Miso soup from MEI Japanese-Korean restaurant and learning how to hold chopsticks 🥢/ Zupa miso z restauracji japońsko-koreańskiej MEI

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

mis1.jpg

Yesterday, by chance, I discovered the best Korean food restaurant in Warsaw. The day before, I was with my boyfriend at the Korean restaurant Koreana and tried a spoonful of miso soup from him. I liked this soup so much that the next day I wanted to eat it again, only this time the whole plate 😊 I was in Warsaw's Powiśle district and noticed a Japanese-Korean restaurant MEI. After getting inside, I knew that I had come to a much better place than the day before. There were also Korean Gogigui barbecues built into the tables, but not like the day before - in two tables in the restaurant, only here each table was equipped with such grills, and there were special smoke absorbers above the tables, looking very cool, designed in a copper color.

Wczoraj przez przypadek odkryłam najlepszą restaurację z koreańskim jedzeniem w Warszawie. Dzień wcześniej byłam z chłopakiem w koreańskiej restauracji Koreana i spróbowałam od niego łyżkę zupy miso. I ta zupa tak bardzo mi zasmakowała, że następnego dnia chciałam ją zjeść ponownie, tylko tym razem cały talerz 😊 Byłam na warszawskim Powiślu i zauważyłam restaurację -japońsko-koreańską MEI. Już po wejściu do środka wiedziałam, że trafiłam w o wiele lepsze miejsce niż dzień wcześniej. Tu też były koreańskie grille Gogigui wbudowane w stoliki, ale nie tak jak dzień wcześniej - w dwóch stolikach w restauracji, tylko tutaj w takie grille wyposażony był każdy stolik, a do tego nad stolikami znajdowały się specjalne pochłaniacze dymu, wyglądające bardzo fajnie, designersko - w miedzianym kolorze.

mis6.jpg

This is my miso soup, with pieces of tofu, seaweed and pieces of leek. It tasted delicious and will definitely be on my list of my favorite Asian soups, along with ramen and udon.

To moja zupka miso, z kawałkami tofu, wodorostami i kawałkami pora. Smakowała przepysznie i na pewno trafi na listę moich ulubionych azjatyckich zup, na równi z ramenem, czy udonem.

mis4.jpg

I got a nice soup appetizer, different kinds of well-seasoned sprouts and a pickled white radish. Lots of tasty, but unusual flavors 😉

Dostałam fajną przystawkę do zupy, różne rodzaje fajnie doprawionych kiełków i marynowaną białą rzodkiew. Ale bogactwo niecodziennych smaków 😉

mis5.jpg

mis3.jpg

Another advantage of this restaurant was the various Korean nuances. Korean songs were playing from the LCD TV, Korean customers were sitting next to me. The day before, in Korea, Polish music was on the TV, and it didn't make sense. You often go to an Asian restaurant not only for food from a different cultural area, but also to feel a bit of the atmosphere of a different country. After all, music is something the simplest, apart from decor, you can do to better feel the atmosphere of this foreign country, in this case South Korea.

Kolejną zaletą tej restauracji były różne koreańskie akcenty. Z telewizora lcd leciały koreańskie piosenki, obok mnie siedzieli klienci - Koreańczycy. Dzień wcześniej w Koreanie w telewizorze była włączona polska muzyka, a przecież to bez sensu. Do azjatyckiej restauracji idzie się często nie tylko po jedzenie z innego obszaru kulturowego, ale żeby poczuć też trochę klimat innego kraju. Przecież muzyka to coś najprostszego, oprócz wystroju co można zrobić, żeby lepiej poczuć klimat tego zagranicznego kraju, w tym wypadku Korei Południowej.

mis12.jpg

mis13.jpg

In the menu I found a lot of delicious dishes, incl. previously unknown to me Gwobarow, i.e. pork with vegetables fried in a sweet and sour sauce, or Zengban Zazang, i.e. noodles with black bean-soy paste with vegetables and pork. I will definitely visit this restaurant many times in the future, I am already looking forward to various culinary discoveries.

W karcie dań znalazłam mnóstwo pysznych dań, m.in. nieznany mi wcześniej Gwobarow, czyli wieprzowina z warzywami smażona w słodko-kwasnym sosie, albo Zengban Zazang, czyli makaron z czarną pastą fasolowo-sojową z warzywami i wieprzowiną. Na pewno odwiedzę tą restaurację w przyszłosci wielokrotnie, już się cieszę na różne kulinarne odkrycia.

mis19.jpg

mis18.jpg

So I was eating myself a delicious miso soup, listening to Korean songs and the chatter of Koreans sitting next to me. It was great. I hope to travel to South Korea someday and be able to visit many local Korean restaurants.

Więc jadłam sobie pyszną zupę miso, słuchając koreańskich piosenek, przy gwarze rozmów Koreańczyków siedzących obok. To było coś świetnego. Mam nadzieję, że kiedyś pojadę do Korei Południowej i będę mogła odwiedzić wiele miejscowych koreańskich restauracji.

mis20.jpg

This is what my table and the built-in grill looked like.

Tak wyglądał mój stolik i wbudowany w niego grill.

mis9.jpg

mis11.jpg

mis2.jpg

mis7.jpg

In a restaurant, I unexpectedly had the opportunity to learn how to use chopsticks. Korean chopsticks are metal and are harder to handle than wooden chopsticks unless you are very familiar with it. I was served by a very nice waitress, I asked her if she knew how to hold chopsticks. She said yes and showed me how to do it. It turns out that you need to rest the lower stick on your ring finger so that it lies still and the upper stick moves. Apparently, I was a bit better at eating with chopsticks after learning with the waitress, but I still need some practice to use them more confidently.

W restauracji niespodziewanie miałam możliwość nauczenia się tego, jak używać pałeczek. Koreańskie pałeczki są metalowe i trudniej się nimi posługiwać niż drewnianymi pałeczkami, jeśli ktoś za dobrze się na tym nie zna. Obsługiwała mnie bardzo sympatyczna kelnerka, zapytałam ja czy wie jak trzymać pałeczki. Powiedziała, że tak i pokazał mi jak to się robi. Okazuje się, że należy oprzeć dolną pałeczkę na palcu serdecznym, tak żeby leżała nieruchomo, a górną pałeczką się porusza. Niby trochę lepie mi szło jedzenie pałeczkami po tej nauce z kelnerką, ale jeszcze potrzebuję trochę praktyki, żeby swobodniej ich używać.

mis14a.jpg

mis15.jpg

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thanks for the support @taco.cat 😊

I never understand how they eat with these chop sticks or wooden sticks,, for me eating with the fork is much better. If I gonna eat at such a place I think I have to stay hungry 😂🤣

Mostly in Korean restaurants like this outside of Korea they also give forks, so I guess you would just choose to eat with a fork. So you wouldn't leave such a restaurant hungry 😉 but I think it's good to learn to eat with chopsticks, it's always an additional skill 😉

The Korean food is one I look forward to seeing as I love their movies. But I know I'll be discouraged to eat with the chop sticks.

I also like Korean movies and series and thanks to them I felt a desire to eat in Korean restaurants and I liked such food. Fortunately, most of them have chopsticks or forks to choose from, so if you don't want to eat with chopsticks, you can choose a fork 😊

I'll definitely use the fork then...their food looks inviting and they eat with so much pleasure.