Japanese Gobo (Burdock Root) Salad Recipe

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

Gobo Salad is one of my favorite Japanese side dishes. I usually get this at convenience stores such add 711, lawson in Japan. Most convenience stores have Gobo Salad at the salad section. I usually have this with eggs sandwich or onigiri or just itself for a midnight snack! It's such a perfect midnight snack because it's not heavy at all ;)

I've been looking for fresh burdock for such a long time and I finally got it at a decent price :) I was so happy that I found burdock so I can make Gobo salad. It's really easy to make and taste so light and healthy but yummy!

Gobo Salad

Prep: 20 mins
Cook: 10 mins
Total: 10 mins
Servings: 2

Ingredients:

• 50g burdock (julienne)
• 20g carrot (julienne)
• 3 Tbsp mayonnaise
• 1 Tbsp of mirin
• 1/2 Tbsp soy sauce
• 1/2 Tbsp sesame oil
• 1 tsp sesame seeds

IMG_3004.JPG

Instructions:

1. Wash the burdock thoroughly and julienne. As soon as you cut the burdock, soak it in cold water for about 10 minutes.

IMG_3005.JPG

IMG_3006.JPG

IMG_3007.JPG

2. In a small pot boil 500ml of water, as the water boil add julienned burdock and boil it for 1 minute over medium heat. After 1 minute add julienned carrot and cook 1 more minute together.

IMG_3008.JPG

3. Drain the water, put them in a strainer. Wait till it cools down.
4. In a medium bowl add cooked burdock and carrot, mayonnaise, mirin, soy sauce, sesame oil, sesame seeds. Mix well together. Keep it in the fridge for up to 5 days.

IMG_3009.JPG

Sort:  

wow, I had never heard of Gobo salad (or burdoch) before.
It looks very interesting. I'm going to see if they are selling it here somewhere (although I'm afraid that it won't be the case...)

Yes, burdock is a very common ingredient in Asia especially Korea & Japan 😊It tastes very healthy as much as it looks haha I think you can easily find it at Korean or Japanese grocery stores ;)