Combination Egg Noodle Stir Fry -FFF-

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

uhljix.jpg

The sky was an off-white colour, with a pinch of grey sprinkled throughout. Overcast: with a hint
of possible rain. Strangely, there was no wind as I looked out the windows of the Pho Linh Vietnamese restaurant, thinking about the latest craziness from around the world, and wistfully stroking my now magestic but manageable quarantine beard.

ldtf5t.jpgMy quarantine beard brings all the girls to the yard...

However, it’s great that I can now finally sit down at a table at a restaurant again, and time away from the internet just to see what the local outside world is doing, is beneficial.

There’s only so many ‘fart videos’you can see on the TikTok app before the novelty begins to wane somewhat. Chuckle.

The staff at the Pho Linh know my name on sight without having to ask me, which is a good sign I’m building my local reputation. They are polite and friendly, and know that I am a sucker for their Banh Mi (or meat rolls in English).

They’ll ask ”You want chilli?” and if I want to use my taste buds for the next 30 minutes after eating, I politely decline: “No chilli.”.

All of the Vietnamese people I know LOVE chilli for some reason.

The banh mi are made while you watch, so you could order a vegetarian version or modify it if you wished.

The Entree


Today, for the entree I opted for the chicken and corn soup, perfect for the cooler Winter weather.

65meuc.jpgChicken and corn soup.

This is probably one of my favourite go-to entree meals as most Asian restaurants will have some form of it. It was placed on the table gracefully, as thin tendrils of steam arose from the bowl.
Although warm enough to produce steam, it wasn’t hot enough to burn my tongue, thankfully, and huge chunks of corn infused chicken settled in my stomach while sending warmth throughout my body.

The Main Meal


uhljix.jpgCombination egg noodle stir fry.

Luckily I hadn’t eaten all day, because the main meal was actually bigger than I had expected.
The image above is actually somewhat misleading, you see. This was unintentional of course, it’s just the camera angle. The pile of food was probably the height of the tines of the fork in the picture and the plate was massive.

The meal consisted of red capsicum (bell peppers) cauliflower, broccoli, prawns, pork, chicken, beef, cabbage, squid, tofu, mushrooms, onions, bean sprouts and buried discretely are the thin egg noodles. The whole thing is soaking in an unknown but amazing Asian sauce. Incredible!
It truly is mouthwatering stuff.

The Dessert


Just for fun, I decided to include a Kinder Surprise as a dessert piece. I’ve heard they were banned in the USA at one point because of a possible choking hazard, but I don’t know if that’s changed.

r5l394.jpgKinder Surprise Egg.

bct7ot.jpgWithout the wrapping.

3leb1c.jpgHalf the chocolate gone.

jbaka6.jpgOpened. What could it be?

yral7a.jpgIt’s Cyborg from the Justice League!

I hope you enjoyed this particular entry. I have several more entries planned for you to enjoy, but that’s all for this week.

Until next time, see you in the kitchen!

s295d9.jpg
Shaidon’s Seal Of Approval

gaogdw.jpg

Sort:  

Nice dishes...the pepper cannot be that hot. When you come to nigeria, you will get very hot pepper..with a hot weather

The pepper isn’t that hot. The chilli can be hot if there is enough of it.

Alright... but nigerian pepper is very hot even in small quantities... hope you enjoyed the meal?

Yes, I loved it. I am not a fan of hot / spicy food too much. It might be a cultural thing.


@shaidon
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into
Round 9
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent Food Coma
Food coma_6
Good Luck
and
Keep using that #FFF Tag on your
Friday Food Flingin’ Posts.

Wow how lucky to be back sitting inside a restaurant, and that they've survived! We still can only buy takeout food! That soup looks great & the noodles sounds really delicious, fun dessert choice @shaidon;)

Thank you. Yes, it’s slow but they still have limitations in place.