Pork Medallions With Scallop Potatoes

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

I hope you haven't had lunch yet as I'm here with a really good and healthy offer 😀 Today I'd like to share a recipe that I'm using very often. It's my famous pork medallions with scallop potatoes, served with fresh, homegrown tomato salad.

This is all oven made as I'm trying to avoid frying for health reasons.

20220814_142737a.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1kg potatoes,
  • 8 slices of pork,
  • spices,
  • 5 tbs olive oil,
  • 2 cloves garlic,
  • water.

A homemade dish is what you do starting from scratch. Although there are spice mixes available in every grocery store, I'd like to put together mine.

20220814_081413a.jpg

This way I can always create a different flavor. Today I decided to use this gyros seasoning as on of the ingredients as there was only a little at the bottle of the box.

20220814_081846a.jpg

Spices

  • salt,
  • pepper,
  • grounded red paprika,
  • black pepper,
  • turmeric,
  • gyros seasoning,
  • dried and grounded vegetables with salt.

These are random spices, you can use whatever you like and as many you like. I like my meat a bit lighter, so this is the maximum I am willing to do. Usually I choose less but today for some unknown reason I decided to use six.

Spices.jpg

After mixing the spices together, I added the olive oil and mixed them well.

20220814_083253a.jpg

Then rolled the meat in the sauce and added the crushed garlic, mixed well, then put it in the fridge for a few hours. If you have time, you can leave it in the fridge for a whole night.

20220814_114524a.jpg

Then I lined the baking tray with foil, to prevent sticking and make cleaning easier after and prepared the potatoes.

20220814_114809a.jpg

Because the meat was already spicy enough, I thought it's best to use only salt for the potatoes.

20220814_115525a.jpg

So first I spread some salt at the bottom of the baking tray, then I put in one layer of sliced potatoes, salted it, then another layer.

20220814_115911a.jpg

Then I placed the meat on top of the potatoes and poured the mix, what was left, on top of it. Because it's pork, I added 4 dl water on top of it.

20220814_121439a.jpg

My baking tray has a top, but it does not close it enough, to keep the steam inside, so I had to use a trick and cover it with foil, then put on the top of the baking tray.

20220814_121613a.jpg

And it was ready to go into the oven.

I cooked it for 2 hours at 220C. Then I took off the top and the foil and cooked for another 15 minutes, for the excess water to evaporate and for the meat to be golden brown.

20220814_135254a.jpg

And this is how it looked when I took it out of the oven.

20220814_142742a.jpg

These tomatoes are from the garden and it feels good to know. Also taste good.

The reason I like this dish is because it's easy to make and it's healthy.

20220814_142747a.jpg


presearch

Sort:  

I hope you haven't had lunch yet

I have had it... But, dinner is also an option to be considered ;))

Lol, you're a smart woman 😂

😂 all for the belly and some tasty bites 😁

Always, always my dear friend 😂 ❤️

pork is not easy to cook, it takes time so that the meat is soft and not chewy when bitten, it seems that the time you give to roast the pork is just right (2 hours with a temperature of 220c)

I know it's not easy but once you get the hang of it, it becomes routine. I like chicken more but sometimes it's ok to change the menu.

you are right, routines make everything in control, cooking pork has its own challenges and not everyone can cook it easily, so I really feel that your grilling results are amazingly delicious.

Looks delicious. I love pork. It looks easy to make. I'm going to write the recipe down and will try it one time if you don't mind. 🙂

Of course I don't mind, I'm happy you like it. Bon appetite 🙂

Oh yeah. Have a wonderful evening 🙂

Thank you, you too :)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

this seems easy to make.

Yummy. It looks tasty :D

It is tasty indeed :)

Looks really delicious,I'd love to try it sometime

Unfortunately all is gone now :)

Hahaha 😄,I'll just try it out at home

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Sometimes making our own flavour with our own ingredients taste better than what we can buy in the supermarket. I also love mixing my own spices as I can decide what flavor I want to taste after cooking.

Anyway I love your recipe and the outcome looks perfect and delicious.

Thank you very much, I hope you're going to try it out one day :)

I’m not sure if I’m allowed to say this( we aren’t allowed to eat pork) but this looks tasty🙃

Relax, your secret is safe with me 🤐 😂

It better be, I’m putting classified information on the line here.😌😂

No one can see it, so just chill 😂