DAILY FOOD BLOG #12: Unexpected Pizza Find

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

IMG_20211007_193952.jpg

On Thursday, I went out with a friend to check out a cafe next to the city’s landmark. Despite passing through the street a couple of times there, I have never explored this place. Many tourists from local and even international travelers will not miss this iconic spot. And for me, being somewhat long in this place, living like a hermit, I have never really found interest until today I visited this place. I decided to go at night and explored the place because the view in this area is better at night than it is during the day.

Just to the south from the cafe that we were visiting, there is a lively nightlife on the roadside that is filled with street hawkers and street stalls. Such a place is called Angkringan.And like many other iconic things in this city, in this place.There is a unique eating experience. I also mentioned this place in some of my travel posts as I often take my friends or family to eat in that place. And like many times I mentioned, I would definitely recommend this place to eat.

IMG_20211007_200534.jpg

It was around 7 AM after we finished eating at the cafe that we walked through the south of this road. As far as our eyes could see there were only Angkringan. My friend and I stopped in front of a hotel to decide what to do next. Then, I found a pizza place nearby. I thought it was going to be in a restaurant. But apparently, they are serving it on the road side. They call the place as Tunqu angkringan or in English, it’s Fireplace Angkringan. I suppose they name it this way because in this area, every food place is called angkringan and since the pizza is cooked in an oven, they call it that way. I think this place was unique because I have not seen this type of pizza anywhere other than this one.

image.png

There are many options in this place and they are giving it javanese names with english ingredients below it. Since we were full and I was advised not to eat beef first, we were picking chicken pizza. It had paprika, chicken sausage, mushroom, and mozzarella .

IMG_20211007_194127.jpg

image.png

IMG_20211007_194019.jpg

The pizza was a traditional one and fresh. In this place, the drink costs around 0.5$ and free refills. But we didn’t buy the drink as I already brought water from the previous place. Oh yeah, when you’re eating at an angkringan, expect some street musicians, performers or even beggars to steal your attention from the food. You can simply say no, smile, or do a hand gesture and they’ll leave.

I never expected that roadside pizza would taste way better than pizza chains. The pizza here tasted like something I ate in a gourmet Italian restaurant. The taste was godly. That night, it wasn’t packed and I wondered why. From a few years living here, only that time I discovered that place. So, if any of you ever come to Yogyakarta, this is another place that shouldn’t be missed. I know that it’s a pizza place but the local taste of their hand-tossed pizza is something that you shouldn’t miss.

I did not regret walking for almost a km to reach this place and wondering if my friend and I have reached that place. It all paid off because the pizza was just amazing. The crust, the sauce, the cheese, and the seasoning, everything mixed perfectly. Here's a more picture of it!

IMG_20211007_194003.jpg

More information about this place :

TUNQU NANGKRING
Service options: Dine-in · Takeaway
Address: Jl. P. Mangkubumi, Gowongan, Kec. Jetis, Kota Yogyakarta, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55592
Hours: Open ⋅ Closes 9:45PM

image.png

Hope You Enjoyed This article!



image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

this is so new, they have western food, cooked on Indonesian style stall with a Javanese name. so complete.
send some for the cem. hahah

Bli! I think I am gonna come visit Bali in a few months 😁 hopefully by that time, you'll be around.

just le me know cem, lets find a good time to meet up.
: )

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much @steemflow 😊

Jadi mupeng. Toppingnya bervariasi sekali ya. kebetulan belum pernah nyoba yang toppingnya ada tomatnya.

You should try it when you visit Yogyakarta. I'd definitely recommend this more than any pizza place in town.

look so delicious. next month i will go to jogja. I hope I can drop by here

It's close by Tugu railway station. So, yeah it's hard to miss this spot. Try it out if you have the time.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

PIZZA!
@macchiata! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

that pizza looks amazing and I bet its tasty too!

It was tasty for a road side pizza! totally unpredictable.

Que rico se ve súper delicioso tu pizza 😍😍🙄🤤

I ate this pizza on 2019 because of my friend invited me to try this. And it's really different from pizza that i've eat before. I hope can get back to there. Are they still open during the pandemic?