My go to recovery Protein shake - Vegan

Hi Food Community,

Today I want to share my go to vegan Protein shake with you. A lot of people think protein shakes are only for body builders and people that want to pile up muscles, but in reality a lot of athletes use protein shakes to aid recovery.

The protein in protein powder is easily available, and a shake is a light meal.

A typical day for me as a dancer and Amateur Boxer can mean up to 12 hours of physical activity. When I have days like this I have at least one shake, either as breakfast or as a post workout snack, usually after boxing, since this is the most strenuous. In Dance, rehearsals can be long, but we usually don't practice to exhaustion, as we have to manage our energy for long periods of time.

this is my favourite protein shake recipe:

IMG_3437.jpg

First things first: the Vivo Life Perform Raw Plant protein powder.
https://www.vivolife.co.uk/products/perform

I have been using this brand for about 4 years and love it. My favourite flavour is Madagascian Vanilla, but currently I am using banana and cinnamon, which is nice too. All vivo live products are plant based and help you to train harder and recover faster.

Next:

IMG_3434.jpg
of course I need oat milk. Oatly is my favourite brand of oat milk and I use quite a lot of it when I make a shake (around 300ml) . If I want to create a smoothie bowl, I use only a little to get it going, otherwise it won't blend.

IMG_3435.jpg

I usually put at least one banana into a shake, wich doesn't need to be frozen unless I am making a smoothie bowl, where I normally put 2-3 frozen Bananas.

IMG_3432.jpg

IMG_3433.jpg
frozen Dragon fruit Is currently my favourite fruit for smoothies, alongside açai berries. This is not exactly the cheapest fruit out there, I think it is around £9 per pack, but it tastes so delicious. If you wanna learn more about dragon fruit, you can click on this link here: https://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/benefits-dragon-fruit in general I think it is best if you stick to the rainbow method of when you decide which fruit and vegetables you go for.

IMG_3436.jpg

last but not least:

IMG_3438.jpg
Sometimes I have a sweet tooth and I use a little agave syrup in whatever I make. ..... Ok it is extra sugar but I think sometimes that just makes such a difference for your happiness.

result:

IMG_3439.jpg
Happy me and a pink protein shake :-)

(crossposted from steemit)

Sort:  

Nice, banana smoothies are packed full of calories and easy to get them in quickly. I also make at least one a day. I don't add protein though - usually it's 2-3 bananas, 3-4 dates to sweeten it up, a handful of berries or a mango, perhaps a little peanut butter or cashews and homemade plant milk (almonds, cashew, hazelnut...) or just plain water. Didn't get to try dragon fruit yet although I'm eager to. :)

That sounds great!!!! yeah its like a desert with dragon fruit