Pork Rib Herbal Soup with Yu Zhu & Lily Bulbs || Get well soon

These few days I have been extra diligent to cook at home. I think it is good for my brother's recovery from Covid19. Usually, I would be busy in the morning teaching Jansen as I homeschool him, but since Saturday, the boys had been staying at hotel to be in a safe zone while I stay at home to take care of my brother. Now, I will be the boss to determine what he should eat daily. No more fast food and fried stuff, my little brother who is not little anymore.

.
Aunty called to say that cooking soup with lily bulbs and lotus seed is good for Covid19 recovery. Lily bulbs is like a super food to promote lungs' health and lotus seeds have so many health benefits from reducing inflammation to aid in improving digestion to palpitation. And I have all the ingredients in my fridge. So what did I cook?

Nutritious healthy Pork Rib Soup

img_0.3816824045340224.jpg

All natural goodness from the ingredients. I call this super soup.

Ingredients

Let's get ready all the herbs which are from plants, they are super food which aids in so many ailments, provided you drink them daily. Chinese recipes always use these ingredients when it comes to soup, because we believe there is remedy in soup made from herbs (plants). Apart from lily bulbs and lotus seed which my aunty mentioned, I included other herbs too.

img_0.5720193567041324.jpg
From red dates, see clockwise, you will see Yu Zhu (Solomon's seal) which is good for improving lungs' condition, Chinese yam, lotus seed, dried lily bulbs and dried longan.

Not to miss out the goddess of Chinese herbs, I call it the goddess because we love to use it in every Chinese cooking, it add sweetness and colour and of course nutrients to every dish. The Goji Berries or wolfberries.

img_0.6454674447034965.jpg

Just remember to wash them clean. I usually love to soak them awhile for 5-10 minutes.

img_0.5285832203219244.jpg

While the above ingredients were being soaked, I prepared thr meat. This time I used pork neck bone and a few tailbones because it is believed there are many nutrients there. Don't ask me why, I follow what I learn from the elderly. 😊

img_0.5951301231531714.jpg

Usually, for pork, we boiled them first to remove the scum, then rinse with water to make them clean.

img_0.23924744457113367.jpg

img_0.5311746727871145.jpg

Ready the pot, I use Buffalo Smart Pot so that I didn't need to watch the fire. I had many things to remember from brother's medicines eating time to housechores so it was wiser to use a smart pot.

.

Place the meat and herbal ingredients into the pot, but leave the goji berries at the end of cooking. Add water into the pot to cover the meat and ingredients. Set to simmer at soup option to 3 hours.

img_0.6657769170460236.jpg

img_0.6845013321015584.jpg

Half an hour before 3-hour timer, I added in goji berries. By this time, you already could smell the fragrant of the soup. Delicious.

img_0.789703271130923.jpg

3-Hour is up & Voila

This soup is not only nutritious and full of benefits, it was yummy and delicious too. Some savoury taste from the meat and sweetness from the herbs. Usually, I add some salt but for this time, I omit it since it was for a sick person, good to eat less salty because I had another dish which I needed to add salt. I fried omelette with carrots too, which I usually added salt and pepper. Brother prefers his rice to be soaked, so the soup and rice all in a same plate. And bon appetite.

img_0.7866701191942788.jpg

Get well soon, my brother. ❤️


Thank you for reading. Stay bubbly. Stay hopeful.

img_20210120_211125.png

❤️Love from me❤️
hg4oqe.gif

🌷Flowers for you🌷

momentcam_2020050311483906200007300120.gif

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That looks delicious and nutritious. I loved pork ribs cooked in soup.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png