Baked Pork and Potatoes

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

20210221_002222_0000.png

My husband gifted me a convection oven for our anniversary. And so as a form of gratitude (and also I'm excited to learn how to use an oven) I searched for oven recipes online. I did not want to get into baking pastries and cakes just yet so I looked into savory dishes. Aside from the fact fact that I don't have baking tools yet, not even a dough cutter or a rolling pin, I know for a fact that baking is an exact science. And if you get it wrong, you'll only find out only after the entire process is done. So no pastried yet, just savory dishes.

I found this recipe for pork and potatoes. It looked easy to follow and I thought I could make my own version. Not that I did a lot of changes in the recipe, the only thing I changed is the slice of pork I used. The recipe was for pork chops, I used liempo. And maybe because of the pork cut I used, I had to change the cooking time too. I may also have deviated from the original measurements too. So this is actually my first savory dish cooked through my new convection oven.

Ingredients:
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp Soy sauce
1/4 cup Muscovado Sugar
2 tbsp Catsup
2 tbsp Olive oil
4 cloves Minced garlic
1/4 cup Apple cider vinegar
1/2 kg liempo
2 pcs medium sized potatoes
Salt and pepper

Baking time!!!

So the first instruction is to preheat the oven at 200°C. I found out when I looked for recipes that most baking/oven recipes indicate Fahrenheit instead of Celsius. Another thing I found out that if you are looking at recipes using normal ovens, you need to deduct 20°F from the indicated temperature if you'll be using a convection oven. This thing was a but confusing to me at first but I kinda got the handle on it now.

While preheating, go ahead and mix the Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, catsup, olive oil, sugar, garlic, and vinegar. Mix them well.

Put in the sliced potatoes first. They have to be tossed in olive oil and lined up in the baking pan. Bake them for 15 minutes.

While that's cooking, go ahead and marinade the pork with all the mixed ingredients. Make sure to cover everything, rub the mixture well into the liempo.

Once 15 minutes is up, push the potatoes aside and lay the liempo on the baking pan. I set the oven to upper heat and then placed the baking pan on the lower rack. Set cooking again at 15 minutes.

I cooked this side of the liempo for another 15 minutes then flipped it over and dabbed the juices into the pork amd potatoes. Set the timer again for 15 minutes.

It looked like the pork isn't cooked yet according to my standards so I out it in again for another 15 minutes.

After a total of an hour, the oven baked pork and potatoes are finally ready. I had the husband be the judge for tenderness and taste, and he approves. I felt like a cooking show contestant while looking at my hisband cut the pork and taste it. Lol. He loved it. I loved it. The kids loved it. I am definitely going to give this another go some time again. My husband's birthday is just around the corner, maybe I'll cook this for him again.

The dish itself is good to go but it can be served with steam rice. Here in the Philippines, we serve almost everything with rice.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Sort:  

That looks delicious! Catsup has been a great marinade ingredient someone advised me to use many years ago. I haven't tried using it with apple cider vinegar. Thank you, I will try this recipe soon.

I found out about catsup for marinating when I accepted a writing gig awhile back. It's good for barbeque, adds that reddish charred color of the food. That's why I wasn't surprised seeing catsup on the recipe I followed. I had doubts about using apple cider vinegar but the aroma it added was really nice.

Hihi, I just bought pork from the market so will try it this weekend. 😊

Whoah! Congrats sa bagong oven.. welcome to baking world..hahaha

Haha. Tenks! Wala nang nagbebenta ng banana cake sa opis nila RA kasi wfh na siya kaya makakagawa nko. Hahaha

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Well done girl !!
You're starting to master the use of the convection oven.
It's true there's lots we can do with an oven... way healthier than frying

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

This is one of my favorite foods and with this post they gave me a lot to win from eating that

I love Liempo. Never tried cooking myself but there are a few places in the town of Moalboal that offer it. We tend to like our pork cooked longer for a crisper finish😋
Sounds like a great combination with the baked potatoes.

Congratulations @romeskie! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I feel hungry now. 😂 Congrats on your new oven! sana all. haha