My first full meal, almost exclusively grown with my own two hands.

Actual plate.jpg
Tonight, I cooked a meal like no other in my life. Nearly everything you see was grown by me, on my land, in my back yard.
I have this penchant for buy meat that has been marked down, one presumes it is going out of date.

Marked down steak.jpg
Sorry for the appearance, I didn't think to get a pic, and dug this outta the trash
Normally I do this and it goes to the freezer, but THIS piece, has been in the fridge for about 4 days.
It was time, as was it time to cook most of the okra.
Unless you are from the Southern US or Western Africa, you are probably not familiar with Okra
Okra or Okro (US: /ˈoʊkrə/, UK: /ˈɒkrə/), Abelmoschus esculentus, known in many English-speaking countries as ladies' fingers or ochro, is a flowering plant in the mallow family. It is valued for its edible green seed pods. It is a good source of minerals, vitamins, antioxidants, and fiber. The geographical origin of okra is disputed, with supporters of West African, Ethiopian, and South Asian origins. The plant is cultivated in tropical, subtropical and warm temperate regions around the world and is a notable part of the cuisine of the Southern United States and India.

My Okra

First Okra 1.jpg
Those little conical shaped buds form the pods

image.png
Which didn't make as prolifically as I had hoped; next year I will plant more, more deeply and earlier.
They have a beautiful flower

image.png

Okra is most often cooked as an addition to stewed tomatoes, STEWED Okra are an acquired taste. Most folk can't stand Okra unless it is breaded and fried.
Not me

Homegrown 3-okra.jpg

Now, I HAD to cook these. My stand of Okra didn't produce but a few pods per day, and you MUST cut them before they get too large or they will be stringy and fit for nothing BUT frying.
They had been slowly accumulating in the veggie drawer of my fridge and had begun to look sad.
But I digress

Full view.jpg
Damn! I need an updated photo. Hang on a minute

Garden Today.jpg
↑That is my current garden↑
Puny, but it's mine.
SO, from that little plot I got all the:
Okra,
Cucumbers,
Tomatoes
Poblano peppers (I got bell and habanero too, they ain't ready yet)

Homegrown 1.jpg
And THAT my friends, is how you make a meal! (as you can see in the first pic, I only ate half of it. the rest is destined for a family member arriving later tonight)

"My first homegrown meal"

by
Jerry E Smith
©07/24/2021
All images are original




cyktlq.png

Sort:  
That looks like a wonderful meal! Your tomatoes and cucumbers are fabulous! I love okra, too, always have. I like it stewed, fried, or baked (drizzle slices with olive oil, salt, pepper, and bake at 350°F for a bit, turn them, bake a little more, then enjoy!). 😋

I don't think I've ever heard of baked okra, seems like it would be too slimy to pick or turn.
I will have to check into that. Thanks @thekittygirl

As it bakes, the sliminess goes away, same as when it is fried. I usually turn mine with a flat spatula / hamburger-flipper.

I'm trying to picture slicing Okra lengthwise, which I assume is what you mean?
Thanks for that suggestion @thekittygirl, I will have to give it a try

I suppose it could be sliced lengthwise, but I usually slice mine cross-wise, in little circles, just like I would do if I were breading it & frying in a skillet. 🙂

From something in the original comment, I assumed you meant lengthwise. Little circles makes a lot more sense.
Thanks again @thekittygirl

Fantastic results this year! I am so jealous of your cucumbers! I have some okra in too, because I love the stuff. Last year the deer got more of my okra than I did though. And okra flowers are stunningly beautiful, for that one day, then the fruit comes poking up.

The threat of deer is why I started out with putting my pee around the perimeter.
Knock knock on wood, I can't say I've seen any damage from any vermin, so far.
Thanks @owasco

!discovery 25

Can I come over, please? 😄

Yes, anytime, just give me ample notice!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @stayten on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

You know I always love it when you guys share my stuff @innerblocks and @stayten

Yum!!!
From your garden to the table!

Yeppers! and it were good! Thanks @silversaver888

How much of your food is sourced from your garden, @jerrytsuseer?

Hi @silversaver888. If you are asking how much of my TOTAL food intake is from my garden, that would be a tiny fraction.
I buy meat, milk, canned goods etc from the grocery store, but as much as I can, I try to eat what I grow. Tomatoes and cucumbers are making more than I can eat, so I share with my neighbors.
Thanks for reading and commenting

Still, it is great!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program