Hive Creative Contest || Ham & Cheese Puff

IMG_6964jj.jpg

Mum was crazy for bread. I remember her packing 4 slices for lunch almost every single day to work. She'd slather on the butter and her favourite jam. I used to wonder how the hell she did it. Did she not get bored with the same thing every single day? Fast forward to today, and I can see her taste for bread. I think I have become her haha. Ok, I wish I was that lucky :D.

So when I saw @zord189's post asking us to whip up something with bread; of course I had to. There are a couple of "bread" recipes that I would like to claim I am good at like Bread Pudding and Sardine Bread Rolls, but I wanted to challenge myself and went on a hunt. I came across this recipe Ham & Cheese Puff from bestrecipes.com, tweaked it a little bit and it turned out so good, the kids gobbled it down.
page divider orange.png

1.1.gif
I bought these cold cuts from the supermarket for RM8.90 and the rest of the ingredients I had at home. If you don't eat beef, replace with ham as the recipe calls for. I also read feedback where someone used roast chicken.

Cut the beef into pieces, add grated cheese, 1 tablespoon of mayonnaise and 2 tablespoons of mustard.

ezgif.com-optimize.gif
Mix well.

ezgif.com-optimize (1).gif
Then mix 2 eggs with 1 1/3 cups of milk. Add salt and black pepper for taste.

44.gif
Make sandwiches with wholemeal bread and lay it out in a square tin.

55.gif
Pour the egg-milk mix over the bread and leave it to soak for about 3 minutes. Though the recipe did not call for more cheese, but whoever complained about a dish being cheesy. But I topped it with cheese sparingly only because I was afraid if it didn't turn out nice, I would have wasted good cheese. I wish I had piled on more.

Bunk it in the preheated oven at 160°C for 30 minutes. By right the dish should have puffed up when the timer went off but it still looked undone. With the youngest waiting for his lunch and time running out, I cranked up the temperature to 220°C which was a good call. I saw the dish rise, and it browned the cheese. And here is the end result.

IMG_6964.jpg

IMG_6985.jpg

IMG_6967.jpg

Here's my tweaked recipe:
150g of Smoked Beef Slices
100g of Pizza Topping (and more for the top)
Whole Meal Bread
2 Eggs
1 1/3 Cups of Milk
Salt & Black Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 160°C
Mix meat, cheese, mustard and mayonnaise.
Make sandwiches with the filling.
Place the sandwiches in a square bake tin (I used pyrex)
Mix the eggs and milk, season with salt and pepper, then pour over the sandwiches.
Let it rest for about 3 minutes to allow the milk to seep into the bread.
Top it with more cheese - the more the better ;D
Bunk it in the oven for 30 minutes.
Bring up the temperature to 220°C for 5 minutes.
Take it out and let it cool for a bit, or it will be soggy as I learnt the hard way.

page divider orange.png
I will be honest, the only reason I decided to give this a go is because of the feedback from those who had tried it which weren't many. I thought it may be a bit weird with the whole pouring of milk and egg over the sandwiches but it turned it really good.

I am going to try it again with different kinds of meat and even spinach. I might even give it a try with a muffin pan because tiny versions mean we can have different fillings. Hey, if you have ideas for me, I would love to hear them.

page divider orange.png

Thank you @zord189 & @foodiesunite for the challenge. I discovered a new dish hehe. If you would like to take on the challenge, click on THIS. I am excited to see your recipes so I can try them too.

Thank you so much for reading
Till next time, Carpe Diem!
Sh33la

Sort:  

Omg! This is soooo nice! I'll make sure to create something like this soon too. I am a bread lover. From birth. Lol.

I was happy with the outcome
And I look forward to what you will whip up :D

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Quite cool! It’s like a mix between a crustless quiche and French toast! My kids would like this! I bet you could make a sweet version with jam and stewed fruit and honey as well!

A sweet version ... thank you for the suggestion :D

This looks so appetizing. Will bacon work for this too? I'm a huge fan of bacon. 😁

You know bacon makes even cardboard taste good hahaha :D

Your Mom has a big influence on you my dear, and she reflects so much in you in everything you are doing.
Btw the dish looks amazing and I am sure it must be tasting also awesome, but I do not eat ham, ideally I do not eat any cold cuts, just not been fond of them right from the beginning. Once in a way if something of Chicken I will take it. My hubby would freak out on something like this.

Freak out in a good way or bad? 😅

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you @stevenson7 & diyhub for the support ;D

Oh wow, this looks soooo good! It's bedtime and now you've made me peckish again, absolutely delish!

hello @kaerpediem ,
this is a recipe I have to try to make, I like to cook so finding recipes is always good for me thanks for sharing them, I hope they will be as good when I cook them so I can surprise my son with this recipe

I'm promoting That curation trail on HIVE and it would help me a lot if you forward it, You can also check it yourself: you might find it interesting to join, I'd love to hear your comments.

I think it will be good
I was also not convinced until I did
Let me know if you and your son liked it after trying it out :D