Tasting Mexican food in my city

20210817_170626.jpg

Disappointed...

That was the word with which I can describe the experience I had in one of the "most acclaimed" restaurants in my city, and I think it's like when an artist is more commercial than talented, practically that was my experience.

Esa fue la palabra con la que puedo describir la experiencia que tuve en uno de los restaurantes "más aclamados" de mi ciudad, y creo que es como cuando un artista es más comercial que talentoso, prácticamente así fue mi experiencia.

What you could taste the most of all the food, was how salty it was, even, it seemed that everything was with curry, and it really is not, the problem is that it spices up the chicken and meat too much. But I really don't know what happened to the chef that day because the french fries we ordered were salty, and not only that, they were boiled and oiled, nothing to do with french fries as it said on the menu, and as shown in their social networks.

Lo que más podías degustar de toda la comida, era lo salado que estaba, incluso, parecía que todo era con curry, y realmente no es así, el problema es que condimenta mucho el pollo y la carne. Pero realmente no se que le paso al chef ese día porque las papas fritas que pedimos, estaban saladas, y no solo eso, estbana sancochadas y pasadas por aceite, nada que ver con unas papas fritas como decía en el menú, y como lo muestran en sus redes sociales.

I particularly like Mexican food, but I have noticed that in Maturin (my city) they are experimenting with this particular type of food. I used to tell my partner that I liked the street and rustic flavor of Mexican food, but when you go to a restaurant nowadays you find ingredients and elements that are not typical of Mexican culture and that are within the reach of the chef and the consumer.

A mi particularmente me gusta la comida Mexicana, pero me he dado cuenta que en Maturin (mi ciudad) están experimentando con este tipo de comida tan particular. Yo le decía a mi pareja que a mi me gustaba ese sabor callejero y rústico de la comida Mexicana, propia de ella, sin embargo, cuando vas a un restaurante en la actualidad te encuentras con unos ingredientes y elementos que no son propio de la cultura mexicana y que está al alcance del chef y el consumidor.

This is the second time I have been disappointed this week, but I was surprised that a restaurant like this would have such basic flaws.

Ya es la segunda vez que quedó decepcionado esta semana, pero me sorprendió que un restaurante como este tuviese esas fallas tan básicas.

20210817_170036.jpg

As for the drink, I had a bad experience but it was due to lack of knowledge, and also because the waiter had to ask if I wanted my drink with spice. I had never in my life ordered a beer with anything other than lemon and salt "michelada", so when I asked for it, I took it for granted that that was exactly what I was going to get. To my surprise they added pepper, and since I had never had it that way, I tried a little, and that's as far as it went, I didn't like it at all, but this is a matter of palates and taste.

En cuanto a la bebida, tuve una mala experiencia pero por desconocimiento, y también porque el mesero debía preguntar si quería mi bebida con picante. Yo jamas en la vida había pedido una cerveza que fuese con otra cosa más allá de limón y sal "michelada", así que cuando lo pedí, daba por sentado que justo eso era lo que iba a recibir. Para mi sorpresa me le agregaron pimienta, y pues como nunca lo había tomado de esa forma, probé un poco, y hasta allí quedo, no me gusto en lo absoluto, pero ya esto es una cuestión de paladares y gusto.

20210817_170536.jpg

20210817_170539.jpg

20210817_170549.jpg

My partner ordered a burrito, and he was not happy, he was the one who noticed first that the food was salty, and obviously mine too, because it is the same chicken and beef that they use for most of the menu.

Mi pareja pidió un burrito, y no quedo a gusto, fue quien se dio cuenta primero que la comida estaba salada, y obviamente la mia tambien, porque se trata del mismo pollo y carne que usan para casi todo el menú.

20210817_170554.jpg

20210817_170601.jpg

20210817_170606.jpg

20210817_170609.jpg

I ordered a couple of tacos and tostadas, both chicken and beef. The beef one was a bit passable, but I could not tolerate those new flavors in my mouth, it was too eccentric for me, when I really wanted to taste the meat, the cheese and the neutral flavors of the avocado contrasting with the hint of beans. Anyway, it was the opposite of what we imagined, and knowing that it was a special moment for us as these days have been very strong for both of us and we wanted to give ourselves that treat.

Yo pedí un par de tacos y tostadas, ambos de pollo y carne. La de carne estaba un poco pasable, pero no podía tolerar esos sabores nuevos en mi boca, era demasiado excéntrico para mi, cuando realmente quería saborear la carne, el queso y los sabores neutros del aguacate haciendo contraste con el toque de frijoles. En fin, fue todo lo contrario a lo que imaginamos, y sabiendo que era un momento especial para nosotros ya que estos días han sido muy fuerte para ambos y queríamos darnos ese gusto.

20210817_180624.jpg

In the end we left half of the food each, and went to an excellent bakery in town to eat a cinnamon roll and have a cup of coffee.

Al final dejamos la mitad de la comida cada uno, y nos fuimos a una excelente panadería de la ciudad a comernos un rol de canela y tomar una taza de cafe.

What I can say is that the service was great, the best service I've seen so far, so the waiter took a good commission that day.

Lo que si puedo decir es que la atención fue estupenda, la mejor atención que he visto hasta ahora, así que el mesero se llevó una buena comisión ese día.

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @razack-pulo on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Rarely do I get to read such blogposts, with real authentic reviews that are specially negative. Thank you for Sharing.😁