Beautiful Sunday: my friend brought me special Thai salad for lunch, เพื่อนเอาข้าวยำปักษ์ใต้มาฝาก

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

On Sunday my friend in Nongkhai brought me special Southern Thai salad for lunch. He looked a bit exhausted as he had just brought his three kittens to be neutered at the vet and he has to closely monitor them the whole day. Luckily he had the time to prepare this delicious salad for me. We call this ‘khao yum pac tai’ meaning ‘spicy rice and vegetables salad Southern style’.

246142C47A68405EA3E759766E70CA00.jpeg

This is a very healthy dish with steamed rice and at least five kinds of vegetables. The most important ingredient is the salad dressing which took my friend two days to prepare. This is very laborious and time consuming, that’s why this is quite an expensive dish in restaurants and it is quite difficult to find an authentic recipe in ordinary restaurants.

61F00FDB9F5A4252BB1E93B92ED17CB0.jpeg

The salad dressing is called ‘nam boodo’ which is made from fermented small fish in earthen jars. The fermented water is the base of the salad dressing in which it has to be cooked with other ingredients at low heat and strained as salad dressing. This process is too complicated and difficult for me to follow. I really have no patience for sophisticated recipes.

164A1503215C4E8EA64A4487BEFA0DAC.jpeg

(We found this guy in the sink when washing the vegetables. My gardener had to release him in the bush.)

My friend took most of the ingredients from his kitchen; we had to her lemongrass, long brand, star fruit and lemon include pomelo from our garden. He finely sliced the lemongrass, wildbetal leafbush, kaffir lime leaves for the salad.

CFFFE3CB5EA24237AA2E01AFAF2A2F99.jpeg

The jars consisted of crispy fried shrimps, fish powder, prawn powder and a dark jar of ‘boodo’ salad dressing. We just put some steamed jasmine rice at the base of a bowl then just added a bit of each sliced vegetables on top of the tip. If you like it very spicy, you could add chili powder. Then you should pour one tablespoon of salad dressing at first as it’s very concentrated and rather salty. The whole mixture should be stirred together before enjoying the special rice and vegetables salad.

796B00A717F54863BCDC0FFFDC6B57F3.jpeg

101CB964299547738732D283F6B79E00.jpeg

My gardener also had a taste but it was a bit salty so mire star fruit has to be added. I liked mine rather sour, so I added more lemon juice. It was so good that I had a second helping! My friend also gave me some home-made roasted peanuts with garlic and lemongrass. We gave him a pomelo as a parting gift. He was in a hurry to get back to his three kittens whom he called his children. I think my friend is way over protective about his kittens; no one else could look after these kittens for him. I hope that they will always be healthy and happy together.

28A6065C9BFA4FFF844A17C8466A96D3.jpeg

9544B5A38F824CDDB36B1746130BAB75.jpeg

วันอาทิตย์ที่ผ่านมาเพื่อนที่หนองคาย แวะมาเยี่ยมเยียนและเอาข้สงยำปักษ์ใต้มาให้เราลองชิมดู เขาทำเองทุกอย่าง ตั้งแต่เตรียมการทำน้ำบูดูซึ่งทำอยากมาก เขาใช้เวลาทำอยู่สองวัน เพราะต้องคั่วมะพร้าวเอง ทำน้ำหมักปลาเอง ต้มน้ำบูดูเองทุกขั้นตอน เราฟังแล้วแทบสลบเพราะเหนื่อยแทน เขาเก็บพวกผักต่างๆมาจากสวนที่บ้าน มีดอกอัญชัน ใบชะพลู ใบมะกรูด ใบมันปูและชะอม แต่ต้องมาใช้ตะไคร้ ถั่วฝักยาว มะเฟือง ส้มโอ และมะนาวที่สวนของเรา

FDB5E9500F894BF4AC40895E5438333E.jpeg

EBE257A71D5A49C98DA0548052C04AF3.jpeg

เขาขนทุกอย่างใส่ตระกร้าและกระบุงสานมา เขาน่าจะใส่ชุดไทยโบราณมาด้วย เราคิดว่าเขาเป็นคนโบราณที่ทำอาหารเก่งมาก กลับชาติมาเกิด และเราโชคดีมากที่เขาตามเรามาอยู่ที่หนองคายไม่ไกลจากกันนัก นี่เขาทำขนมปังโฮลวีทมาให้ด้วย แถมมีถั่วลิสงคั่วเองมาให้ชิมอีก เขาเข้าครัวหั่นผักเองทุกอย่าง แล้วจัดใส่จานมาตั้งโต๊ะ มีกระปุกสามสี่กระปุกเป็นของสำคัญในการประกอบเป็นข้าวยำปักษ์ใต้ คือ ปลาป่น กุ้งป่น และกุ้งฝอย ขวดสีดำคือน้ำบูดูที่เข้มข้นมากที่สุดเท่าที่เราเคยลองชิมมา

2D2B3B4CDE3D4C40BD9AA25EA7D195BF.jpeg

I also got whole wheat bread with black sesame seeds and roasted peanuts.

CA420BBB16E7475893956DA8296FD7B8.jpeg

เราใส่ข้าวเจ้าในชามนิดหน่อย แล้วใส่ผักทุกอย่าง อย่างละหน่อยแล้วราดนำ้บูดู ใส่พริกป่นหน่อยหนึ่ง แล้วผสมให้ทุกอย่างเจ้ากัน เราบีบนํ้ามะนาวใส่ด้วยเพราะชอบกินเปรี้ยว อร่อยมากจนเราต้องกินสองชาม ส่วนคนสวนก็ชอบมาก เขาไม่เคยกินอะไรแบบนี้มาก่อน พวกเราก็กินกันอย่างสนุกสนาน ต่อด้วยส้มโอจากสวนเป็นของหวาน เพื่อนกินเสร็จก็เริ่มเก็บของใส่ตระกร้า เพราะเขาเป็นห่วงแมวสามตัวที่บ้านมาก เขาพึ่งเอาแมวไปตอนมา มันยังเดินไม่ไหวเพราะยาสลบ เพื่อนเรารักแมวเหมือนลูก และพูดจากับแมวดีกว่าพูดกับคนด้วย เราก็หวังว่าเขากับแมวห้าตัว มีพ่อและแม่แมวด้วยคงอยู่ด้วยกันอย่างมีความสุขตลอดไป

589C186F5F164D00B913F5551798D7CE.jpeg

300844D9E1F640DCAABAD071FB05F3CE.jpeg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

D75D7B467E164670B3BDFC44F2C1026F.jpeg

Stay strong and cheerful!

Sort:  

i like the drink that is made with the flower too.
the butterfly pea also used to cook rice in some stall here.

Yup! We use butterfly pea flowers in sweets, drinks, colouring rice! You should try them in omelette!

You have pomelos in your yard? I'm jealous now.

I'd love to taste that salad.

The tree took years to bear fruits! It’s surprising to see several pomelos in the tree this year.

The salad is very healthy but I feel like being a horse eating all these vegetables!

Your friend is kind and patience to make you such a lovely meal.I hope his cats are doing good.

Thank you so much. My friend is a show-off! He likes to boast about his cooking! Hahaha

His kittens are well loved and doing very well. This vet is exceptionally good!

Delicious! Add pomelo into Khao Yum Pak Tai taste very good too. I have this salad rice dish very often. A vendor nearby my place sells this dish. There are slight variations because we use butterfly pea flowers to color the rice. We also add lemongrass and pandan leaves to cook the rice. Seldom eat flowers with Khao Yum. Sometimes, we use turmeric to turn the rice yellowish.

Great to hear that you also eating lots of vegetables like rabbits and horses! LoL
Turmeric is very good for you too.

Hahaha... 🤣
Preparing for a second lockdown starting 12 midnight tonight.
I hope to see other countries in SEA opening up though!
Take care!

....poor kittens
123.jpg

blood for blood !

Hahaha. I don’t think these kittens knew what had happened to them. Now they are very happy!

I agree. Sometimes it is useful not to know foreign languages(for kittens - human)

Sounds like a lot of work for a salad. But with so many lovely ingredients, it must be a very heathy and tasty dish. 😀

Yup! Very healthy! This salad has rice as well so it’s a proper meal! I wish I could have this once a week!

You are very lucky to have such a thoughtful friend! And to have all those fresh ingredients is good too! :)

Yup! I am very grateful to my dear friend and Mother Nature for looking after us!!

Cheers.

I love your post - such a beautiful insight into the plants and their uses - thank you!!

Thank you very much for your nice comment. Wishing you a nice day!