Lunch with Unique Serving Tradition at Padang Sidempuan Restaurant - Super Delicious and Spicy

IMG_0061.jpeg



Hello Foodies
How are you today ? I hope and pray, we are all always given health and also happiness in living this life. Perhaps, my friends must have often heard, one of the easy ways to get happiness is to enjoy delicious food, and I always try to find delicious food to make me happy.

Early last week, I took my wife to enjoy one of the legendary restaurants in my city, namely Padang Sidempuan Restaurant. Come on, see my story and culinary experience this time.

Padang Sidempuan Restaurant
IMG_0090.jpeg
IMG_0089.jpeg

For residents of Medan City, the Padang Sidempuan Restaurant is one of the most popular restaurants and is loved by many people. Lots of officials, artists, government employees, and the public have lunch at this restaurant. Padang Sidempuan Restaurant is famous for serving culinary and authentic dishes typical of Mandailing - South Tapanuli.

Mandailing is one of the ethnic groups in North Sumatra, Indonesia. The majority of the Mandailing people come from and live around South Tapanuli, but currently the diaspora has spread to all places in Indonesia, especially Medan City. Padang Sidempuan Restaurant was originally established around 22 years ago, to treat the homesickness of migrants from South Tapanuli. I still remember, when this restaurant first opened, my father often took me here to introduce traditional Mandailing ethnic food. My family is of the Angkola Batak ethnicity, which is still of the same ethnicity as the Mandailing.

IMG_0088.jpeg
The atmosphere of the restaurant was very lively at that time, cars parked side by side and looking at the license plates, we know these people are rich people. If previously the customers of this restaurant were only the Batak and South Tapanuli people who lived in Medan, now various ethnic groups living in North Sumatra come to this restaurant. We can see Javanese, Medan Chinese, Malays and even foreign tourists from Malaysia and Singapore also come here.

Padang Sidempuan Restaurant has a semi outdoor building concept, with no walls and a high roof. Air circulation is very comfortable, so it doesn't make us hot or stuffy. We know, eating is one activity that produces calories, and makes us sweat. Therefore, convenience when eating food is very important.

Mandailing Cuisine
IMG_0060.jpeg
IMG_0056.jpeg

So, what makes Padang Sidempuan famous and liked by many people? one of the reasons is, because this restaurant serves dishes that are cooked without using msg or flavor enhancers. All dishes served use spices, and a combination of spices to create a delicious and authentic taste.

Padang Sidempuan Restaurant is indeed very busy, but we don't need to be afraid that it will take a long time to be served, because the service system here is very fast. This restaurant uses a "tradition dish" system, namely a serving concept known as a mini buffet. We will see all the existing food menus, served at our table on small plates.

IMG_0065.jpeg Beef Jerky With Sambal
IMG_0063.jpeg Sale Fish Curry / Sale Fish Curry
IMG_0064.jpegSnapper Head Curry

The concept of serving "traditional dishes" is very unique, and rarely found in other countries or cultures. However, this presentation concept can be a bit tricky for the layman. When you come to Indonesia, and find a restaurant using the dish concept, I suggest choosing one or two menu plates that you will eat. The payment system will be calculated when we take the dishes on our plates, even if it's a little. So, even if there are dozens of small plates served, don't try it if you don't want to pay.

IMG_0067.jpeg
IMG_0072.jpeg
IMG_0069.jpeg
IMG_0057.jpeg

This Padang Sidempuan Restaurant serves a variety of delicious and authentic mandailing cuisine menus. We will find sale fish curry, beef jerky balado, sweet potato leaf curry, mutton curry, snapper head curry, and various types of chili sauce such as potato chili sauce, anchovy chili sauce, eggplant chili sauce and onion chili sauce. Seeing all these menus makes me very hungry and drooling. For sure, I really like local Indonesian dishes.

About Taste and Cost
Seeing dozens of small plates with delicious food menus like this, of course, makes people confused about making choices. I thought, and finally chose to eat a plate of rice with jerky balado, a splash of sale fish curry sauce, mashed sweet potato leaf curry and don't forget pakkat, a typical fresh vegetable from South Tapanuli.

IMG_0083.jpeg
IMG_0059.jpeg

The taste of the rice is very good, fluffier and sweet. The jerky also has a delicious, savory, and spicy taste. The chunks of beef jerky are also big, different from other beef jerky I've tried from other restaurants. The spices used are also perfectly absorbed in this piece of meat.

I also enjoy, every chili served here. From the taste and quality of the ingredients used, I know this restaurant always uses fresh and new quality ingredients. I ate very voraciously, until I added rice three times. Apart from the very delicious taste, one thing that makes me crave is eating with this menu, package.

IMG_0071.jpeg
Pakat is a food made from young rattan shoots which are burned and then the inside is taken. In terms of texture, pakat is very soft and delicious when eaten with hot chili sauce and rice. Pakat has a bitter taste, like the taste of young papaya shoots. However, when we eat this pakat, our appetite will increase and we will eat very voraciously.

IMG_0091.jpeg
My wife and I ate very well that lunch. Do you know how much I paid for this lunch? I was also surprised when I paid for it, because it was around IDR 157K (or 10.1 USD) for just two meals. For sure, this is my most expensive lunch cost in last October. But, I was not disappointed because I enjoyed every bite of this dish that I ate. Why be disappointed and angry when we enjoy delicious food, right?


About Author


Call me Isdarmady, because I have a full name that is very long, namely Isdarmady Syahputra Ritonga. I am a head of the family who work as Farmers Vegetables Hydroponic and Consultant Hydroponics, sometimes I also sell coffee from various regions in Indonesia.
I have expertise dispensing coffee with a variety of techniques and tools brewing, because I have the desire to make a coffee shop with hydroponics as centerpieces. Help me realize that dream.

Thanks for read, vote, re-blog and support me in Hive. Maybe god will reward the kindness, let’s success together.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I totally loved your review, it's really well written and full od description, your wife must be happy you take there in this popular place, the fact that it's like a outdoor restaurant it's really charming and a fast service it's even better, in pur country we don't have the concept of traditional dishes, I see this concept only once in a Indian restaurant here in Italy the restaurant use another kind of service,but it's really a good way for trying more dishes but it's true the risk it to try ever and pay a lot, but If I will visit this restaurant I will surely take the risk!!😍

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @isdarmady.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more