Puttanesca Style at Tierra Cafe

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago
In my previous article Santorini Inspired Residential Resort in Valencia, Negros Oriental, I shared about our experience at Tierra Alta and I also mentioned we dined at their cafe called Tierra Cafe. It took some time but I am finally finishing this blog.

We reached Tierra Alta at eleven in the morning, we were from DFA or Department of Foreign Affairs Dumaguete branch which was inside Robinsons Mall in Dumaguete City, we walked in to get our passports renewed while we applied for Matti's first passport too.

Processing was fast, our request was to have the passports delivered and we already received the passports last week.

So going back, we went directly to Tierra Cafe as soon as we arrived at the residential resort. The cafe is just located on the right side of the clubhouse. It has signage about the cafe so it was easy to spot it.

cafetierra.png

Coming inside, a staff opened the doors for us. There were only two tables occupied at the time that we arrived. The room was air-conditioned which was really a relief, it was scorching hot when we arrived and it was almost noontime so you can imagine how humid that day was, but it was such a great feeling getting inside a cool room.

DSC02002.jpg

A bar sits at the corner, they serve coffee too and wines, the staffs were sitting behind the bar, can you spot one of the heads?

We searched for a table, my baby was actually sleeping when we arrived, he slept while we were on the road coming here. We choose the table which has comfortable lounge seats, these seats were also in a platform.

DSC02003.jpg

There seats have their logo in it, they seemed to have customized these seats. The interiors aren't Cycladic this time though, their walls were orange and red in color as well as their tile flooring. But I am glad they have high chairs which were wooden! I wasn't able to request one because the baby was sleeping the entire time. He slept from eleven in the morning until around quarter to two! So we finished eating before he woke up.

Also, they got long tables and an area for intimate celebrations, they can open and close that section and they got al fresco dining area too but since it was noontime, their doors were closed, perhaps when it's night time, they'll open the glass doors.

Now comes our orders. They got wide options, international and local cuisines on their menu, we were really confused what to get but we ended up with their Greek Salad, Seared Tuna with Puttanesca Sauce, Baby Back Ribs, Churros con chocolate, and a pitcher of this red juice which I forgot the flavor.

The Baby Back Ribs was worth Php 320 which comes with a cup of rice and some butter stir fried mixed vegetables. The husband said it was good! I didn't mind tasting it though but I have to take his words.

DSC01990.jpg

DSC01989.jpg

My order was Seared Tuna with Puttanesca Sauce. I was very interested on what the word Puttanesca means and when I searched it, the meaning wasn't really nice. Google said it means “in the style of the whore or prostiture.” The name derives from the Italian word puttana which means whore. Puttana in turn arises from the Latin word putida which means stinking

This was I guess my first time to try this type of recipe. It has anchovies on it and tomatoes as well as olives. I enjoyed it actually and the fish was also nicely cooked! This cost Php 380.

DSC02009.jpg

But before we had the main course, we devoured on the appetizer which was the Greek Salad. This was really good and the ingredients looked really fresh! I enjoyed every bite of it. I can surely make this kind of salad too at home. This costs Php 230.
The churros was ordered for Matti. But I tried it beforehand. The chocolate syrup tasted like my mom's pure sikwate! If you are a Filipino and a Bisaya, you'd be familiar with what Sikwate is. I like that it wasn't too sweet and they also sprinkled cinnamon on top of the churros. Matti ate a few sticks and I finished it. I don't like having food left on the plate, as much as possible, all the food must be eaten.

DSC02008.jpg

I appreciate that the cafe have their fast internet connection despite being on the countryside. It was also nice that their staffs were very accommodating, they were all attentive to our requests, and they accept credit card payments too! The husband was working as well after we ate lunch, we killed time while I wait for the right timing to take photos around the resort.

Also, it was surprising to see a lot of guests coming in, there were so many reservations too as I could hear the staff talking on their phone at the bar. I believe this is due to the tasty food and customer service!

Tierra Café provides Mediterranean cuisine infused with American and Asian flavors. The frolic restaurant seats 60, and the Alfresco area seats 20 guests. They are open from seven in the morning until nine in the evening daily.



jeanjean.png

J U N E B R I D E
Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art
• • •


Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @junebride ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I almost planned a trip early this year to Dumaguete for my passport renewal but I realized going through a fixer would be more convenient. 😅

"Residential resort" sounds fancy. I'll add this to my list of places to check out when I get to visit Dumaguete again. 😁

try booking every sunday evening or morning sa Monday, that's the time that appointment schedule are uploaded sa system and super daghang available slots... i tried it but found out pwede ra mi mowalk in..since naa mi sa oslob at that time, it was easier to get to dumaguete!

Congratulations @junebride! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 130000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow, bon appetit! Beautiful cafe 😀😍

thanks dear!! it was a beautiful one!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

what a beautiful and colorful place

sorry for short reply, swamped with a lot going on tonight

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Gooosh, your post made me miss so much going to a cafe! I think I know what I'll do this upcoming weekend, lol.

Con tu reseña y fotografías, definitivamente es un lugar que quiero conocer.
Gracias por compartir.

Yun pala talaga ang meaning ng Puttanesca? hehe. Anyway, ganda ng place. Sarap sa mata ung mga colors.

ahaha nashock nga din ako

Parang nakakawalang gana tuloy kainin pag un iisipin haha!