In The Kitchen With Kat: Keto-friendly Sugar-Free Brownie Bites

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Brownie bites.png

A lot of my recent recipes have been more celebratory and/or not very specialty diet friendly. This is kinda funny because most of the time I eat a highly specialized diet, mainly because I like to try to keep my autoimmune disorder in check. Too much starch and sugar makes my thyroid gland rampage like Godzilla through a metropolitan area during rush hour.

Anyway, I tend to have at least one comment tete-a-tete with the delightful @dswigle during the week, who is a marvelous food craftress of the first order, and it is in her honor that I present to you these marvelous little low carb brownie bites of chocolate overload excellence.

The other day I was in Grocery Outlet and spied these:

IMG_4466.jpg

Finding Lily's chocolate on sale is awesome, finding Lily's baking bars on sale for $1.99 was just plain miraculous!

For those of you who have never tried it, Lily's chocolate is sugar-free and sweetened with erythritol (a naturally occurring sugar alcohol that doesn't cause a glycemic response) and stevia. It's creamy and yummy and I enjoy it on occasion.

Until the brownie bites experiment though, I had never used the baking chocolate that Lily's makes. Let's just say I am very pleased with the results and quality of the bars, they smell amazing, melt amazing, and taste divine!

IMG_4465.jpg

Hidden in the recesses of my baking sheet cupboard is a neglected mini cupcake pan that I bought many years ago for a homeschool project or party with the kids. To be honest I can't remember exactly what it was for, but I knew I wanted to make little brownie bites in the mini cupcake pan, so I got out said pan and sprayed it with non-stick cooking spray.

IMG_4467.jpg

Then I got out a medium sized stock pot and put some butter and the chopped up Lily's baking chocolate bar into it, melting them both together, slowly, on medium heat.

IMG_4470.jpg

After the chocolate and butter became well acquainted, I removed the pot from the heat and stirred in some vanilla extract, almond flour, homemade low carb baking blend, Swerve granulated brown sugar substitute, and a pinch of salt.

Note: If you don't have nor want to make the baking blend, you can use all almond flour. I am sure a blend of almond and coconut flour would work too.

IMG_4471.jpg

After a bit of good stirring, the batter should look all brownie batterish, grainy-like.

In a separate bowl, I whisked the eggs until fluffy and combined them with the brownie batter. The mixture was looking good.

IMG_4472.jpg

But as the whole project was in DS's honor, it had to be extra special, and lurking in my cupboard I had another Lily's product, chocolate salted caramel baking chips. I folded some of them into the batter and proceeded to fill the little cupcake tin. The recipe made enough to almost completely fill it which made me happy. And honestly, if you don't have a mini cupcake tin, you could just grease a 8X8 pan and bake up low carb brownie goodness, I am sure it would work fine!

IMG_4474.jpg

Anyway, after about 14 minutes I checked the little bites of chocolate ambrosia and determined they were indeed done. I let them cool for a bit and ate two of them. Yes, they are that good!

IMG_4476.jpg

I hope my dear Hive friend and all of you enjoy them as much as I did!


Keto-friendly Sugar-Free Brownie Bites

4 ounces Lily's baking chocolate
1/2 cup butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup almond flour
1/3 cup Baking blend (sub another 1/3 cup almond flour)
1/2 cup Swerve Brown Sugar substitute
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup Lily's chocolate salted caramel baking chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and grease a mini cupcake tin.

Place butter in a medium stock pot, chop chocolate bar, add to butter, and melt both over low to medium heat until well-combined.

Remove pot from heat and stir in vanilla, almond flour, baking blend, Swerve, and salt. It will be grainy looking.

Crack the eggs into a separate bowl and whisk until well-beaten. Stir the eggs into the brownie batter until well mixed.

Fill cupcake tin, I filled each hole about 3/4's of the way full. Bake in preheated oven for 14-15 minutes, do not overbake!

Cool completely and feast!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's always sugar-free iPhone. The cover image was edited in Canva.


Sort:  

Oh!!! You are so cool, Kat! Honestly, this is exactly what I needed! Chocolately melt in your mouth goodness? Dear woman. You are my hero.

These look fairly simple to accomplish and I am going to scout out some Lily's! Low carb and tastes good? I'm in! Did you feed them to the kids? Or better yet, did you feed it to that Hawaiin hottie of yours? He is the real thermometer of goodness, right? Does it work on low fat/low carb dealies?

I have actually never had stevia, I just go without. I didn't like the taste of aspartame or sucralose, actually, they write all sorts of garbage on both of them, but, I use monk fruit when it is reasonable. I am really excited to try this recipe!

Have I ever told you that you are the best? OMG. You are amazing. How do you do it? Love to you and thank you for thinking of me!

𝐿𝑜𝓋𝑒,
𝒟𝑒𝓃𝒾𝓈𝑒 ❤️

Hey there amazing Denise! I'm so glad you like them, I wanted to make something quick and easy yet super scrumptious, and I must say they turned out beyond okay!

That said they are most definitely not low fat, but are completely low carb. I didn't know that you liked monk fruit or I would have totally used that delightful sweetener, but I have noticed us low-carb, sugar-free types are very good at substituting our favorite sweeteners with ease:)

The Pineapple of Hawaiian Hotness is very good about testing my crafted comestibles, but to be honest, he can just skip dessert and lose weight, lucky man, so I make him and the heathens their own goodies. The kiddos are both athletes so they burn cals like crazy!

And I am with you on the aspartame and sucralose, the taste doesn't do it for me. Don't like stevia by itself either, it's good blended with erythritol and such but I am super choosy about the brands I use. What I need to do is get off my flintlocks and grow my own stevia.

And I do hope you try this recipe, because I have a feeling you will make it beyond incredible when you make it your own!

Love you too most excellent lady!😊

Looks yummy and I’m sure tastes sumptuous.

Thanks @typebox! They are pretty great, I keep nibbling on them everyday, probably going to have to make more lol!

Love your dessert
LOOKS YUMMY

Thanks @wendyth16:) I must confess I keep eating them, so I am thinking that must mean they are not completely horrid lol!

I have never tried Swerve Brown Sugar substitute, but I do use Splenda all the time. Works quite well and sure beat no sweetener!

Excellent! You could totally sub an equal amount of Splenda or slightly less in this recipe, I sub sweetener substitutes all the time based on what's lurking in my cupboard.

And I so agree, way better than no sweetener!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Chocolate salted caramel! Those wouldn't have made it to the baking stage. Yummy. What a delicious recipe. Ok. Anything with chocolate is delicious.