The Making of Beef Bulgogi in a Simple Way and My Way

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Hello, everyone! How are you?

A few days ago, my sister sent me a pack of beef slice, so I thought what do I do with it? Maybe I could make black pepper beef, yakiniku, teriyaki, or bulgogi... Then I decided to make beef bulgogi. Frankly, I've never cooked bulgogi before, so this is my first experiment.

01 Beef Bulgogi.jpeg

Bulgogi is a Korean spicy marinated meat dish. I looked for bulgogi recipes on the internet, but there are so many versions! Most of the methods are quite complicated and there are some materials that are not cheap. So I ended up using a more practical and easy way: using instant bulgogi sauce and cooking it my way. I also don't use a lot of additives, because I want to cook fast, keep it simple and cheap. Haha.

Maybe some of you prefer to cook with your own spices, that's good. But, for some people who wanted to do simple cook, have a little time, or a limited budget, this method can be tried.


Preparation


Ingredients:

  • Beef slice 250gr
  • Bulgogi sauce (1 or 2)
  • ½ onion cloves
  • Cooking oil (sorry off screen)

Beside ingredients for the main meal, I also add some vegetables. Kimchi or chicory is recommended - which should be Korean-style too, but I substituted them with carrots and green beans. So it's more like salad for steak. Forgive me for being a crazy mixed up chef 😅

Oh, I should have used green onions too, but I forgot to buy them, so never mind. This is really an experiment though.


How to cook


From the directions for how to cook written on the package, it seems easy and fast to make. But actually, it's not quite like that. However, improvisation is still needed. So, here we go:

  • Marinate the beef slice and onions in the bulgogi sauce for 30 minutes. (The bulgogi sauce itself already contains soy sauce, sugar, garlic, modified starch, sesame oil, etc. So no need to add salt or extra flavorings anymore.)

06 marinating.jpeg

  • While waiting for the bulgogi marinated, cut up the vegetables. Boil the vegetables with a little salt added.

  • When the bulgogi is done marinating, sauté all ingredients for 3-5 minutes. But actually, within 5 minutes the meat was still rather raw. And if you only use 1 packet of bulgogi sauce, the color is still pale and the taste is quite plain.

07 cook1.jpeg

  • (My improvisation) Add hot water and 1 pack of bulgogi spices again, keep cooking and stirring until the color changed, the sauce thickens, and the meat becomes tender. Approximately 30 minutes.

08 cook2.jpeg

  • (My improvisation) Add red / green chilies to make the food more colorful. Stir for a minute, the bulgogi is ready to serve.

How to serve


  • Serve the bulgogi with warm rice and vegetables in a bowl. But if it's hard to eat in a bowl, you can do it on a plate too.
  • Could be served for 4-6 servings depend on stomach capacity.

09 finish.jpeg

Aaand it's done! Finally, I'm finished cooking beef bulgogi in a simple way and my way. I don't know if this can still be called beef bulgogi or not. Haha... But whatever it is, it still looked good and tasted yummy!

So, what do you think? 😁


Thank you for reading this post.
See you around!


All image original photo by @sigota
Camera: Xiaomi mi5s
Edit: Snapseed

Sort:  

But whatever it is, it still looked good and tasted yummy!

Then, the important thing, your hubby likes it, isn't it? :)

Anyway, I like your food photography. Looks clean and fresh!

Yes, it's all that matter 😁
Thank you, @anggreklestari 😚 It's clean because I'm too lazy to tidy up lots of photo props. Besides, my photo properties are only a few 😁 But someday I wanna challenge myself to do more props styling

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

In my opinion your experiment is a success, yummi ❤️

Haha, yes, you can say that. Thank youuu ❤️

Congratulations @sigota! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It looks so yummi and also spicy:)). You are a good photographer :))

Haha thanks. But I'm not a real photographer :P