A modified Quich Lorraine - easy step by step recipe.

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)

I don't normally post recipes, though I do cook almost every day and I absolutely love baking! Taking photos is usually the last thing I think of when I am in my cooking trance with dirty hands, steam (not steem) and knifes around. So why now?
Well... Jealousy made me do it!

I keep seeing all the delicious stuff and lovely photos. And this is one thing I would love to be able to do to. A nice food photography. And no, this post is not on that level and not even close! Most photos were taken with a phone (read above why I don't normally take photos; phone is faster and cheaper in case I cook it by accident).

I decided to make quiche today for dinner and for once I remembered to take photos of the steps! Quiche Lorraine is basically just bacon swimming in that white base. But just bacon is boring so I added some more stuff and made it my way. Because cooking is fun! And you can change it and adjust to your liking. Treat this recipe like that too. No need to fully stick to it.

Bacon Quiche 13.jpg

Bacon and Leeks Quiche


Ingredients:
200 g of smoked bacon strips
1 small onion
1 leek
some spinach or peas

200 ml of cream (I used 20%)
200 ml of milk
4 eggs
salt, black pepper, smoked paprika, turmeric and oregano.

1 sheet of pastry

Method:
First things first - set your oven to 180 degrees C.

  • Now you need to prepare the bacon feeling. So toss all the bacon to a pan. Add diced onion and fry a little bit on medium high heat, until both start to get this lovely golden-brown colour.

Bacon Quiche 2.jpg

  • Cut half one leek and then slice it. Add to bacon and onion, lower the heat and slowly fly until they soften.

At this point I wanted to add some peas too, for extra colour and daily veggie intake, but I saw a small bag of baby spinach I froze a while ago, so I decided to use that instead. You can skip that part if you are on anti-veggie diet.

Bacon Quiche 3.jpg

Bacon Quiche 5.jpg

  • There... spinach in!

Bacon Quiche 6.jpg

  • After another few minutes it all looks like this and is ready. Turn the heat off and let it cool while you prepare the rest.

Bacon Quiche 4.jpg

  • Take a pie form or any shallow form you have. Square one will do too. Who said quiche has to be round? Grease it with some butter (margarine is evil, do not use margarine. Ever!) and put the pastry in. Poke it with a fork if you want. Dunno if that does something, but looks professional :)
    You can cut the excess pastry from the edges if you like, but they come out so good after baking that I always leave it. The more the better!

Of course making your own pastry would make you super awesome. I am just half-awesome, so I use ready one :) Works just fine and saves a lot of time.
Set it aside and let it wait.

Bacon Quiche 1.jpg

  • In a bowl mix the wet stuff: Eggs, cream and milk. Now very important: try the bacon mixture how salty it is. Just try! Don't eat the whole thing!
    I didn't season mine, since I know the bacon I buy is salty already. So if it is very salty, skip the extra salt. Otherwise add some according to your saltiness level.
    Add the rest of spices and herbs. Feel free to add the ones you like, also some fresh ones. I just didn't have any.
    Mix all well and add the bacon mix, or whatever is left of it. It is still gonna be warm - that's ok.

Bacon Quiche 8.jpg

  • Pour everything on the pastry and stick it in the oven. Make sure you don't kick your cat on the way and spill the whole thing all over the floor. You will be pissed and cat will be pissed when you have to shower it. Trust me.
    It probably would be a good idea to blind bake it before, but I am lazy and never do it. Quiche is edible like that too.

Bacon Quiche 9.jpg

Bake for about 25 min, or until you see the edges go brown and the sides of the filling raise a bit. If you are not sure open the oven and gently wiggle the tray. If the center is not runny - it is ready!

Bacon Quiche 14.jpg

Take it out and set it aside for 10 min to rest. It will set more and will be easier to slice. Serve warm with extra salad, or not if you are still on anti-veggie diet. This recipe will feed 4 people.
Or 3 more hungry ones.
Or 2 really starving orcs.

It is a good idea to leave some to cool completely and store in the fridge till next day (not a midnight snack!). It is really good cold and will be even more firm.

Bacon Quiche 10.jpg

Bacon Quiche 11.jpg

Bacon Quiche 15.jpg

Bacon Quiche 12.jpg

Enjoy! :)

»«
Shot with Sony a7 + Takumar 1.4 50mm lens
Step by step images shot with OnePlus 2 smartphone
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

By the looks it sure is delicious. Bon appetite.

Thank you :) It was good!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 6 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Yayyyyyy! It's done!! 😜
Good one, love the shots! Where's Suzi? Hope you didnt kick her otw to oven... 🙈😾

Suzi is resting! Assisting is so exhausting.

I waaaaant! Gimme! Gimmeeeeee!

Come come... still some left :)

intresting post. I second that by the looks it must be delicious. have to ask my wife to look at it more carefully :=)

and, same thing here what you say about cooking & taking pics. those things just mix badly, like oil and water. we take pics very rarely, with exceptions for the bakery and easter stuff... which we happen pretty proud of.

thanks for teasing.... Bon Appetite!

Ask her to make it, not just look.
Baking is bad for pics too. I have flour everywhere and dirty hands too.

Thanks! It was good :)

flour everywhere and dirty hands

Camera without dust and moisture ofc is more important priority, totally agree with you here. thats why (more or less) the pictures of cakes that are going to the owen, or getting out of it, are the ones that prevail in my archive :D

I will try to persuade it. but that is she to decide. not me. heh. :/

acha!
czyli to do takich, ładnych rzeczy prowadzi Zazdrość! 😛

to ja poproszę! 😍

wygrzebię tylko widelcem to czerwone, a resztę - to ja chętnie! 🤤
(o ile jeszcze coś zostało :D)

No a jak! Jak sie ktoś zaweźmie to wszystko może.

Papryke w proszku bedzisz wybierac? :D
Dwa tygodnie temu robiłam taka na samych warzywach z cukinią, pieczarkami i szpinakiem. Pycha była!

its makes me hungry, bacon here usually use as toppings, thank you for your recipe.

I normally use it as a part of the dish. It is really look like that!

I would want so much to try this out but we don't have an oven. Yet. That'll be my next appliance purchase after the lockdown and after I sort out the finances as a result of non-work for more than 2 months. This looks really really good.

Yea... oven is needed for that one. Hope you don't forget it when you get one. It's really nice.

Definitely won't forget it!

Yummy! I just saw this and I am going to add the extra things to mine! Why didn't I think of that! Hi, Ewa!

!tip

Yay! I always change recipes and this came our really nice :)
You can add peas too if you like.

🎁 Hi @ewkaw! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Trees For Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.