Experience the Flavors of Mexico at Papacito in Semarang



clbdghkcp02g80joq5gi278jv_DSC00491.webp
clbdghqrc02f41ooq1vo89hzk_20221203_104356239.webp
clbdgi5kp02jh1coqdtwpdtpo_20221203_135538101.webp
clbdgidjw02gw2roq9fcz4o03_20221203_135613012.webp
clbdginzn02dt0woqfqf02xax_20221203_135559825.webp
clbdgiwqg02gb0joq6cwq5v9l_20221203_135645722.webp
clbdgj04j02jk1coqcnhlb5ji_20221203_135652326.webp

It’s like Taco Bell but the local version!

When I was walking to the art gallery in Semarang, I found a small spot that said Papacito. I saw on the flyers on the wall they were selling burritos and tacos. But what was interesting was, they also do burrito bowls, which was quite a rarity around this province. Mexican or Tex-mex food have been gaining more popularity the last two years. In many restaurants you can find nachos and queso. At the same time, taco and burrito have become quite a staple for some. To me, I like exploring food from different countries and Mexican food has been one of my favorites. It’s just sad that one of my favorite taco places in town doesn’t serve it anymore. That’s why, when I found this little taco and burrito place, I went there to try it. Papacito has an open kitchen where you can see the cook making the food and you can see the fresh ingredients that will go into our bowl.

I ordered their chicken burrito bowl with free flow tea and nachos with guacamole. The place serves beer too and they are reasonably priced. So, even in day time, while eating burrito and taco, you can wash it down with a good local beer bintang or albens which is slightly more expensive. I had to wait for about 30 minutes before my order came in a nice eco-friendly packaging. It’s not made from plastic but something like a bowl made from wheat straws. The burrito bowl itself was yummy, they used long grain with generous portions of salsa, spiced chicken and also cheese. Overall, the meal was delicious and cooked nicely. What I think is unique was their nachos and tangy guacamole. Their nachos wasn’t made from corn or store bought chips, it was homemade that was similar to Indonesian chips called keripik pangsit. Presentation wise, I love how they utilize eco-friendly products for their packaging. I think that is what stands out to me, it’s their eco-friendly packaging and the fact that it’s pretty durable after I tested it by putting soup in that packaging.

I simply did not regret going there because the burrito bowl not only was amazing, it added more to the food that I finally tried in my life. Perhaps when I travel to other places, I certainly have to compare and contrast with the burrito bowl from Papacito. For now, this place is certainly recommended and also I can’t wait to go back to the place to try their taco and their beef menu.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I always like Mexican food in style

What's your most favorite?

I have never tried Mexican food, except when I buy Happytos from the store.

hhmm I wonder if they can be counted as Mexican food. hahah
!LUV

😂😂 Just add mashed avocado to it, then that'll count hahahaha

si señor! I can assure you that what they served you is better than what they brought me home last night when I tried a new taqueria, here in Mexico we are very particular in choosing where to buy tacos, but my favorite place was closed, so I had to take a chance, it was a bad idea, provecho amigo.

hahahah I am sorry it was a bad idea! What happened with the taco? was it not fresh or the meat wasn't cooked?

it was well cooked, but had very little meat inside, the ones at my favorite taqueria serve it better.

damn, they are stingy!

yeah is true!

Chicken with Guac. So good, you cannot beat it.

Looks really yummy - Upvoted

Chicken with guac is yummy for sure!

Well, I don't like overly spicy things, and I've heard that Mexican cuisine is very spicy. Are these really like that?

They're not really spicy. The heat is mostly from pepper and since I don't really like spicy food, they actually pass pretty fine. They also ask you if you want spicy or not, which is a great option to have.

Yeah that makes sense. I need to try this one then. I really need to travel all over the world and try food everywhere.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Mamacita! I've never tried mexican food, even though I used to pick up food to deliver every day at taco bell in london =/

Don't you have taco bell in Brazil? I guess for you, it's quite an abomination hahaha since I reckon you get better places and restaurant than taco bell's

I think we do, but certainly not around me =/
btw it just crossed my mind the wild idea of opening a mexican fast food restaurant around here. We have several gourmet burger places but nothing like tacos

My favorite Mexican food is Taco and we have a restaurant here in my city that serves a very delicious taco.. it's called The Coffee Shop.
Their Taco's is really huge. Like the size of a whole plate.😄
Their nachos too are delicious.
Glad you found a shop that serves food that you like.

hehe yeah, I wish I could try more tacos and more authentic food.

What a great name for that restaurant. Interestingly, Mexican food abroad is somewhat different from the way we eat it here in Mexico. I'd like to try it, see how it goes. Taco Bell I have eaten, and they are tasty, but not at all a Mexican taco.