Chinese Herbal Chicken Soup

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Chinese Herbal Chicken Soup is a well known Ancient dish that believes it has healing power and an immune booster, although each soup will contains different ingredients of herbals with it's own health benefits.

herb.jpg

So during this pandemic, I went to a local Chinese store to get some herbals and I bumped into a grandma and she said this package of herbal is good for immune system.
She meant the ingredient of herbals for chicken soup that's already in a bag, we just need to soak it first (except for wolfberry) and good to go.
It makes sense since chicken itself, when we cook in slow heat in certain amount of time will released Cystein, an amino acid that has benefit to clear the mucus in the lung and yet other herbals for overall health not only as a comfort ancient soup.

Below are the herbals I use with two chicken breasts (I don't like the smell of chicken bone, or otherwise use the whole chicken).

  1. Solomon's seal is used to treat lung disorders, reduce swelling (inflammation)

  2. Wolfberry is used to boost the immune system, nourish the liver and kidneys and improve vision

  3. Red date is anti inflammation, good for digestion, relaxation, good for skin and also good to treat sore throat.

  4. Angelica sinensis, also known as danggui is good for blood circulation and immune system.

  5. Orange peel as anti inflammatory, low cholesterol and high blood pressure and also good for immune system as is high of vitamin C.

  6. Gui zhi or cinnamon twig used to treat common flu.

  7. Chuan Xiong, used to treat vertigo, headache, acute sinusitis and blood circulation.

How to make it: Clean and cut the chicken breast and add all ingredients of herbal into a pot along with some cut chicken breast, a bit of salt and 4 cups of water.

Place the double pot in a slow cooker and let it cook for 8 hours. Serve while it's hot. Or you guys just go ahead and cook in regular stove with at first in high heat for 10 minutes, then use low heat for at least 30 minutes but you need to cook with at least 1 Lt of water.

g2.jpg

Because I don't have double boil pot that comes with the cooker, I cook my double boil pot in a slow cooker to allow my chicken soup more authentic.

Overall, every medicine has side effect, do some research before you decide to use any Chinese herbal. But so far my family has never shown any side effect from drinking Chinese chicken soup.

cs.jpg

Thank you for visiting my blog,
@lugina.

Sort:  

Interesting, years ago I was a little sick and I took a Chinese vegetable soup and I really felt more energetic, it was not exactly the recipe you give here but it really gave me more vitality.

Hi @cryptoxicate,
I do believe in traditional Chinese medicine too, I was hospitalized for kidney infection n bacteria went all over my organ. They put an IV into my vein in my neck, too bad the IV liquid soaked my lung then developed pneumonia. They discharged me anyway with bunch of antibiotics, although i was so uncomfortable. I turned to Chinese medicines, drank 3x a day for 4 days, my lung got better n cleared from weird drowning feeling.
btw, thank you for passed by...

Congratulations @lugina! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 8000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation