In The Kitchen With Kat-Caramel Peanut Candy Bar Pie

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

IMG_6765.jpg

paw divider transparent.png

So here's a funny thing, around these parts I am known as the cake lady. I love making cakes, but ironically most of my family has an affinity for pies.

Amusing existential situation aside, I love to make my people what they like most on their birthdays, so a few years ago the caramel peanut candy bar pie was born. And yes, the star ingredient is that one name brand candy bar that rhymes with pickers and I am not going to say its name because reasons.

Anyway, the hubs birthday was this past week, and every year he requests this pie. Honestly, I am glad he only requests it once a year, because my friends, this is definitely not a healthy item at all. I'm pretty sure my pancreas is screaming a lament as I type this.

But oh is it so good and delicious. Not only that, it's pretty easy to whip up too, which is a nice thing considering it's the hot August days of summer right now.

That brings me to another added awesomeness regarding this pie, it's no bake cheesecake like, so it's chilled before it is eaten, and let me just say, a slice of this pie is wonderful on a warm summer evening.

But enough cheerleading, it's pie composition time.

IMG_6728.jpg

To start with, I always get out my deep dish pie plate and whip up my graham cracker crust for a crowd in said pie plate. This takes about twenty minutes or so.

IMG_6729.jpg

While the crust is cooling, I chop up caramel peanut candy bars. A few years ago I learned that it's a lot less expensive to just buy a bag of fun sized candy bars and chop them up rather than buying standard or giant sized ones.

IMG_6731.jpg

The previous evening before pie composition, I make sure that a tub of whipped topping and a block of cream cheese are placed on the counter so they will be completely room temperature when I am ready to pie build.

IMG_6732.jpg

Into my mixing bowl I add the softened cream cheese, powdered sugar, and some peanut butter. And not the healthy, good for you peanut butter, nope, the creamy, sugar-added kind goes into the bowl.

IMG_6733.jpg


IMG_6739.jpg


IMG_6740.jpg


I then beat that mixture until smooth, and then fold in the whipped topping. Finally I add in the chopped candy bars, and yes, I always reserve some extra candy bars to chop up for the top of the pie and for the assortment of seagulls, I mean humans, that are always lurking about when I chop candy bars. It's like those bars emit a pheromone that draws them in or something...

IMG_6730.jpg


IMG_6734.jpg

Before putting the pie into the crust, I always put a layer of salted caramel ice cream topping on the bottom of the crust. Because I like it that way. If I wasn't being lazy I would have made the caramel, but as nothing about this pie is health conscious, I was lazy and used some premade kind.

IMG_6736.jpg

After putting the caramel on the cooled crust, I added the filling and popped the pie into the fridge for an overnight chill. You need a minimum of 4-6 hours of chill time on this pie, but I always just make it the day before we eat it.

IMG_6741.jpg

Finally, right before serving, I chop up some reserved candy bars and roasted salted peanuts. I not very artfully scatter them across the pie and then using a fork, drizzle more salted caramel over that.

IMG_6760.jpg


IMG_6761.jpg


IMG_6762.jpg

I am not going to lie, this pie is so good. It's rich, decadent, and not at all healthy, but as a celebratory experience I can't say anything negative about it. We all look forward to eating it once a year!

IMG_6764.jpg

paw divider transparent.png

Caramel Peanut Candy Bar Pie

8 ounces cream cheese (softened to room temp)
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
10 fun sized caramel peanut candy bars (or 3 regular size)
8 ounce tub of whipped topping (thawed)
1 deep dish (or two regular pie size)graham cracker pie crust
1/4 cup of salted caramel ice cream topping

Chop the candy bars into bite size pieces, set aside.

Place cream cheese, powdered sugar, and peanut butter in a mixing bowl and beat until well combined.

Fold in the whipped topping, then fold in the chopped candy bar pieces.

Spread salted caramel topping in the bottom of the graham cracker crust. Next, spread the filling on top of the caramel. Chill the pie a minimum of 4-6 hours, I chill mine overnight in the fridge.

The Topping

salted caramel ice cream topping
1/4 cup chopped salted peanuts
2-4 fun sized caramel peanut candy bars chopped into bite size pieces

Right before serving, remove pie from fridge and sprinkle chopped candy bar pieces and peanuts over the top of it. Then using a fork, drizzle the whole top of the pie with salted caramel topping.

Cut into pieces, serve, and most of all, enjoy!


paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's never ate a pickers which explains a lot of things iPhone.

Sort:  

bradley approve 3.gif

!BBH

!ALIVE

!CTP

This post will be #threaded

P.S. Came here from ListNerds

Ooh! Threadage! lol! Thanks good sir!

!CTP

!PIZZA

@generikat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (12/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

That looks simply awesome. A nice filling but cool dessert perfect for summertime.
It contains many of my favorites, lol.
It is probably good that you only make it once a year, 😀
!CTP

Oh it would cause so much metabolic havoc if I made it as much as I wanted to lol!

Thanks @beststart 😊

!CTP

!PIZZA

Omg! I see what you mean when you say your pancreas is screaming...this is one sweet pie! I see caramel peanut candy bars and nuts and my eyes go 😍😍😂

This is mouthwatering. I hope your hubs had a wonderful birthday.
!CTP !LUV

Thanks so much @kemmyb! The hubs had a fantastic day and ate Two giant pieces of that pie lol!

And I feel much the same way about chocolate, caramel, and peanuts lol!

!PIZZA

!CTP

I got a wet tooth. It looks sweet and tempting!
Once per year is fine.

!CTP

Oh yes, anymore than once a year and I'd be in all sorts of health trouble lol!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

!CTP

!PIZZA

This Caramel Peanut Candy Bar Pie looks good and delicious, I am not surprised that your hubs requested this to go with his birthdays, eating this makes for a joyful and memorable celebration.
!CTP

You know, you are so right about the memorable and joyful part, I think making the pie only for this special occasion makes it even more awesome😊

Hope you are having a fantastic day!

!CTP

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
generikat tipped growandbow (x1)
generikat tipped kemmyb (x1)
generikat tipped beststart (x1)
generikat tipped bradleyarrow (x1)
@generikat(5/15) tipped @gratitudemine (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I have a weakness for caramel!

I had fantasized with something like this, but I thought this could exist only in my imagination. This is too much 🤤🤭