Getting it right

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

I got them right!

I am delighted after the last epic fail.

This is an easy, budget beating and tasty Sunday supper of fish cakes.

Very simple: 1 tin of of pilchards in tomato sauce, three potatoes (I used leftover mash + 1), an onion, a cup of rolled oats, blitzed, and some fennel leaves.

I took advice from @lizelle and separated the sauce from the pilchards and set it aside.

In a bowl, I combined a quarter of the onion finely chopped with finely chopped fennel and about a third of the oats. Then I made 4 cakes. (With hindsight, I should have done 6). I rolled those in the remaining oats and popped them all in the fridge for a few hours.

Because I'm not good at chucking food away, I jollied up the sauce by slightly caramelizing the rest of the onion, also finely chopped, adding the sauce, more finely chopped fennel and some tomato sauce (ketchup) to add a little acid and counter the saltiness.

Next time, especially if I want to serve these cold with a salad, I will add an egg so that they bind a little better.

Last night, I served them with roasted cauliflower.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

    Silver Bloggers footer banner 300 x 150.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

It's deliciously looking, it makes me crave.😋

Clever lady not throwing away that sauce, I will remember it next time! I actually add a little flour and an egg to mine and that binds them nicely. Yours must have been really delicious with that sauce!
Have a wonderful Monday and week Fiona:)

I'm thinking that for summer, I might jolly them up with some chilli and dhanya to serve cold with salad. Would make an easy Friday supper after a long kitchen day. I did think of both the flour and the egg but decided to see what it would be like with just the oats. Have a good week your side, too!

That looks scrumptious! 😍