My first visit to a traditional Chinese restaurant - Belgrade, Serbia

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

In today's post I want to share a little bit about my first visit to a traditional Chinese restaurant in Belgrade, Serbia. The restaurant is simply called Eleven Chinese restaurant and I visited with my boyfriend who knows authentic Chinese food unlike me. :)


2.jpg

Unfortunately, I don't have any photos of the interior of the restaurant so we have to start with food right away! After trying Gyoza (Japanese dumplings) at Marukoshi Japanese restaurant, I was so excited to try Chinese dumplings and they were so delicious! I cannot decide which ones were better!


1.jpg

Next we have sweet and sour pork, which was incredible, probably one of my favorite Asian dishes I have tried! Maybe it doesn't look that appealing but the taste was amazing. There's something about sauces in Asian cuisine and the combinations of flavors that gives the food such a great taste.


4.jpg

Another dish I forgot the name of, but it's a combination of meat, veggies and peanuts and I have to say that even though it was really nice, previous dishes were definitely my favorite!


3.jpg

Of course rice is a must! Coming from a Serbian family, we eat a lot of bread pretty much with any dish so it's always interesting to try different traditional cuisines that don't use bread in most of their meals!


Here is an example of Chinese fast food that we usually have here in Serbia. This one we had in Belgrade but we also had the same in Novi Sad. Mirai said it's not authentic Chinese food at all and he thinks that it's made to be more familiar with Serbian people so we ended up calling it Serbian Chinese food. I had this many times before and we both agree that is still super delicious. You get to pick a base for the meal - white rice, brown rice, noodles... plus two additional types of food - meat, usually chicken, with different combinations of veggies. I usually get peanut or bamboo/Chinese mushrooms chicken and a must is sweet and spicy chicken pieces.


Thank you for coming along another food experience of mine, it has been fun sharing these types of posts here on Hive and I hope you liked them too! Have a great day! :)


banner.png

Photos are mine taken with Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge

Sort:  

Veggies and peanuts, now this is a combination I have not tried yet

It's a good one, I recommend it! :)

Yummy :)