Exploring Local Food Scene- Trying Garang Asem



clarn5wo704p90imj2rwp0a9o_20221120_124952690.webp
clarn5u4g04r10xmj3szhgt3c_20221120_124958217.webp
clarn6ef704mt2cmjf7pl0wbv_20221120_125053045.webp
clarn76t704l70pmj1hav77pd_20221120_124803621.webp

It has been a while since I explored the local cuisine. Just when I thought I had tried it all, there is actually one dish that I didn’t know was originating from central java. The food is called “Garang Asem” which basically is steamed chicken served with spices with bilimbi, a small fruit cucumber like but has a sour taste. My friend and I went to a famous place called “kopi klotok” on Sunday since it was the time when we both were free.

The place was rather packed and my friend mentioned this place is known for its charcoal coffee too. Since it has been a while since I visited the local eatery, I was not used to the eating situation. The place was rather humble and only served a limited amount of food including garang asem and a few local delicacies. My friend and I ended up ordering the coffee, Garang asem and some fried tempe. I can tell, it was really local from the way they serve the food. Also, the food was actually delicious, something I was doubtful of when I got into the place. I notice that often humble places like the one I visited served delicious food more than the fancy restaurants. When it comes to local delicacies or dishes, places like these certainly are more authentic than the others.

When I opened the wrapping, I didn’t realize the chicken would be huge. The portion that they offered in the place was also rather generous. Then, when I sip the coffee, there was definitely a hint of burnt charcoal which made sense because kopi klotok is actually regular coffee added with burnt charcoal. I couldn’t finish the coffee because the weather was too hot. I should have ordered cold ones but kopi klotok is only good when it is served hot.

After we finished our lunch and had some chit chat, we decided to check out the beauty house in the city. The place is actually a showroom for a beauty line called Wardah, something that I’ve been using for a while. I decided to also go there to see if they have the products that I was looking for. For a small beauty house, the place was complete and I got the product that I wanted. After that, we decided to go back since it would rain very soon.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Nice pictures. Local cuisines are my favorites. Did you finish all? Looks like alot.

@glitterbird honestly nope. We have another soup to take home. I didn't know that the portion would be huge.

I really like food when it is wrapped with banana leaves because of its different aroma. Honestly, while looking at the photos,it really made me drool.

Any food wrapped in banana leaves is always yummy! they have more scent and adds depth of flavor. So, did you get any banana leaves wrapped food?

Yup, always, we have many foods here wrapped in banana leaves available in the market like suman (rice cake), pastel (rice with chicken), fish paksiw (cooked in vinegar) and many more.

I think Indonesian have their fish paksiw version. It's so interesting that even sinigang there is what we call sayur asem here 😄

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.