Capitancillo Cafe & Restaurant | A Taste Into Their Mouthwatering Dishes!

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

I've been living peacefully here in my hometown - San Remigio, Cebu, Philippines, for quite a time now, away from the bustling life of Cebu City. Sometimes, I do miss going to cafes and having some matcha-flavored coffee or visiting my favorite Mexican Restaurant and indulging myself with tacos because restaurants with delicious food are almost nonexistent here at my place or I'm just too lazy to find one.

Cover photo.png

Two weeks ago, my family decided to have a short vacation here and it was unplanned that we would dine out as it would be cheaper just to prepare food here at home. However, mom got tired from all the cooking and I couldn't help her out that time because I had severe low back pain that rendered me useless during their visit here. Thus, the decision to have our dinner somewhere else.

Initially, we planned on going to a nearby restaurant however my younger sister suggested that we head over to Capitancillo's Cafe & Restaurant. Located at Pelaez St., Bogo City, Cebu, it was just a 20-minute drive from our place. Before heading there, my sister already contacted the restaurant and ordered our food. I was a bit excited to be able to eat at a restaurant after a very long time but I didn't have any expectations as to whether the food would be great or not.

IMG_6444.jpg

IMG_6445.jpg

IMG_6446.jpg


Settling in

From the outside, the place seemingly looks plain and simple but as they said "Don't be deceived by the looks." There were a lot of motorcycles parked at the entrance so it wasn't obvious at first that it was a restaurant. We were lucky to find an empty parking spot right across from the establishment.

As we went inside, most of the tables were already taken. The place was packed with customers. I wondered why. Although it was crowded, I could sense the Mediterranean style of the interior design with its white painting, and minimalistic wooden and blue-colored furnishings which added an air of coolness within the space.

IMG_6447.jpg

IMG_6450.jpg

IMG_6449.jpg

IMG_6451.jpg

There was a mini bar with wines and pastries on display on the left side of the room just when you enter. The center space was filled with tables and chairs. The kitchen was located at the far end. We were assigned to a table inside their "mini exclusive function room".

As we were waiting for our food, my brother assured us that the food was delicious because he has dine here a couple of times as this was a favorite spot of his friends. We also talked about visiting Capitancillo Island someday.

IMG_6480.jpg

IMG_6456.jpg

IMG_6464.jpg


Food Overload

One by one, the servers placed our dishes on the table and one by one, my anticipation started to build up. The baked scallops arrived first and they already looked so tasty. We also ordered Chopsuey, Calamares, Fish Fillet in Creamy Mushroom Saue, Stir-Fry Beef with Brocolli, Fried Rice Seafood Platter, and Sinigang Isda. For the drinks, we had Four Seasons and Citrus Lemonade Pitchers. I was in for a treat after months of going "healthy living". 😄 This was one of my favorite cheat days to date!

IMG_6476.jpg

IMG_6457.jpg

Baked Scallops - Php 150 or USD 2.58

IMG_6458.jpg

Chopseuy - Php 185 or USD3.18

IMG_6459.jpg

Fried Rice Seafood Platter - Php 209 or USD 3.6

IMG_6461.jpg

Calamares - Php 275 or USD 4.74

IMG_6462.jpg

Fish Fillet in Creamy Mushroom Sauce - Php 215 or USD 3.7

Just when I thought our food was complete and in the middle of eating, one server laid on our table Grilled Squid and Sizzling Bagus Sisig.

How the heck are we going to finish this all up and who is paying?

IMG_6488.jpg

Sizzling Bangus Sisig - Php 169 or USD 2.91

IMG_6498.jpg

Pusit Ala Pobre - Php 275 or USD 4.74

I don't want to worry about this and so I continued tasting and savoring each of the dishes. I did mention I had zero expectations with the food right? but damn I would be a fool not to say that each dish was just mouthwatering! Definitely, unexpected for a first-timer like me in this restaurant. My only regret was not able to taste their "best-selling Pochero" during our visit because they ran out that day. Perhaps all the more reason to visit here again.

My favorite of all the food that was served was probably the free dessert - LAVA CAKE. Blame it on my sweet tooth!. A rich moist chocolate cake topped with creamy ice cream and chocolate syrup. When the rest of the family just decided to have a taste of it, I, on the other hand, devoured this delectable goodness.

IMG_6501.jpg


Affordable or Not?

With these delightful and tasteful dishes, one would think that the food was prepared by a top-notch chef so the prices would be a bit expensive! But guess what? It was way below what I expected. My mind was blown when I saw the prices on the menu!

IMG_6506.jpg

IMG_6507.jpg

IMG_6508.jpg

IMG_6509.jpg

IMG_6510.jpg

IMG_6511.jpg

IMG_6512.jpg

image.png

If this was one of those known restaurants in the city, the prices would be 30% - 50% higher. We had 10 different dishes and 2 pitchers of drinks and yet our total bill (less 10% discount) was only PHP 2,343.60 or USD 40.40 and we were 6 adults so that cost us PHP 390 or USD 6.7 per person. And mom paid, I'm shameless.😆


A Must Try

Now I know why the place is packed with customers. Now I know why it bagged the title of the "Best Restaurant in Bogo, Cebu". Not only the food was amazingly good, but the prices were definitely affordable for most people! I'm way beyond happy with my first visit to Capitancillo Cafe & Restaurant. It's one of those restaurants that will surely leave you wanting more. Budget friendly, guaranteed delicious food, clean establishment, and superb customer service!

Although it might be located here up north of Cebu, a lot of locals and tourists do come and visit this side of the island so I do recommend that one should make this restaurant their first option when looking for a place to dine here. It's best to give a call beforehand or book online as they do get crowded on weekends.

They also have catering services! More details on their social media.

IMG_6517.jpg

IMG_6518.jpg

IMG_6472.jpg


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

Sort:  

I totally loved your post that's a truly well done review! Capitancillo looks like a nice place I like the almost Mediterranean look and the mini bar, if it was crowded that's good it means it's a good place, the fact that is not expansive it's good too, you and your family seems enjoy all the dinner, the scallops looks awesome, and also the chopsuey, a mostly seafood based dinner such a good thing,I love seafood I admit Im jealous of you that you try all these Yummmi dishes 😋😋 I share your post !👍

Thank you @noemilunastorta! The place really served delicious food! Even just writing this made me want to go back there right away! I love seafood too though I have allergies for shrimps and crabs 😂

I think the price is a good deal already, plus a cozy ambiance. The scallop is just around $3 which I did not expect at all. I thought it would be around $8. Oh, it definitely a well-deserved cheat day for months of consistent healthy living. Pak!

The scallops was really good and so cheap pero mas cheap parin kapag doon sa Higantes Islands, Iloilo. 1 pesos lng per piece. 🤣 But yeah, sana nga cheat day every day but may goals pa ako na "abs" haha.

Wow, the corner where you were placed looked more like cosy place at home than a restaurant. Food looks absolutely amazing 🤩

We were lucky that we were the only ones staying at their "mini function room" so it felt like we had the whole room to ourselves. And yes, food was to die for!

Nakakatakam naman. Ang sasarap ng mga pagkain.

Kung alam mo lng. gutom na gutom ako habang nagsusulat nito!

Dami nyo order hehe.. Natakam ako sa foods..im eating right now too.. Kakaumay na Chinese food... 😂..
Pero yung prices nla, kalula..haha..

True! We really enjoyed our dinner here as we had a variety of dishes to taste and sobrang affordable pa!

What a buffet🥰, Mouthwatering indeed🤤... Gigutom man hinoon ko ug balik..haha

Nah! I was wanting to go back to the restaurant just writing this! 🤣

I must say... They have great foods there @indayclara.

Yes the best seller "pochero" is truly the best one. You should try it next time, hehe

I never tried the lava cake. I only tried it in wifi password, haha.

Oh! Have you been to this restaurant?

I'm truly coming back for the pochero! Or basin gnhan ka magluto den imu ipa food tasting sa akoa. haha

Pwede kaayu miss during g ceremony? Haha

Foods are all nutrious and delicious..So yummy..Enjoy eating @ Indayddd

Salamat mam @dehai. Kung pwede palang, everyday ingon ani pero nagpasexy pako ron panahuna gud. haha

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

😋😊😉🤙🌈 Yum Yum!!

Superb! I totally agree @indayclara. Their foods are so yummy (mouthwatering, makagutom).Eating time with family there having an affordable price is indeed the best. It's worth it.

Honestly, that's the only restaurant we've trusted during the christening, first birthday and second birthday of my son.(loyalty award goes to me).

Stay Safe and God bless.

hahaha. you definitely deserve the loyalty award. Seems like affordable rpud ila catering services!

What an amazing place to visit for family bonding @indayclara . Aside from the affordable foods, the place is elegant and presentable too. Mouthwatering dishes indeed!

Thank you @naymhapz! Make sure to visit it someday!

Pochero and four seasons are the best. I remember I brought my family here as well. I'm happy your family visited you in your new place.☺️

I still have a lot of places to explore here up north pero mas nice if naa koy ka holding hands inig suroy og kaon. haha

Hahaha...basin naa ra sa North diay unya imong maka holding hands miss Clar, puhon.

Indeed, a restaurant that we, Bogohanons are proud of. You should definitely come back for the pochero @indayclara. Mao gyud toy nagdalas bida baya.hehe
Glad you had a great experience!

Urgggghhh don't make me regret! hahaha.
will definitely come back for the pochero!

Tag me along next time @indayclara..☺️

Ang sisig og ang scallops sa jud uy grabeh ka mouth watering, ga crave na nuon ko 🥹

saba dnha. ga pungko pungko na wala ko nimo kuyuga!

Dear @indayclara,
Hey, your support for the previous Hive Authentication Services proposal which expired a few days ago has been much appreciated.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240)? It only needs a few percent to be funded and your support will certainly help.br>
Thank you!

Oh.. not grilled but "baked" and its definitely delicious! thank you for dropping by!