Impromptu "Braai" ala South Georgia USA

20210406_162520.jpg
So, a "Day for Firsts", our friend @jaynie has shown luscious images of a South African Braai several times.
Well, I don't have all that elaborate fire pit and everything, but I DO have this little Weber Grill that hasn't seen fire nor food in about 10 yrs.
Another first. Salmon.

Cedar Planked Salmon.jpg
Growing up, Mama bought canned salmon, mixed it with Raw egg, onion and I think bread crumbs and pan fried them.
The smell was disgusting and to this day if someone is pan frying salmon, I have to leave the house.
I know it is extremely healthy, and I am trying to eat better.
SO.
I bought this on impulse a couple of days ago.
The directions said to cook it on the plank either in the oven or a grill for 18 min.
Hence

20210406_160713.jpg
Because I might not tolerate it, I thawed some "Shwimps" I had, and while I was constructing my Braai, they marinated in the sauce from the Salmon.
Step one

20210406_154600.jpg
Step Two

20210406_154623.jpg
(Yes, I am a packrat, those are left over from a cabinet I had for years and demolished)
Step Three

20210406_154656.jpg
(Ooo! Baby that grill was NASTY and rusted. Someone didn't clean it after its last use)
Step four

20210406_155941.jpg

♫♪Come on Baby Light My Fire♫♪

20210406_155949.jpg

Don't worry, I did take it to the sink and scrub it before putting it on the flame
Mean while, back at the farm

20210406_160653.jpg
I've had that skewer for some time now, most people would have thrown it away, but had I done that, what would I do now?

20210406_162520.jpg
Not everything would fit on the skewer, my eyes were bigger than my grill, so, as @jaynie had said, drop the tops of the onions (and in this case, the apples as well) down onto the coals, they will burn and add flavor)

20210406_162405.jpg

Now, the cook waits in his "Redneck Recliner"

20210406_162751.jpg
Time to go turn everything. I'm afeared I don't have enough coals lit.

image.png
As I feared, I had to do an emergency restart, so now it will be a little longer, the veggies may still be quite crisp and I have no idea about the fish. The schwimps look done now though.
And the cook waits once more

20210406_162758.jpg
Some dried twigs from the yard added, time to put away the charcoal

Charcoal and lighter.jpg
Bon Appetit, time to eat

Last check in.jpg

"Impromptu "Braai"

by
Jerry E Smith
©04/06/2021
All images taken today with my cellphones



cyktlq.png

Sort:  

hey hey!!!!!! That's AWESOME Jerry!!! So glad I inspired you to have a BRAAI! and you know what... it looks bloody brilliant!!! Salmon as well - YUM!!!!!! and the corn! DOUBLE YUM!

Hats off to you!!!

Ps.. what are you sitting in... it looks a little like a wheelbarrow :D

Yepper! That is a "Redneck Recliner" aka... a wheelbarrow. 🤣
You just tip it back (or forward) so that the handles are on the ground, the wheel in the air and “Voilà !”
A great place to sit. Of course to use very long, you need some sort of cushioning


image.png

hahaha I knew it! LOVE IT!!!!

What a great concept, we do this in Nigeria as well

Looks so tasty! Droolin' 🤤

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you very much @diyhub

Yum! That entire meal looks fantastic. Good on ya!

Lol you had me at Braai, I’ve never braai’ing salmon before I think if fuck it up lol but those sosaties are looking good

Nou net vir a uys koue beerjie !BEER

Hey, Good morning @chekohler I had to look up sosatie I've always known them as a Kabob or shishkabob although by definition those would include lamb I think.
Everything was quite good, and surprisingly to me, the Salmon was delicious.
I am sure I will be doing this again.
The small cut I bought came on the cedar plank, and cooked right on it, so I think if you didn't (like me) jump the gun and try to start cooking before the coals reached the right temp, it would be fairly fool proof.
Give it a try!

Ten out of ten for that braai Jerry, got it up and running, looks nutritious and delicious. Plus you look very chilled in your "Redneck Recliner"!

Salmon down our way is a massive big treat, you got me drooling thinking of the treat!

It truly did end up being worth all the effort @joanstewart, but it was a real gamble as well.
Given my lifelong aversion to salmon that is ha ha...Yes, I was chillin'
Thanks for the comment and reblog.

Salmon is not a fish in our waters, buying is normally from Norway at at very steep price!

Hope every bite was savoured it looked delightful Jerry.

!ENGAGE 20

Not sure where this item came from, but it said Atlantic Salmon. For the size this was (to me) pricey.

I just ate the remains a little while ago, the leftovers from last night. My "brunch"
Thanks @joanstewart

Left overs always nice to enjoy next day, fish has become more expensive, trout and salmon most probably two that come to mind are never cheap.

Good Morning Joan, I am rather cautious with left over fish, other leftovers I'll leave for days, nibbling on it until it's gone, but no, you know the old saying "House guests are like fish, after 3 days they begin to stink and should be thrown out"
I believe this is true, with some notable exceptions ha ha ha

"Waste not, Want not..." eat and enjoy.

House guests I agree 😄 depends who they are!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Looks delicious :D

Looks like an awesome BBQ!

I'ma bout to find out.
News at 6! Thanks @jeffjagoe


Hey @jerrytsuseer, here is a little bit of BEER from @chekohler for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.