Some like it hot: my experience with Carolina Reaper

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

During my almost 2-year stay in Mexico, I totally fell in love with hot chili peppers. I used to put fresh Mexican habaneros in every meal and I really grew fond of the spiciness.

Ironically, however, it was after my return to my Czech homeland that I got to taste the hottest peppers in my life so far. I had some Naga Vipers (approximately 1.4 million SHU) before and just a few days ago, I got to taste the legendary Carolina Reaper.

I clicked this photo of "her". Notice the sinister gnarliness :D


IMG_20200918_214512.jpg


With up to 2 million SHU, Carolina Reaper officially was (according to some sources actually still is) the hottest pepper in the world.

The pepper that I got from a friend was grown here in the Czech Republic so it´s probably less spicy than those grown in tropical climates but it was still extremely powerful and I almost passed out after trying just a tiny slice of it :D

Eating these peppers raw is not recommended even to the most enthusiast chili lovers. Cooking them reduces the spiciness significantly but meals containing these extremely hot chili cultivars are still way too hot for most people to eat. But I loved it :)

What was the hottest chili pepper you guys have tried so far? Let me know in the comment section below ;)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving! :)

Sort:  

En mi pais, Venezuela estado Mérida se acostumbra acompañarlo con leche, es una especie de suero, se consume mucho en los desayunos, tengo unos recuerdos de ese lugar.

Oh yeah, milk helps a lot :) Thanks for your contribution!

Siempre a la orden

Chlape, krásnej kousek... Ochutnal jsem lecos, ale Carolínu ještě ne ;)
Každopádně já chili rád... ;)

Jo, pamatuju, že už jsme se kdysi o papričkách bavili :) No s Karolínou je opravdu sranda - až budeš mít možnost, tak neváhej, je to zážitek :D

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated by @jasonbu on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much guys, I really appreciate it :)

Now you got me really curious as to how painful they are 🙂
I can handle a bit of spice, but I have my limits. Would these make me cry like a baby? 😁 I'm curious

Haha you will only find out once you try :D But be ready to cry like a baby, seriously ;) To most people, anything over 1 million SHU feels like being burned alive :D

I'm scared now :) But very curious at the same time. I already struggled when my brother in law made an original tom yum soup a few years back 🙂

Vypadá hodně děsivě.
Bude to chtít hodně
!Milk
A sud !BEER

Už je po ní ;) A ano - bylo to děsivé :D

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)