pleasure. Save the recipe and recreate it as it's not so difficult :)

Externally the cake looks like a small rose class must be very tasty

You are right about the rose. I have a bread recipe that looks similar and the outcome looks like a rose.

It actually came out real good! Gz for making it this time!