Breakfast Beckons: Food Memories #3

image.png


Welcome to another Food Memories series post! This one is quite dear to me because I'll be sharing with you some of the best breakfast meals I've had in the past, not just because of the food but mostly because of the company. I don't really enjoy breakfast as much as the other meals. I've always viewed breakfast as something you eat in a hurry.

That's why I cherish those breakfast meals I've had when I didn't have worry about time or think about the things to do for the rest of the day.


BREAKFAST DATE


image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


July 6, 2019

I invited my yet-to-be girlfriend to a breakfast date on this day. July 2019 was my last month at my previous workplace and that month was filled with so many activities. All of my weekends were booked with tutor sessions, morning runs, and yoga.

We went to Yolk - Coffee and Breakfast in Mabolo, Cebu City. It's one of those restaurants that I keep passing by and I've always wanted to go in. I finally had the chance and the reason.

I remember the food was amazing. They weren't the usual breakfast food. I think I had their deconstructed "Kare-Kare." Kare-kare is a Filipino food usually eaten for lunch or dinner but they made it into an appetizing breakfast bowl. My date ordered a rice bowl with pork, mayonnaise, and mushrooms. They tasted as good as they looked.


MORE BREAKFAST DATES


image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


July 21, 2019

Another breakfast date! Two weeks after our first breakfast date, we went to another one. On this day, we actually joined a fun run and did the 12-km category. I was so hyped this day because I've broken personal records. 12 km is the farthest distance I've run. I used to have severe pain in my legs every time I ran, but I was able to overcome it for this race.

After the run, we went to Birdseed Breakfast Club + Café in Escario, Cebu City. We were the first customers to arrive because it was still early. We ordered waffles, Eggs Benedict, and extra eggs. I had a latte and my date doesn't drink coffee, so got a cup of hot chocolate.

I think it was my first time to try Eggs Benedict. I thought it had a weird name. But it was good. Later I found out that it had this special sauce called Hollandaise Sauce. For me, it was just bacon and egg on top of a bread. That date was meaningful because we played "10 Questions" and we knew more about each other.


FIRST STAYCATION


image.png

image.png

image.png


November 16, 2019

We had our first staycation and that meant taking our time doing anything, including breakfast. I remember I was on a diet on this day and I didn't want to eat a lot. We decided to go for a very light breakfast. We made toast with bacon, eggs, and hotdogs. We had peanut butter on the side and I had my coffee while my girlfriend had her hot chocolate.

We decided to go on a staycation because we weren't ready to travel to places outside Cebu. We each had our own restrictions in our work and in our families.

Despite just staying at a building located at the middle of the city, it still felt like we traveled far and escaped the hustle and bustle of living in the metro. That's the definition of staycation.


LAST PRE-PANDEMIC GETAWAY


image.png

image.png

image.png


February 25, 2020

News about the strange virus in Wuhan had been spreading but I didn't really expect it to cause a pandemic. My friends and I even booked tickets for Singapore for September 2020.

On this day, we went to a village in the south of Cebu. One of my friends invited me to her Aunt's place where there was a pool at the village clubhouse. Little did I know it was going to be one of my last pre-pandemic getaways.

My other friends and I arrived early at the place. My friend's aunt had prepared a lot for us. They were very hospitable. I remember the "sikwate" or hot chocolate that they made for us. They served it using a beautiful tea set complete with the accessories including a ceramic cow jug for the milk. This day was memorable because we watched Midsommar in the afternoon after swimming in the pool. That movie was scary.


FIRST ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION


image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


November 9, 2020

My girlfriend and I spent the majority of the first year of our relationship in a Socially-Distanced Relationship (SDR). We didn't see each other physically for many months. Luckily, near the end of 2020, the cases were going down and restrictions were loosened. We were able to go on a staycation for our first year anniversary.

Among the food that we cooked and prepared during our staycation, the sandwich that we made for breakfast really stands out. It was packed with ham, bacon, cheese, egg, tomatoes, onions, and lettuce. It was so good and it was surprisingly filling. I was so full after eating it. I think it's one of my favorite sandwiches.


YOGA ON A FULL STOMACH


image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


November 22, 2020

On this day, my friends and I did yoga on a full stomach. One of my friends invited us to her place to do yoga and cook food. I wanted us to make the sandwiches that I like. I told them to bring the ingredients for it. We cooked the bacon and the ham. We sliced the vegetables and the cheese. I forgot about the eggs though. We assembled our own sandwiches and enjoyed them with our coffee or tea.

We rested for a bit because we were so full. We then practiced yoga but we found that our bodies were still heavy from the food that we ate. I also chose a bodyweight strength training power yoga and it was so difficult. I sometimes call it my "hell yoga" routine. After having our lunch and properly resting, we did another power yoga practice. It was my first time doing two yoga (movement) classes in a day and I really enjoyed it.


YOGA ON AN EMPTY STOMACH


image.png

image.png

image.png


March 20, 2021

There was a new yoga studio near my school and a friend invited me to join her. On this day, I arrived at the yoga studio late and still haven't eaten my breakfast. We did Hatha yoga and I was fine after the class. My friend invited me to join her in the next class which was a beginner's class. I agreed to join her but halfway through the practice, I was beginning to feel lightheaded because I so hungry already.

After the double-class, we went to Balai Brunch by Cafeplus Coffee and had a late breakfast or brunch if you have it. I immediately ordered my coffee and a "silog." Their food looked amazing and the serving was big too. The prices were a bit high but the service from their waiters was very good. They were really accommodating and patient. I had fully recovered from my hunger but I knew I would still eat lunch later.


That's it! Thank you for taking a ride with me through memory lane using pictures of the breakfast food I had. This was a fun post because I get to reminisce the good moments I had in the past through food. I hope you also get to experience the joy of reliving the good moments in your life through good food. That's all for now. See you in the next food memories. Cheers!


Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (personal development, writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.
Sort:  

sarap naman nyan sir

Mas masarap yung totoong pagkain. Hahaha. Part din yung lighting at editing dyan. 😉

Congratulations @glecerioberto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow. Thanks!
Been meaning to post in the Cinnamon Cup Coffee Community. We'll see in the future. 😁

It would be nice to hear more from you !
Please feel free to drop by anytime:)