Making Kombucha at Home

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

The secret is out: Fermented foods, and drinks, are great for your health! Fermentation is a natural process where bacteria and yeast break down sugars. When you consume fermented foods and drinks, those bacteria and yeast can become part of your intestinal flora. We know these as "probiotics." Probiotics are an important part of gut health, aiding digestion, and even contributing to a healthy immune system. Examples of fermented foods and drinks include Japanese natto and miso, Korean kimchi, German sauerkraut, San Francisco sourdough bread, probiotic yogurt, kefir, tempeh, and today's star - Kombucha.

For anyone new to this healthy beverage, kombucha is a fermented tea drink, created by the action of a SCOBY on sugary tea. SCOBY stands for "symbiotic culture of bacteria & yeast." Those bacteria and yeast are responsible for the healthy properties of this delicious drink. Store bought kombucha can be pricey ($4.50 for 16 ounces at the farmer's market this morning), so I'm going to show you how you can turn a single bottle of kombucha into a never-ending supply for pennies.

Unless you're lucky enough to know someone who will gift you a SCOBY, the first step towards enjoying homebrewed kombucha is to create your own SCOBY, which can also be referred to as a "starter," or a "mother." This is the slowest part of the process, taking a few weeks, but you only need to do this step once.

After that, you'll perform a first fermentation (6 to 10 days) to make your kombucha, followed by a second fermentation (3 to 10 days) to carbonate your kombucha, followed by treating your gut and your tastebuds to a refreshing, handmade, naturally-carbonated, probiotic-rich beverage.

I brew my kombucha in a Little Big Mouth Bubbler, but you can use any one gallon jar. Glass is best. Plastic or metal are not recommended, and a wide mouth is important because you will need to remove your SCOBY. Some other options are available from the same vendor. A spigot at the bottom of the jar is nice, but costs more, so I do without.

The contents of your jar will need to be protected, while allowing CO2 to vent. I use a drilled stopper and airlock, but you could use cheesecloth, or another tightly-woven cloth, held in place with a rubberband.

Ingredients for Step 1, Making a SCOBY:

  • 7 cups of water
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar - no honey or alternative sugars yet
  • Black tea (4 teabags, or 1 Tbsp loose tea) - no green tea yet, and no decaf
  • 1 cup of raw, unpasteurized, store-bought kombucha (unflavored)

Instructions for Step 1, Making a SCOBY:

  1. Bring your water to a boil in a clean pot.
  2. Remove from heat and dissolve sugar into the water.
  3. Add tea and allow to steep as water cools to room temperature. This seems to take me all day, but hot water will kill the living things in the store-bought kombucha, so it's very important.

(4). Transfer this sweet tea into your brewing jar, and add the store-bought kombucha. Attach your airlock, or cover with cheesecloth, and put somewhere warm and dark until your SCOBY forms and grows to be about 1/4 inch thick. Your SCOBY will live happily in this starter tea for a long time, but the tea itself will be too vinegary to drink so, when you're ready, let's move on to Step 2, The First Fermentation.

Ingredients for Step 2, The First Fermentation:

  • The SCOBY from Step 1
  • 14 cups of water
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • Black or Green Tea (8 tea bags or 2 Tbsp loose tea)
  • 2 cups of unflavored kombucha (store-bought again, or from a previous batch once you get brewing regularly, but not from Step 1)

Step 2 - The First Fermentation:

  1. Bring your water to a boil in a clean pot.
  2. Remove from heat and dissolve sugar into the water.
  3. Add tea and allow to steep as water cools to room temperature. Again, this is very important. Hot water will kill your SCOBY.
  4. Using CLEAN hands, remove your SCOBY from the starter tea and place on a clean plate. You'll be surprised how durable the SCOBY is! Pour out the starter tea. I like to rinse the jar, but it's not necessary.

(5). Pour your room temperature sweet tea into the jar, add the unflavored kombucha, and gently place your SCOBY back into the jar. It's okay if it sinks or floats at a tilt.

(6) Cover the jar or attach the airlock and return it to a warm, dark location. Plan for this first fermentation to take about a week to ten days. At that point, put a clean straw into your 'buch, cover the end with a finger withdraw it from the jar and give it a taste. You're aiming for a slightly sweet, slightly vinegary taste. When you’re happy with the taste, move onto bottling the kombucha and carbonating it in Step 3, The Final Fermentation.

In the next step, you'll be naturally carbonating your kombucha, so your containers need to be air tight. I like to use swing-top bottles, but you can use any clean, airtight bottles or jars.

If you're the creative, or adventurous type, the next step is your time to have fun. I'm a basic guy, so I'll tell you how I finish my kombucha. But, look around on-line and you're sure to find lots of suggestions for jazzing up your 'buch.

Step 3 - Final Fermentation Instructions:

  1. Strain your kombucha to remove the tea leaves- I strain mine through a strainer into a pitcher. Keep a couple of cups of tea with your SCOBY to use for the next batch.
  2. Add a sweetener to the strained kombucha - I use 1 tsp of honey for each 8 ounces of kombucha, but you could try a tablespoon or two of mashed fruit or fruit juice for every cup.
  3. Pour into bottles and close the tops. Place in your warm, dark fermentation area and allow to ferment until carbonated, about a week. I always pour a little kombucha into a small, plastic water bottle and squeeze out most of the air. When the bottle swells and becomes hard, your kombucha is carbonated and ready to drink. Put the bottles in the fridge to slow fermentation, and enjoy daily!

Note that there will be sediment in your bottles. Don't shake the bottle before opening because it is carbonated. Also, don't forget the fermenting bottles in a closet or cabinet, because they can explode if fermentation goes on too long in an airtight container.


I learned to make kombucha from this article on live-eat-learn. I have made every effort to make the instructions my own, but there are only so many ways to say, "boil water." All credit for any success I've had in brewing my own 'buch is due to the great information I gleaned from that article.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kunschj! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you @hivebuzz!

You're well on your way to becoming a Hive legend @kunschj! Keep up the fantastic work.

Hope all is well and that you could find more free time to enjoy yourself.

Thanks for thinking of me. I'm well, and hoping to have more free time soon.

I'm so picky about my Kombucha. I've found a few that I love, but others that I have had to force myself to drink after paying a steep price for it. Do you always love your homemade brew? It's a fascinating process.

So far, I haven’t been disappointed but I keep it simple with just honey. I may try ginger and lemon sometime. I overspent on brewing equipment, but you could do it much cheaper. Then the only risk is wasting time since the ingredients are so cheap.

I do like ginger flavored best. I may give it a try. I have an old glass sun tea jug with a bottom spout. And I have cheese cloth!

Sounds like a plan. You could grate fresh ginger into your bottles when you carbonate and then strain it out when you drink it.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kunschj.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @kunschj! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 56000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Yum, I made kombucha for about two years. I still have everything for it. I might start again. I miss it. My favorite flavor to add was lemon. Lemon was the perfect amount of sugar. 

I agree. Lemon is a perfect flavor for kombucha. I think I'll try that with this batch. Cheers!

Loading...

You must be busy! No new photos.
Hope you have lots of spring colours there already!

Actually, my wife and I were in a bad car crash that totaled our car and left her with five broken ribs, a cracked breastbone, and a broken wrist. She's able to do more each day, so I hope to post another jewelry making tutorial soon.

Here in Texas, the bluebonnets and other wildflowers are in bloom, making drives on country roads colorful and beautiful.

Thanks for checking in on me :)

Oh! Such shocking news! I do hope your wife is making good progress everyday. Too many broken bones! She’s a tough person to endure such pain! I hope it wasn’t the adverse effect of the vaxx. Here, many people suffered from car accidents due to temporary loss of consciousness or control of their thinking and cognition. They just suddenly fainted or got seizure for a few seconds.

Good to know that spring flowers have come out to cheer people up.

Take care.

Thanks for your kind wishes.

Hmmm...I never thought of the vaxx. I thought that he might have been drinking because he was turning left towards a big sign that reads "WINERY," and my witness said that he declined medical care at the scene of the crash. People who have been drinking frequently decline medical care until the morning after a car crash or a fight.

I keep trying to catch Your posts, and miss!
Sorry - But have an Amazing Week!
🙋🏻‍♀️✨🌄✨🙋🏻‍♀️

Thanks, my friend. Have a great week too!

Thank You my friend!

Hi! How is your Kombucha doing? Still have a healthy SCOBY? Did those oranges and the flavoring process work out well ? 

The Kombucha tasted pretty good, with a nice, subtle orange flavor and not too much sweetness. I bottled another batch two days ago since I had more oranges. The SCOBY is still going strong and looking healthy.

That sounds perfect. I never was a big fan of sweet or syrupy kombucha. Glad to hear you had a good batch. 

¿Conoces esta bebida? ¿La gente bebe kombucha en Venezuela? Espero que tengas una buena semana. Dios lo bendiga.