Turkey On Potato Bed Al Forno With Fresh Vegetable Salad

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

Sunday usually is the day when people have time to cook, or others go to the restaurant to have lunch. I' not much a restaurant goer, as I like to know what I'm eating, so I cook for myself and my family and eat only out occasionally.

IMG_20200712_130317a.jpg

Chicken is my favorite but I like the other type of meats too. We got some turkey from the neighbor who has a few and today was the day to have turkey for lunch. I'd like to share the recipe as it's a healthy one.

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 turkey legs,
  • 3 medium onions,
  • 4 - 5 potatoes,
  • salt,
  • pepper,
  • garlic,
  • extra virgin olive oil,
  • other spices.

Marinating

Cut out the bone, slice the meat if it's needed. Add salt, pepper and any other spice you like. You can use marjoram, basil, even sage if you like. The other option is to use a mix you buy from the store but I prefer my own. Marinate the meat an store in the fridge between 1 and 12 hours, or a day, as you like.

Method

Add a one tablespoon of olive oil to the baking sheet, add the sliced onions, sliced potatoes. Add salt, then the meat. Pour the oil that's left from marination, add the sliced garlic, a little water and cover with a lid.

Cook till the meat is tender. Take off the lid and cook for another 10 - 15 minutes till the meat turns golden brown.

Suggestions

You can use almost any type of meat, doesn't have to be turkey. The only thing that changes is the cooking time as each meat time has its own cooking time. You can add other vegetables to the mix, like carrots, green beans.


IMG_20200712_130652a.jpg

Fresh Vegetable Salad

This is the easiest and healthiest salad in the world. Basically you can use any type of vegetables. Tomato, cucumber, bell pepper, onion, cabbage, lettuce, olive, capers, arugula etc,

Put the chopped ingredients in a bowl and make the juice. This can be of many types, I'm giving you two recipes.

Vinegar salad juice

  • water,
  • salt,
  • sugar,
  • pepper (optional).

Add this juice to the salad and keep in fridge for 30 minutes before serving.

Oil salad juice

  • salt
  • pepper (optional),
  • vinegar,
  • extra virgin olive oil.

Add salt, pepper (optional), to the vegetables, vinegar if you like and extra virgin olive oil. Mix and keep in fridge for 30 minutes before serving.


This is a healthy lunch/dinner that can be ready in an hour.

Enjoy 😀

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Many thanks @steemflow and @indiaunited.

You are welcome. 🙂

It looks great. Turkey legs are hard to find where I am. We can buy the whole bird once a year during winter season. I like the vinegar and olive oil salad better

That's why I like to make suggestions, give people alternatives. It's not fun when you can't buy your favorites all the time but I guess that's the price one has to pay when living abroad. I bet you have many other meat types that you can't find at home 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 14 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Shared on Twitter