A Biriyani Review from a Biriyani hater!



clezykz0e00hi15sz4n7n73mh_1678295787335.webp
clezykzm400g9busz817kafzr_1678295787344.webp
clezyl60l00g2amsz16sb2ke4_1678295914496.webp

I am not a big fan of Biriyani.

No scratch that actually. I think I may actually hate biriyani to the point that I sometimes get angry when someone serves it.

Yeah I know, I know. Coming from a southeast Asian person - that was a repulsive statement to make. But it is what it is! We can't choose who or what we love. But we can choose what we hate, and I chose violence Biriyani! Exactly why I hate it so much is difficult to explain. It might be the oil, but then again - I absolutely love fried rice so, double standards maybe...?

Hence, me sitting here writing a post appreciating a Mutton Biriyani from a little (quite literally, a very little cramped space) place called "Kacchi Paradise" should teel you all you need to know to be convinced that it really is the real deal - A biriyani worth trying!

Right now I live in the literal food hub of old dhaka - the birthplace of all the most famous biriyani chains in the country that has run for many. many years. So I have hated on a LOT of biriyani before finally "Liking" one!

Kacchi Paradise

My wife has been nagging me for biriyani for quite a while for the past few weeks and she finally managed to convince me to try out Kacchi Paradise a few days back. It's place that is run by a fellow doctor, so I was intrigued. But when we were talking details of ordering with the shop, their delivery etiquette was way off. For starters, we'd have to receive the delivery by the evening. I mean, what sort of lunatic eats biriyani in the evening. Biriyani has to be eaten at night, preferably late night according to old school dhakayias. So receiving it in the evening and letting it go cold was a stupid thing to do. Next, they wouldn't deliver at the doorstep. This generally isn't a problem, but I wasn't going to be home around that time. And their overall attitude wasn't like "I have to sell to this customer." They were not rude by any means of course. We ended up deciding to not try it because the delivery was being such a hassle.

But as I stepped out of my chamber at 10 pm to return home, I wanted to see for myself what the fuss was all about. Oh yes, "Kacchi Paradise" was creating a lot of buzz over the past couple of months. So I took a detour and walked 20 extra minutes to go to their shop and pick up the order myself.

The smell was unbelievably alluring, so much so that my wife and I started digging in almost as soon as I reached home. Now that I'm looking for it, I don't really have a picture of in on my phone from that day. I'm asking my wife if she managed to sneak in a snap, hope she does!

One thing I really hate about biriyani from shops is the meat - well, I love meat. It's just that....they don't really give you much meat to "play with!" It's mostly lumps of disgusting fat and tendon sheaths! But surprisingly the pieces of mutton were solid meat, cooked to absolute tenderness!

Both packets were served with a large piece of potato! Potatoes are good, Who doesn't love potatoes! (Hint : My wife!)

What tends to happen with such large piece of potato is the center remains uncooked more often than not. No one likes a hard, un-boiled potato though! But as you may have guessed, the potatoes we got were absolutely delish! Cooked to the core!

The amount per serving was ridiculously high! One serving actually ended up becoming enough for the both of us! Now, old school dhakayias will not tell you it was too much! They can eat, a LOT apparently! They will tidy up every last grain of rice served. It's a good trait to have in that they hardly ever waste food. It is also a good trait to have if you don't care about minor trivial nonsense like diabetes, obesity and heart-attacks! And by the looks of it and experience of practicing medicine in the vicinity of this area for over a year, they really don't care about the minor trivial things!

My wife just told me she didn't manage to get a snap either. But no worries, remember how just one serving of rice ended up being enough for the both of us! We took out the remaining serving today and combined it up with an omelet and garlic chutney and some fresh tomatoes and onion! Still tasted pretty darn good.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

You chose a very weird time to post about biriyani, bhai. I think you know what I mean. 😬

untitled.gif

Yessssss! That's the way I roll 😂

They see me rolling, they barkinn...

untitled.gif

Well, the fact that everyone likes Biryani does not mean that you should like it too. I respect your opinion.

Yes absolutely! So often we find ourselves pressurized by social norms to like or dislike something! I hate that really!

https://leofinance.io/threads/@simplifylife/re-leothreads-2yltfcref
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( simplifylife ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @simplifylife ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.