Sort:  

Thanks Fiona, I often end up dawdling so stir fries have rescued me more than once;)
Sounds like our Covid curve is finally flattening, we were hearing of so many acquaintances and friends getting the virus and some sadly succumbing to it. But it's here to stay so we need to arm ourselves and boost that immune system! Ivermectin has been proven to kill the virus but our government still won't legalize it for human use; I know many in the farming community are using it however as a prophylaxis and it's working! The big pharmas will not make as much with this as they will with the vaccine but it's something to consider until the vaccine becomes available in my opinion.

I do hope that the curve is flattening - the wine industry and associated industries are being killed. Just this morning we heard that a longtime visitor who had a property in the village had succumbed and his wife has been in ICU for more than 3 weeks.

Perhaps I know too much about science and clinical trials: I am happy to wait for replicated and verified results based on at least a small trial with a control before going down that road. That said, if there is no other choice, and it's a last resort, the decision needs to be the patient's or the family's.

I also have to say, now that I've heard a little about the two types of vaccines, I want to know which ones, and why, they're bringing in to South Africa. Again, and based on my understanding of viruses and vaccines (based on some work I did in the HIV field), I think one has the potential to be more effective on the new variant than the other. There are too many bloody questions with this thing.

Anyhow, rant over for the moment. Hope you are having a safe (dry) Sunday.

That is so sad Fiona! My nephew also said there's so much that they don't know about this virus, but he's in favour of that med but of course prohibited from using it. He reckons in their hospital no one has survived once they've gone on the ventilator! Really a horrific virus!
We've been taking a hectic cocktail of supplements my older son recommended and orders online for us, Quercetin being one, it's been studied as a Covid prophylaxis and shown good results. But like he says, the best still is to stay away from other people. How much longer do we have to live like this though?!
Anyway, we're expecting a tropical storm but so far it's just a tad windy, thankfully much cooler though!
My heart goes out to our beautiful once thriving wine industry!
Stay safe Fiona.