Fruit Salad for "Boosting Energy"

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

This local Bali or Indonesian fruit salad is my wife's creation. She said she needs lots of energy before start cooking meat buns to sell. And she told me that spicy fruit salad would boost her energy.

I just said all right. I liked the fruit salad, but it must not be too spicy. I was a bit startled when she took some chilies for the salad. There were nine chilies!

fruit%20salad.jpg

Then she also took some salt, tamarind, shrimp paste, and brown sugar. She had bought some of these ingredients from the local market.

fruit%20salad-2.jpg

She switched on the gas stove and grill the shrimp paste for a minute or two. The smell of shrimp paste was more pungent when it's grilled like that. Have you got shrimp paste in your kitchen?

fruit%20salad-3.jpg

Next, she put the chilies, salt, and the shrimp paste into the mortar and pestle. She ground and mixed them together until they turn soft. She also added palm sugar and water.

fruit%20salad-4.jpg

fruit%20salad-5.jpg

fruit%20salad-7.jpg

And finally, the "salad dressing" is ready. She took a plate and poured the salad on it. Then she went on with the fruits. We had tomatoes and cucumbers.

fruit%20salad-6.jpg

fruit%20salad-8.jpg

fruit%20salad-10.jpg

I helped to peel the cucumbers tomatoes and sliced them to small pieces. We had a plate for the fruit and another plate for the sauce. I tasted a little bit for taste testing. It's so hot, I felt like my mouth was burning.

She really enjoyed eating the fruit salad. She took a slice of tomato and dip it on the sauce. "It's for boosting energy!" she said that again.

fruit%20salad-9.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, you can never get to much energy 🥰